Customer Reviews


4 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource for working with young children
If you are a teacher, daycare worker, or just like to have a lot of ideas for young children you will love this book! Jackie Silberg and Pam Schiller have compiled a collection of over 700 children's rhymes, songs, poems, fingerplays and chants. What a wonderful nostalgic trip as I turned through the pages and read rhymes and chants that I have not heard since my early...
Published on June 29 2003 by Harold McFarland

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed; very old fashion; the same old stuff.
I have attended workshops with Silberg and thought her stuff to be fairly good. This book was a lot of money for a lot of older material; which has not even been changed to bring it forward for today! It was disappointing and disheartening!
Published on March 15 2003 by gurrtri


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource for working with young children, June 29 2003
By 
Harold McFarland (Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you are a teacher, daycare worker, or just like to have a lot of ideas for young children you will love this book! Jackie Silberg and Pam Schiller have compiled a collection of over 700 children's rhymes, songs, poems, fingerplays and chants. What a wonderful nostalgic trip as I turned through the pages and read rhymes and chants that I have not heard since my early childhood. Jumprope chants, skipping songs, songs for hand clapping games, they are all here. Examples include Aiken Drum, Baby Bumblebee, the Bear Went Over the Mountain, The Cow, Dr. Foster Went to Gloucester, Five Little Ducks, Going on a Bear Hunt, I Have a Loose Tooth, John Jacob Jingleheimer Schmidt, Over in the Meadow, Sippin' Cider Through a Straw, and Zum Gali Gali. Each of the items is followed by a Theme Connection to allow you to quickly apply the song or chant to a particular theme such as counting, chickens, cooking, pets, emotions, or families. While most people would have no problem figuring out a theme to which they apply, the advantage here is that not only are the songs and chants listed alphabetically in the index, but there is also a thematic index to allow you to quickly find an appropriate song or chant. "The Complete Book of Rhymes, Songs, Poems, Fingerplays, and Chants" is a very highly recommended purchase for anyone dealing with young children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Resource, March 21 2003
By 
Larry "bookchip" (Takoma Park, Moldova, Republic of) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I think this book is great. It is a massive collection of the old, the favorite, and all those songs and rhymes that are on the tip of your tongue, but you can't remember. This is a book to buy and keep handy, both for teachers and for parents. You will be able to grab it and quickly find what you are looking for.
This would also be a great gift for new parents or teachers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed; very old fashion; the same old stuff., March 15 2003
I have attended workshops with Silberg and thought her stuff to be fairly good. This book was a lot of money for a lot of older material; which has not even been changed to bring it forward for today! It was disappointing and disheartening!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a gorgeous resource., Nov. 30 2010
This is a gorgeous resource. It is exhaustive and well-organized. It helped me to recall the songs and rhymes that I had done with my children over 30 years ago. Now I am reviving them with my grandchildren. I also bought the CD set that goes with the text. You just can't beat the old traditional material that has stood the test of time. And of course the best test is that the children still react to it and love to learn it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Complete Bk./Cd/Rhymes,Songs,Poems...
Complete Bk./Cd/Rhymes,Songs,Po
ems...
by Pam Schiller (Paperback - Sept. 1 2006)
CDN$ 53.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews