Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Layout Index Reference
If you know what to expect you will not be disappointed with this book, unlike some of the other reviewers. Graphic Design Cookbook is an extremely useful tool for graphic designers looking for layout ideas. Rather than sorting through dozens of graphic design books to get ideas, this book has sections for every aspect of page layout placement including: page numbers,...
Published on Jan. 17 2004 by Monica Catherine

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing. Need ideas? Get them somewhere else!
O.K. I was not expecting an in-depth graphic design book. What I was looking for (and couldn't find) was a source of inspiration. This book supposedly gives you ideas to quickly incorporate them in your design tasks. "Mix & Match"... yeah right! Of course you'll find many useful ideas, but some of the examples shown in the book (most of them as a matter of fact) are...
Published on Aug. 10 2001 by Armando Betancourt


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great Layout Index Reference, Jan. 17 2004
By 
Monica Catherine "monica-081" (Orlando, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
If you know what to expect you will not be disappointed with this book, unlike some of the other reviewers. Graphic Design Cookbook is an extremely useful tool for graphic designers looking for layout ideas. Rather than sorting through dozens of graphic design books to get ideas, this book has sections for every aspect of page layout placement including: page numbers, paragraph placement, titles, and MUCH MORE!!
This book has virtually NO writing or explanations in it. This reference should be used only for visual layout placement ideas, and not for concrete explanations. I use this book whenever I need to make flyers, print ads, or any other print materials. EXTREMELY HELPFUL source and for this cheap cheap price, you can't beat the resourcefulness of this little book.
Another great resource that is very similiar to this book is Jim Krause's "Layout Index."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing. Need ideas? Get them somewhere else!, Aug. 10 2001
By 
Armando Betancourt (Mexicali, Baja California Mexico) - See all my reviews
O.K. I was not expecting an in-depth graphic design book. What I was looking for (and couldn't find) was a source of inspiration. This book supposedly gives you ideas to quickly incorporate them in your design tasks. "Mix & Match"... yeah right! Of course you'll find many useful ideas, but some of the examples shown in the book (most of them as a matter of fact) are either obvious examples of basic design or just repetitive.
If you want a source of inspiration, a place where you really grab an idea from here, a concept from there and beauty and awe from somewhere else, you should buy a design annual. A book with real examples where you can also "mix & match" various ingenious and downright amazing ideas... (or get a Muse!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hundreds of layouts for the creatively stumped, Nov. 22 2003
By 
Shelley Gammon "Geek" (Kaufman, Texas USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Graphic Design Cookbook: Mix and Match Recipes for Faster Better Layouts (Paperback)
When you first thumb through the book, it seems somewhat corny. The illustrations look deceptively simple and boring. Once you really sit down and pour over the pages, however, you really start to absorb how useful these layouts are.
Mixing and matching the components will guarantee that you will never have another boring brochure or newsletter. The designs can also get your brain churning in the direction of a better logo design and a definite help in business card design.
The book's stiff spine and short page width means page turning requires two hands and you can't lay this book flat to study designs - a definite failing in a book of this type. In spite of this, it is still an essential to have in your creative library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Nice Book if you know nothing about design, June 20 2004
By 
Cacho Marcote "Aldi" (Buenos Aires, Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I think this book is for people that don't have any experience on graphic design whatsoever. It doesn't explain a thing about layout, why to use this or that layout, what that layout represents, etc... It's just blank pages with variations of the same concept. Though to be fair the book can start a tiny little spark here and then.
The only thing I was surprised of was the quality of the paper used. My advice to the publisher: invest more in the content (or invest at all, maybe some text or explanation would be nice) and less in the stock paper.
If you are looking for a nice book about layout I strongly recommend you buy Jim Krause: 'Layout Index' (That or any from the "Index" collection)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A BIG collection of lay-outs, Feb. 5 2003
By 
Ricardo Consonni (Sao Paulo, Brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The book is almost what the title says: a Cookbook. It is full of sketched 'recepies' of layouts (most of them mediocre), almost no text, organized in categories.
If it really were a Cookbook, you would have some text, explaining a bit more thoroughly what you could do with the idea presented.
It's a book you learn very little from - you are supposed to apply what is presented. The book laid in a very arid manner, being plainly dull at some points. I did not like it at all.
If you're looking for a real Cookbook, get Jim Krause's 'Idea Index'! It not only gives you the ideas, but also has 'suggested serving variations', so you can spice-up the concepts presented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, Aug. 18 2001
By 
"gowestman2001" (CA United States) - See all my reviews
I was expecting a book full of color pictures with new, cutting-edge design ideas. Instead it reminds me of the back of some clip art book, where it shows small 1.5 inch square pictures of design ideas. The ideas, if you can call them that, are extremely basic and out-dated. The book is structured into five sections: Structuring Space, Orienting on the Page, Text Systems, Ordering Information, and Pictoral Considerations. While there are a few ideas, most I wouldn't use, especially since I am more into web design. I would not recommend this book and wish I would have spent the money elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what it says!, July 9 2001
By 
"intentaccess" (Boca Raton, Florida USA) - See all my reviews
When I first bought this book when I opened it I was very disappointed. All it is pictures and layouts and we know how to do this right. But finally I did catch on. As it stats right on the cover of this book Mix and Match then right in the beginning it shows you how. That is what is great. You take your own ideas you see each and add those from the pictures and you are making your own design. Doesn't sound like something you need but you won't believe the ideas you now have that you didn't before you open the book. This is really an essential!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars a-w-f-u-l, Aug. 16 2001
By 
Lorenzo Colloreta "TheLazyDesigner" (Pistoia, pt Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a book because it has a cover.
Inside, you get 140 pages of tiny layout designs and text justification patterns, page number positioning (!), column layouts, page geometric divisions.... this is NOT inspirational at all, at least for a standard "no awards" designer like me...
This is a collection of obvious stuff, even Microsoft Word page wizards can be much more creative than this.
Do not waste money, I will really like to suggest you the Krause's "IDEA INDEX" book, that is another planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for reference..., June 13 2002
By A Customer
I like this book, alot. It doesn't have any wordy explanations behind the techniques, just various ways to design common elements.
People complain that the book is too basic, but the purpose of the book is to be used as reference and to combine several of the techniques into one design. I think the simplicity of the designs are important because you are not distracted by a pretty photo or bright colors, all your attention is on layout.
This book is a great guide to generate ideas for your designs, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Collection of layouts, June 13 2004
By 
I knew what I was buying when I purchased this book - a collection of layouts. However, as an aspiring graphic designer I haven't really found the book of much use. When you design, you need to have the content first, and the book doesn't acknowledge this. It achieves what its title promises - "recipes for faster... layouts". Whether they are better is debatable. Indeed, it is an eye opener, but there is more to good designs than merely aesthetics and cookie-cutter layouts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Graphic Design Cookbook: Mix and Match Recipes for Faster Better Layouts
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews