Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent stories for an Early Reader
Short, literate stories, each with a moral, allowing a child to get the idea of drawing a generalization from a story. The brevity makes them understandable as wholes and a manageable size for older children to read (my four-year-old child finds them interesting enough to motivate her reading and short enough to permit success). My favorite editions of these tales place...
Published on Aug. 29 2003 by Andrew Layman

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DON'T be confused!
The paperback edition of "Aesop's Fables" should NOT be confused with the Hardcover edition of the same name, that other reviews on this page refer to. While I think the illustrations are quite lovely and the fables familiar, I (probably through no one's fault but my own), did not get what I expected. There are only 13 fables, some of which are little more...
Published on April 13 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DON'T be confused!, April 13 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Aesop's Fables (Paperback)
The paperback edition of "Aesop's Fables" should NOT be confused with the Hardcover edition of the same name, that other reviews on this page refer to. While I think the illustrations are quite lovely and the fables familiar, I (probably through no one's fault but my own), did not get what I expected. There are only 13 fables, some of which are little more than a few lines long, and there is no additional commentary or context. The price is reasonable for what it is, but this is not a soft cover edition of the hard cover of the same name!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent stories for an Early Reader, Aug. 29 2003
By 
Andrew Layman (Bellevue, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aesop's Fables: A Classic Illustrated Edition (Hardcover)
Short, literate stories, each with a moral, allowing a child to get the idea of drawing a generalization from a story. The brevity makes them understandable as wholes and a manageable size for older children to read (my four-year-old child finds them interesting enough to motivate her reading and short enough to permit success). My favorite editions of these tales place one fable and illustration per page. More at strongbrains.com.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DON'T be confused!, April 13 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Aesop's Fables (Paperback)
The paperback edition of "Aesop's Fables" should NOT be confused with the Hardcover edition of the same name, that other reviews on this page refer to. While I think the illustrations are quite lovely and the fables familiar, I (probably through no one's fault but my own), did not get what I expected. There are only 13 fables, some of which are little more than a few lines long, and there is no additional commentary or context. The price is reasonable for what it is, but this is not a soft cover edition of the hard cover of the same name!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An often overlooked collection of fantastic tales !, April 25 2000
This review is from: Aesop's Fables (Hardcover)
This rather famous and highly extraordinary gathering of short tales written by Aesop is often overlooked by most people, who look to Hans Christian Andersen (the Dane) and the Brothers Grimm when wanting to read fantastic tales.
Aesop's tales are much older than most other collections of tales that you can find nowadays. His tales and stories are rather unusual, as many wondrous creatures and items exist in his 'world'. Items that speak and have emotions, nice demons, wicked fairies that spew forth from cracks in the earth and people who behave in very strange, amusing and unexpected ways. In any case, if you like to have your imagination tickled and challenged, you shouldn't hesitate when buying this book.
Most stories in here are also suitable for children, although certain, more advanced and intricate, aspects of the stories will be lost on them. A good thing about that, is that kids can read it when they're rather young, and if they pick the book up again at a later stage in life, new thoughts on the stories will dawn on them, since their intellects have developed and are able to grasp twists and plots in the small tales that kids aren't likely to comprehend.
As I've said before, many of these tales are rather unusual, and unless strange and unusual old tales interest you, go buy some of the more known collection of children's tales. This book is both for kids and adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite for children..., Aug. 18 2002
This review is from: Aesop's Fables: A Classic Illustrated Edition (Hardcover)
The short stories attributed to Aesop have been around for over 2,500 years. Many times no longer than a paragraph is enough for the reader to see the moralistic truth of the world around us summed up in a brief encounter between animals. The illustrations are well done and will be appreciated by adults, but for the most part were not created for children. The vocabulary and grammar can also be difficult for young children on their own, but will be understood if it is read to them with the proper pauses and inflections. Every fable has its moral underneath it. Many of them children will recognize from other storybooks. Every teacher should have a collection of Aesop's fables. Although this edition is not the best for young children it would still make an excellent addition to the classroom library.
Why 4 stars?:
While I do feel this is a good book to read to children and to show the illustrations to. It will be too difficult for them to read on their own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Aeosps Fables are more than good, theyre grrrrrrrrreat!, Oct. 30 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Aesop's Fables (Hardcover)
On my birthday in second grade, my parents gave me a package containing these stories, written by the ancient Aesop. I read through it, at first not enjoying it much, thinking ,"What fun could it be to read something wrtitten by some old guy?" after reading through one fable, I was changed. My heart lightened, and I finished the book inside my favorite blanket within a day,and my parents were surprised that I had already finished. And even if it was heavy reading for a second grader, I loved it and have read it several times over again. I suggest that everyone should read this book because of the helpful morals that allow you to understand everyday life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Aesop's Wonderful Fables, June 10 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Aesop's Fables (Hardcover)
This wonderful book is amazing. My most favorite is, "The Ants and the Grasshopper". This fable reminded me of, "A Bug's Life". It is the same story line, plot and setting. I just love this book. "The Mole and His Mother", made me cry. It is a mole that was created blind at birth but later his mom finds out that he isn't just blind but that he is also lost his sense of smell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Beware! Amazon doesn't know what it's doing!, June 28 2000
By 
Ezra Shapiro "exiled New Yorker" (Los Angeles sprawl) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aesop's Fables (Paperback)
Careful! These reviews do not all refer to the same edition of Aesop's Fables. Read them carefully. You will also discover this set of reviews replicated most (but not all) the time you click on any other edition with the title "Aesop's Fables." The database does not understand that they all aren't the same book. Sigh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of common sense!, May 3 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Aesop's Fables (Hardcover)
Common sense is what we need more today than ever. These little stories have been around for centuries but they show so much about human nature that is still true today. These stories help children, adults, and even "troubled people" like the ones who copy all of the violence they see on TV, at home, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great way to learn some good morals and common sense, Jan. 22 2001
By 
L. Kolosky "prieofmorr" (chisholm, Minnesota United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aesop's Fables (Hardcover)
Like one of the reviewers has already stated this book has alot to do with teaching common sense but it also teaches good morals to the people that read these wonderful stories. These stories are great to have kids read,because it will get them thinking about whats right and whats wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aesop's Fables: A Classic Illustrated Edition
Aesop's Fables: A Classic Illustrated Edition by Aesop (Hardcover - Oct. 15 1990)
CDN$ 23.99 CDN$ 17.51
Usually ships in 1 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews