Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview of current goaltending technique
Brian D'accord provides the reader with a thorough description of what it takes to be a successful goaltender, from equipment selection, conditioning, and techniques and drills. As a long time goaltender and goalie coach, i was familiar with a great deal of the material, but for a coach not familiar with the position, or a young player starting out, it is an excellent...
Published on Dec 7 1998 by aurand@iserv.net

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Good for beginners only
This book is an excellent starting point for a young goalie. If you know nothing about the position, this will get you going.
Unfortunately, all the instruction is terribly superficial, meaning an experienced goalie will find next to nothing in it to elevate his/her game.
If you are just starting out, buy it. If you've already been playing for a while, save your...
Published on Dec 26 2000 by papashango


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview of current goaltending technique, Dec 7 1998
By 
aurand@iserv.net (grand Rapids, Michigan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hockey Goaltending (Paperback)
Brian D'accord provides the reader with a thorough description of what it takes to be a successful goaltender, from equipment selection, conditioning, and techniques and drills. As a long time goaltender and goalie coach, i was familiar with a great deal of the material, but for a coach not familiar with the position, or a young player starting out, it is an excellent resource.
The book goes beyond the usual "how to make a glove save, stick save,etc." to cover things like the mental aspects of gaoltending, and how to anticipate where shots are likely to go based on whether the shooter is on their off-wing or short side, for example. good visual images and lots of photo illustrations help to make this a worthwhile read for players and coaches alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This book helped an aspiring goaltender, April 14 2002
By 
Daniel Byrd "danbyrd30" (Austin, Tx) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hockey Goaltending (Paperback)
I'm 30, never played a minunte of hockey, and want to play goalie. This is the book I bought. I loved it, because of the general all around information it provides. From stretching, eqiupment, technique , to mental toughness. It also does not talk down to you, as you were ten years old.
My only complaint is the lack of depth in the equipment chapters. If it was an all encompassing book, I would have liked more information on kinds of different pads, masks, gloves, ect.
I recomend this book, they tried to help all areas, and I think it worked on me. And I now play goalie twice a week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hockey Goaltending is an outstanding starting book., Jan. 18 2002
By 
"molmsted" (Longmont, CO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hockey Goaltending (Paperback)
Offering a well writen and condensed description of both Ice and Roller/Street hockey for a person wishing to learn the How To's of Hockey Goaltending. It has great descriptions backed up with photo's to truely give the reader an idea of what is being described.
I am in my first year of a Roller Hockey league and have found this book to be outstanding for my level of play. My game has drastically improved and my understanding of the position has too.
I would recomend this book for any and beginner to intermediate levels of players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SO GOOD, Sept. 5 2001
By 
Simon Price (birmingham, west midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hockey Goaltending (Paperback)
I have been a goalie of hockey for 6 years and i know a lot, although i thought i did untill I got this book. This book is telling me stuff i already know, but also a lot more and i have gone through it with in an hour of having it; i aint took it all in yet, but i am gonna read through it loads and loads and try and coach the younger kids from the book.
It is a must buy, cuz when i told my coach i got the book he told me he had also got it and helped him loads.
If you gonna buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need to know about goaltending!, March 12 2001
By 
This review is from: Hockey Goaltending (Paperback)
This is a great book on goaltending. Do not listen to the other reviews that say this book is for begginners. I've read this book many times. It covers flexibility and strength, and everything else you need to know. This is a great tool for figuring out what your doing wrong when your not playing so well. There is no such thing as a goalie that is so advanced that he does not need to read this book. Also, read what Martan Brodeur has to say in his foward at the begginning of this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Every goaltender should read this book, Feb. 25 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Hockey Goaltending (Paperback)
This book covers it all, and if you were to seriously follow everything carefully in this book and work it into your game, I would bet your game would improve by at least 30%. The nicely done photographs help a lot too. This book even teaches you how to improve your speed and quickness, and teaches you how to juggle to improve coordination. If you are a goalie novice to elite I would suggest this book very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Good for beginners only, Dec 26 2000
By 
This review is from: Hockey Goaltending (Paperback)
This book is an excellent starting point for a young goalie. If you know nothing about the position, this will get you going.
Unfortunately, all the instruction is terribly superficial, meaning an experienced goalie will find next to nothing in it to elevate his/her game.
If you are just starting out, buy it. If you've already been playing for a while, save your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Goaltending BooK eva, Oct. 23 2001
By 
al (Bay Area, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hockey Goaltending (Paperback)
For all u lucky goalies out there.......U hafta read this book. it's no comparison to any other goaltending book out there. not only does it give info. for ice hockey goaltending it ALSO gives info. for roller hockey goaltending. Of course it also has a forward written by Martin brodeur the best goalie on the ice. U gotta buy this book and u wont regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good book that covers all aspects of the game for BEGINNERS., June 20 2001
This review is from: Hockey Goaltending (Paperback)
Very easy to read with lots of pics. It has lots of tips for beginners and helpful tricks. Whenever I read this book it refreshes my memory of the basics (what to and not to do). The techniques are not fully detailed but give enough info to help thoes new to the game, but it will only act as a refresher course for those in the higher levels of the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but lacked goaltending technique substance, Oct. 1 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Hockey Goaltending (Paperback)
I liked the book as it was interesting to read, but the techniques were few and far between. A lot of conditioning was covered, which personally I didn't care for, but may be necessary for those just starting out. Overall, it was worth the money as I am an avid hockey nut, but I was looking for more skill building techniques to be covered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hockey Goaltending
Hockey Goaltending by Brian Daccord (Paperback - June 25 1998)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews