Customer Reviews


120 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the best fantasy book next to lord of the rings..
1 word...AMAZING
I loved this book!I started to read it and i never put it down..
Usually im one to play computers all day but when i picked up a Dragonlance book i would read 24/7..This is a must have for adults and children!
Published on June 23 2004 by Fenix22

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Old school escapist fantasy
The Legend of Huma was written way back in 1988, so if you're used to reading modern fantasy fiction which has been doing its best to escape from the clutches of old Tolkien-inspired cliches, you will probably find this work rather simple and unoriginal, and would probably do well to skip it entirely. However, if you've read any of the big Dragonlance trilogies as a kid...
Published on May 29 2012 by Matthew Sanderson


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Old school escapist fantasy, May 29 2012
By 
Matthew Sanderson (Canada, ON, Toronto) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: LEGEND OF HUMA (Mass Market Paperback)
The Legend of Huma was written way back in 1988, so if you're used to reading modern fantasy fiction which has been doing its best to escape from the clutches of old Tolkien-inspired cliches, you will probably find this work rather simple and unoriginal, and would probably do well to skip it entirely. However, if you've read any of the big Dragonlance trilogies as a kid (like the Chronicles or Legends trilogies), you may be interested in these supplemental novels as a bit of nostalgic indulgence.

The Legend of Huma is about the knight Huma, legendary in the Dragonlance world of Krynn for defeating the Dragonqueen Takhisis (Tiamat in the greater D&D lore) during the Second Dragonwar. Mr. Knaak writes him as a noble knight that doesn't see himself as adequately heroic enough for the Knights of Solamnia, though he never actually tells us why Huma feels this way. He just does, I guess. He meets Magius -- your stereotypical arrogant wizard --, and Kaz -- a burly, dim-witted minotaur -- and goes on various adventures with them. Eventually, he makes his way beneath some mountains in Ergoth and discovers the weapon needed to finally defeat the Dragonqueen.

The Legend of Huma is basically what you would expect from a supplemental book set in the Dragonlance shared world and written in 1988. It is generic, cliche, entirely unoriginal, and heroic in scope. The writing is uneven, with little interesting prose, and has a structure of go on a journey, meet someone interesting/have a fight scene, then repeat the process.

There's nothing in the book to blow your mind, and I certainly can't understand how some reviewers on here stated it as being the best book they've ever read (unless this is the only book they've ever read?), but there is something about it that made me read the entire way through. I think this thing is likely nostalgia for the Drgonlance universe. I read the Chronicles trilogy as a kid, and have fond memories of it. Being reacquainted with that world, even in the form of bad escapist fiction, is nice. If you're looked to do the same, you might want to try and find this book. If you have no knowledge of the Dragonlance world, though, you should not pick this book up, and instead find something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the best fantasy book next to lord of the rings.., June 23 2004
By 
Fenix22 (Tacoma, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: LEGEND OF HUMA (Mass Market Paperback)
1 word...AMAZING
I loved this book!I started to read it and i never put it down..
Usually im one to play computers all day but when i picked up a Dragonlance book i would read 24/7..This is a must have for adults and children!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the only books to present a Knight as honorable, April 20 2004
This review is from: LEGEND OF HUMA (Mass Market Paperback)
I've read a large number the other Dragonlance books regarding knights and found them all to be sick satires because for some reason people think that it is impossible for a knight to be a man of honor. (Which I was under the impression that they were supposed to represent) Huma is a knight who manifests virtues sadly lost by most people today, so likely many will react negatively to the portrail of such a man and use words like clique, one dimensional, unrealistic and so on.
The book deptics a great man aspiring to manifest the edics of knighthood while attempting to aid his brother knights in a losing battle to the forces of darkness. In regards to that the story is very similar to most other epic type books. There is a collection of interesting other characters that put Huma in difficult moral dilema's, but Huma is what makes the book for me, and I applaud Knaak for not being affraid to make a character who is actually good for once. Why can't we have good guys anymore?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars child's masterpiece, Jan. 31 2004
By 
S. Patel "sajioblo" (Washington, DC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: LEGEND OF HUMA (Mass Market Paperback)
Glad to see this book around. I read it years ago as a kid after a really though year, and was mesmerized. The humble knight who seeks the good, and is chosen to represent the greatest Good has to offer.
Ultimately, this book may seem cliche to older, more cynical readers, but the ultimate message of triumph through compassion is not only relevant but also just better than tired depressing mages, vampires or demons who seem to have gutted fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Deliberate cliché fantasy. Not awful., Jan. 6 2004
By 
Trevor Kettlewell "trevsbookreviews" (Nowra, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A 'DragonLance' publication. I've never read one before, sort of grouping it in with series like 'Babysitters' Club'. And, sure, it's entirely genre driven - we start with the clichés: dragons, knights, wizards - it's the opposite to someone having an idea and deciding to set it in a certain genre for some reason. Moreover, as a branch of TSR (the D & D company), it's chock full of a menagerie of mythical beasts (think Pokémon and trading cards), and unfolds like a D & D campaign - you could imagine people counting up their hit points against a dreadwolf or a minataur.
Characters are utterly two dimensional, but I suppose that's OK, because stereotype is deliberate (stone me if that young maidservant/princess/sorceress isn't gorgeous - and here's a sketch picture - I kid you not). The book is driven by action and novelty, and the desire to feed a certain market. And as such, I suppose it does pretty well; it's never trying to be a great book. There's nothing really awful to make you put the book down (though nothing to make you compulsively turn the pages either). Probably excellent for young teens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, Dec 13 2003
This review is from: LEGEND OF HUMA (Mass Market Paperback)
The Legend of Huma was, and is,one of my favorite stories of all time. I first read this book when I was 11 years old, and enjoyed it then. I'm 26 now and still read it once a year or so.
I'm not much a sci-fi fan, but this book has more to offer than dragons and knights. A very good story by Mr.Knaak
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Story for a Great Knight, Oct. 24 2003
By 
Tommy Jeffers (Pana, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: LEGEND OF HUMA (Mass Market Paperback)
The Legend of Huma centers on the adventures of the renowned knight Huma. The time is long ages before the events of the original Dragonlance series. Huma is a simple knight that understands the Oath and the Measure better than some of his more prestigious peers. It is this knowledge of compassion that compels him to save a lone minotaur, Kaz, from a band of goblins. The friendship that the two form cause a major transformation of Kaz who eventually embraces the knightly ideals. The main story of this great novel involves the incursion of the Dark Queen, Takhisis, into the planes of the living. Huma must rise above his simple upbringing and make a huge difference in the lives of all who dwell on Krynn. He is aided by Kaz all along the way, and the relationship between the two becomes a life changing event for the minotaur, who once served the forces of evil. Although the outcome of the story is inevitable, the way Knaak takes us there is superbly done. The characters are people you care about, and the history is consistent with the original series. The story provides much background information that readers of the Dragonlance Chronicles have always wondered about. The novel is a fast paced ride to an exciting and moving ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Est Sularis Oth Mithas, Sept. 17 2003
This review is from: LEGEND OF HUMA (Mass Market Paperback)
The first installment of the Heroes Trilogy, "The Legend of Huma" is one of the best fantasy novels set in the world of Krynn. It tells the tale of the legendary Solamnic Knight Huma, and his pivotal role in the discovery of the original dragonlance and defeat of the Dark Queen prior to the Cataclysm. It also tells the story of Magius the wizard, Kaz the Minotaur, and Gwyneth the silver dragon.
This book is full of adventure, dragons, warfare, treachery, politics, and of course romance. It's a very worthy addition to the original series, and tells the tale of Krynn's most legendary hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not half as good as the rest..., Sept. 13 2003
This review is from: LEGEND OF HUMA (Mass Market Paperback)
I am really sorry I have to only give this book a 3...
I loved all the other DragonLance books, from Soulforge to Dragons of a vanished moon, but this book really never got me interested at all. I tried very hard to like this book but in the end I just could not enjoy it. Here's a few reasons why if you are interested at all.
-No offence to fans, but the writting is really quite poor.
-I learned more about Huma from the chronicles than this book.
-IT MAKES NO SENSE!! Dragons appear out of thin air, Huma kills them, then more dragons come, he kills them too, etc, etc.
-Too much fighting and not enough substance.
-And finally, the plot is very vague, and seems to be there only to try and give reasons for more dragon fights.
I have read books by Richard A.Knaak before, and this seems to be among his worst. ->If you love dragons and fight scenes, this book is for you though<-. If you are like me and prefer less fighting and more thinking, read the books by Margaret Weis and especially the legends trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly Good Book, June 9 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: LEGEND OF HUMA (Mass Market Paperback)
This was the first Dragonlance book i ever read and because of it's glory,i swear it was'nt the last."The Legend of Huma"is the greatest book i ever read in my entire life and everyone i met who read it says so.The story line,the battles,the romance,all of it was perfect.
It's the story of a young knight that new his fame-for he is and will always be the only one to defeat the dark queen Takhisis.He made a couple of friends in his unsuspected road to fortune-such as Magius(my favorite character),Kaz(a minotaur),Gwineth,Buoron,Lord Guy Avondale etc...His epic adventure finishes by his tragic death against the Dragon Queen herself...Anyways i highly recommend you this book at all cost!(yes,even if your a soldier of the American army hedding for Iraq)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

LEGEND OF HUMA
LEGEND OF HUMA by Richard A. Knaak (Mass Market Paperback - March 12 1988)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews