Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Few Really Fine Works on Classic Typography
Along with the later book by James Felici, called "The Complete Manual of Typography" from Adobe Press, Bringhurst's book is a landmark work in English for any level of typgographic study.
Read it slowly and carefully for all the nuggets he leaves in a trail for us to follow. An amazing, brilliant effort no graphic design person should omit from his or her...
Published on June 1 2004 by Bernard Klem

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars kind of dry
The book is pretty dry. But it is good if you wanted to know the rules of typography.
Published on June 30 2002


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Few Really Fine Works on Classic Typography, June 1 2004
By 
Bernard Klem (Trumbull CT) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Elements of Typographic Style (Paperback)
Along with the later book by James Felici, called "The Complete Manual of Typography" from Adobe Press, Bringhurst's book is a landmark work in English for any level of typgographic study.
Read it slowly and carefully for all the nuggets he leaves in a trail for us to follow. An amazing, brilliant effort no graphic design person should omit from his or her typographic education.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The book to own, May 31 2004
By 
wiredweird "wiredweird" (Earth, or somewhere nearby) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Elements of Typographic Style (Paperback)
If you were allowed only one book on typography, it should be this one. Bringhurst is a poet. He loves language, written language, and all its parts. That love comes through in the text and the visual presentation of every page.
Bringhurst advocates a subdued typographic style. This makes good sense in the vast majority of cases, since typography is the servant of the text that it carries. Like any good servant, it should be unobtrusive, well dressed, and competent to handle every task it is given, quietly and promptly. Bringhurst demonstrates nearly everything he says, starting first with this book itself.
The book is a beautiful artifact, with an elegant and informative page layout. Body text, side- and foot-notes, references, running titles, and more - they all fit together well on the page. Each kind of information is set off only slightly, but clearly and predictably. The content is well organized: prose in the early chapters, reference material in the later chapters and appendices, and all the intermediates in the middle of the book. Diagrams and tables are minimalist and communicative.
The text spans centuries, from ancient Egyptian page layouts to the rationale behind Unicode. Bringhurst is passionate about typography's history, and insists that it inform every modern decision about print and printing. He embraces the new just as much, and is careful to note the strengths and weaknesses of each typographic technology.
Bringhurst discusses far too many topics to touch on here. In every case, though, he brings his poet's sense to all of the writing, using witty, descriptive language for even the most mundane of technical issues. The one weakness I saw was in the geometry of page layouts. I like his mathematical rigor and esthetic practicality. Still, I think that the number of different constructions was more a tribute to what can be done than to what serves a real need.
This is the best, most complete text I know on book design. As Bringhurst points out, there are lots of other uses for type than books, but he chose books as his subject - I have no problem with that limitation. The only problem I saw, and not really a problem with the book itself, is its subtlety. The nuances (well, most of the nuances) he discusses are important. Beginners, however, may not see the significance of small matters. Once a reader's eye it tuned to the fine detail, however, this book is the most helpful I know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, Jan. 28 2004
By 
MiloMilo (Georgia, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Elements of Typographic Style (Paperback)
I read the reviews here, so I decided to buy it. It is a GREAT investment. Not only it is instructive, a serious reference book, but it is also a pleasure to read. It has turn my typography passion all new again! Good for young/veteran designers, and whoever loves design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars INCREDIBLE, Jan. 27 2004
By 
Valentina Miosuro (Indianapolis, IN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Elements of Typographic Style (Paperback)
I am a graphic design student and this book has been so inspiring to me. It has showed me a side of tipography that I had never seen. The author of the book talks about type as if it were a piece of art. All the metaphors and analogies are just amazing and helpful when trying to put light on such intricate subject. Among all things typography is now the aspect of design I love the most, and I can see myself reopening this book every day of my academic and professional career as a designer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasure to read!, Dec 17 2003
By 
MiloMilo (Georgia, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Elements of Typographic Style (Paperback)
This book has shaken my passion for type and design. It is inspiring, simple and educational. Either if you have a long life experience in design, or if you are just discovering the love for the written letters... You will keep it handy either way. It is really great and up to date!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This poetic little book has renewed my love of design, Nov. 17 2003
By 
Daniel Sroka "dansroka" (Morris Township, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Elements of Typographic Style (Paperback)
I've been a designer from a long time, and lately, have been rather burned out, finding a design world full of too much ego, hype and style without substance. But after stumbling on this book in a college bookstore, I have become reacquainted with my love of design and type. Mr. Bringhurst has reminded me about the purpose and purity of design, and it's humble yet vital role in the world.
Imagine... a book on typography that provides clear-headed facts and lessons, yet still reads like poetry. The comparison of page sizes to musical scales is brilliant. A beautifully made and beautifully written book that is a pleasure to hold, to read, and to learn from. This book is an achievement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, Nov. 17 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Elements of Typographic Style (Paperback)
This was the recommended book for my typography class and I must say it was well worth it. Leading by example, it's a beautiful piece, and it's truly invaluble as a guide to typography enthusiasts - beginners and experts alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great source of information, Aug. 10 2003
This review is from: The Elements of Typographic Style (Paperback)
If you are into typography and care about little details when laying out a design, this book is perfect for you. The author clearly explains, down to the finest details, the use of typographic elements. The tone of the author might sound somewhat strict and commanding, but the knowledge that Bringhurst has to share is with no doubt classic, and leads to great typographic solutions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book on Typography, July 11 2003
By 
Meir Sadan (Ramat Hasharon Israel) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Elements of Typographic Style (Paperback)
Nothing more to say. Simply, the best book on typography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very readable classic, May 26 2003
By 
John Culleton "rowsereviews" (Eldersburg, MD United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Elements of Typographic Style (Paperback)
Bringhurst both demonstrates and describes typography with style and wit. This book is considered the most authoritative by those who know typography. But the man can write. He dismisses _The Chicago Manual of Style_ on the subject of the ellipsis as indulging in "...a Victorian eccentricity." Typographers and publishers should start with this book, and then consider lesser works.
John Culleton
Able Indexers and Typesetters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xc1697fa8)

This product

The Elements of Typographic Style
The Elements of Typographic Style by ROBERT BRINGHURST (Paperback - Jan. 31 1997)
Used & New from: CDN$ 22.86
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews