Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The book to own
If you were allowed only one book on typography, it should be this one. Bringhurst is a poet. He loves language, written language, and all its parts. That love comes through in the text and the visual presentation of every page.
Bringhurst advocates a subdued typographic style. This makes good sense in the vast majority of cases, since typography is the servant of...
Published on May 31 2004 by wiredweird

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars kind of dry
The book is pretty dry. But it is good if you wanted to know the rules of typography.
Published on June 30 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars An Essential Typographical Reference, Jan. 26 2002
By 
Scott Keeney (Brookfield, Connecticut) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Elements of Typographic Style (Paperback)
The art of typography is given its due in this handsome volume. Bringhurst's prose is lucid. His brief history of type and his mini-essays on many of the most popular fonts will help anyone understand what separates great book design from merely good or adequate design. ¶ I work for a composition house which deals with many of the largest publishers, and I can tell you this: if more book designers were familiar with the principles so well and succinctly outlined in this little treasure, some publishers might be able to take their production costs down a notch. ¶ The book itself is wonderfully designed, although it's true that the gutter margin (complained of in another Amazon review) could be a little bigger. ¶ Overall, "The Elements of Typographic Style" is definitely an essential reference book for those involved with type on a regular basis, as well as a fascinating, well-researched read for anyone with a passing interest in fonts or book design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The layman with an interest will enjoy this..., Jan. 31 2003
By 
David C. Johnson (Spencer, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Elements of Typographic Style (Paperback)
Actually, I think the audience for this book is the layman with interest in good typography. I think this book might be a little lacking for a graphics/type professional, but I it fills a void for the layman with an interest in the layout & typography of the printed word.
Bringhust deals with the classic elements of typography, so you will find no mention of poster typography, "modern" movements & the like... He gives great detail in laying out pages, dimensions of pages & font selection. His review of fonts (Prowling the Specimen Books) is worth the price of the book alone.
I really appreciated the "grammar for typographers" he covers (using dashes, etc.) I would love to see a full grammar book written from the book designer/typographers point of view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finally an in-depth book on digital typopgraphy., Oct. 2 2000
By 
G. Stanton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Elements of Typographic Style (Paperback)
Bringhurst is a poet AND an artist, and both gifts he brings to this important book. His explanation of proportion is excellent, as are his historical overviews of type design and page construction. His survey of available types is thorough and marvelously critical -- this man is not afraid to give his opinions. I am perplexed by his statements about word spacing and ragging as his other ideas about "harmony and balance" show great care and thought -- this book must be complimented by Geoffrey Dowding's Finer Points in the Spacing & Arrangement of Type, as Mr. Dowding's instruction produces a much more pleasing result on these two counts. The book is beautifully set though, and any professional typographer will benefit from studying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for the professional, Jan. 8 2003
By 
David Robinson (Oakland, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Elements of Typographic Style (Paperback)
Now that we all have laser printers and computers, we are offered 120 - 400 different fonts on even the most basic home computing set-ups. Many people are interested in knowing more about "orthography" (doing typography well). Bringhurst's book is thoroughly professional and quite readable. It's complete (it covers non-English characters in some depth) and encyclopedic, and in my judgment it is a standard of "best practice."
However, this book is written at a level that would be appropriate for a serious graphic designer who is considering designing a new font. It's a bit beyond what a layman would need--or find interesting.
Recommended, then, for professionals only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This poetic little book has renewed my love of design, Nov. 17 2003
By 
Daniel Sroka "dansroka" (Morris Township, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Elements of Typographic Style (Paperback)
I've been a designer from a long time, and lately, have been rather burned out, finding a design world full of too much ego, hype and style without substance. But after stumbling on this book in a college bookstore, I have become reacquainted with my love of design and type. Mr. Bringhurst has reminded me about the purpose and purity of design, and it's humble yet vital role in the world.
Imagine... a book on typography that provides clear-headed facts and lessons, yet still reads like poetry. The comparison of page sizes to musical scales is brilliant. A beautifully made and beautifully written book that is a pleasure to hold, to read, and to learn from. This book is an achievement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE solid foundation of typography, Nov. 27 2000
This review is from: The Elements of Typographic Style (Paperback)
This book is amazing. Whether a newspaper copyfitter or a web graphic designer, this text contains useful and informative information that will help the serious designer firmly root themselves in this oft-overlooked science.
To be fair, this is not a quick, to the point text-- it was written with the serious professional/enthusiast as the target audience. There is no list of rules to follow within. Bringhurst instead explains with detail and enthusiasm the very purpose and history of typesetting, all the while furthering the reader's appreciation and style.
A must buy for anyone who ever has or ever will deal with the printed (on paper or the web) page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thorough, but dense, Sept. 20 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Elements of Typographic Style (Paperback)
An insightful, thorough examination of the use of type. It's well suited to those seriously studying typography or seeking a deeper understanding of it to enhance their professional design work. But it may be a bit dense and esoteric for beginning students - it's certainly more than a light introduction. The author's evangelism on the profundity of type can be a bit overwhelming at times too - unless you're already a subscriber to the faith.
That said, there's no doubt that type is a cornerstone of good design. This book will certainly help you build that cornerstone well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and doggone funny!, Nov. 25 2002
This review is from: The Elements of Typographic Style (Paperback)
Just a quick note to say that Brinhurst brings tremendous wit and playfulness to the table with this informative and enlightening book. Who could have imagined that a book on typography could be such an entertaining, compelling and downright WITTY read (yes, given the typographical strictures of the online review system, I have brazenly set "witty" in all uppercase--its my prerogative).
I will never hit the spacebar twice after a sentence again.
I give it 5 diacriticals! Outstanding.
(I am a broadcast designer)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A definitive resource for typographic knowledge, June 5 2002
This review is from: The Elements of Typographic Style (Paperback)
I loved the book -- even though I disagree with many of his positions. For my positions, see "Introduction to Digital Publishing" (by me) which is a more practical book for day to day working. Bringhurst is very conservative -- retro is a huge understatement.
Robert's book is an amazing resource for typographic trivia. It is gorgeously typeset. His basic design decisions are a little anal, but solid. It is exclusively about typesetting for non-graphic books. It is a must read for all typesetters and desktop publishers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic introduction to making your creations beautiful, July 27 1998
By 
Julian Gilbey (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Elements of Typographic Style (Paperback)
In this book, Robert Bringhurst welcomes us into his world of typography, gently showing us how to approach typesetting problems, how to select fonts, how to conceive of a page and the like. He also describes how historical reality should be taken into account in the design, as well as giving a detailed description of the history and style of many, many typefaces. The book is written with great passion, and contains very sound advice. This book is a must for anyone seriously trying to create a beautiful, readable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Elements of Typographic Style
The Elements of Typographic Style by ROBERT BRINGHURST (Paperback - Jan. 31 1997)
Used & New from: CDN$ 29.41
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews