Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The book to own
If you were allowed only one book on typography, it should be this one. Bringhurst is a poet. He loves language, written language, and all its parts. That love comes through in the text and the visual presentation of every page.
Bringhurst advocates a subdued typographic style. This makes good sense in the vast majority of cases, since typography is the servant of...
Published on May 31 2004 by wiredweird

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars kind of dry
The book is pretty dry. But it is good if you wanted to know the rules of typography.
Published on June 30 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, Oct. 31 2002
This review is from: The Elements of Typographic Style (Paperback)
I love this book. As a book editor, I searched high and low for a book that explained the principles behind typographic selection, and that's exactly what this book is. I didn't want some light or airy introduction to type: I already had a fine aesthetic sense. I wanted to know how to talk about type, and this book gave me the vocabulary and concepts to do so intelligently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, Oct. 31 2002
This review is from: The Elements of Typographic Style (Paperback)
I love this book. As a book editor, I searched high and low for a book that explained the principles behind typographic selection, and that's exactly what this book is. I didn't want some light or airy introduction to type: I already had a fine aesthetic sense. I wanted to know how to talk about type, and this book gave me the vocabulary and concepts to do so intelligently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and lucid., Aug. 8 2001
This review is from: The Elements of Typographic Style (Paperback)
Bringhurst gets at the heart of typography as an expressive medium. The work does not focus right or wrong, but poses reasons why one might make one choice over another.
I think this may be the best book for someone just learning about typography to start with. At the same time, it is insightful for those with more experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasure to read!, Dec 17 2003
By 
MiloMilo (Georgia, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Elements of Typographic Style (Paperback)
This book has shaken my passion for type and design. It is inspiring, simple and educational. Either if you have a long life experience in design, or if you are just discovering the love for the written letters... You will keep it handy either way. It is really great and up to date!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Typographer's Bible, Jan. 15 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Elements of Typographic Style (Paperback)
Probably the best book on typography. Packed with useful information written in a clear flowing style. If you are involved in type design, typesetting or web page design, then this book should be on your shelf. Even the paper the book is printed on is beautiful quality stuff! ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, Jan. 28 2004
By 
MiloMilo (Georgia, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Elements of Typographic Style (Paperback)
I read the reviews here, so I decided to buy it. It is a GREAT investment. Not only it is instructive, a serious reference book, but it is also a pleasure to read. It has turn my typography passion all new again! Good for young/veteran designers, and whoever loves design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bringhurst's book is wise, concise, and true., April 7 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Elements of Typographic Style (Paperback)
Robert Bringhurst's book must be the first word on typography and deserves to be the last. He writes with a humanist's sensitivity to history, a mathematician's devotion to order and number, and an artist's love of beauty. I cannot imagine a better book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If You're a Designer, You Must Have This Book. Period., Aug. 9 2000
This review is from: The Elements of Typographic Style (Paperback)
A designer not having this book is like a writer not having a dictionary. Or maybe as severe as a Priest not having a Bible.
I could go on but the other reviews cover it very well. Just get it. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, Nov. 17 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Elements of Typographic Style (Paperback)
This was the recommended book for my typography class and I must say it was well worth it. Leading by example, it's a beautiful piece, and it's truly invaluble as a guide to typography enthusiasts - beginners and experts alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars indeed the bible of typography, Dec 8 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: The Elements of Typographic Style (Paperback)
Hermann Zapf wanted to see this book to become the ``typographer's bible''. And indeed it deserves to be. If you only have time to read one book on this subject, this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Elements of Typographic Style
The Elements of Typographic Style by ROBERT BRINGHURST (Paperback - Jan. 31 1997)
Used & New from: CDN$ 18.29
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews