Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Gadgets!!
If you like to use your hands, build or modify things to suit your needs, and you're a homebrewer, this book is from God. Now, my Gadgetude Quotient is pretty high, so I love just about everything in this book, but Brew Ware has a little somehting for you, no matter how much you like to tinker.
Published on Jan. 19 2003 by Mark J. Glinski

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Just not enough detail...
I think that this book was O.K. It just didn't give enough detail on how to build many of the items. While most people may be able to "figure it out", that's not what they buy the book for. If you pay money for a book that is supposed to tell you how to build your own homebrew equipment, then Darnit all, that's what it should tell you. Additionally, they...
Published on July 7 2003 by Chad Dickinson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars captures the joys of homebrewing., March 1 2004
By 
Thomas Wilk (Livonia, MI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brew Ware: How to Find, Adapt & Build Homebrewing Equipment (Paperback)
This book does a great job capturing the mechanical part of the essence of homebrewing. It's well written and well illustrated, but is it useful? Some of the gadgets are too simple to warrant inclusion and a few are unnecessarily elaborate. But, by and large, it includes a lot of gadgets that you could develop, with a little creativity, on your own (and Homebrewing is all about being creative). You might not make/use the gadgets, but it makes you think about the process.
So, yes, it's useful, especially if you use that saved creativity for tinkering with hops, malts and yeasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Just not enough detail..., July 7 2003
By 
Chad Dickinson (Peru, IN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Brew Ware: How to Find, Adapt & Build Homebrewing Equipment (Paperback)
I think that this book was O.K. It just didn't give enough detail on how to build many of the items. While most people may be able to "figure it out", that's not what they buy the book for. If you pay money for a book that is supposed to tell you how to build your own homebrew equipment, then Darnit all, that's what it should tell you. Additionally, they could've done a bit more research, and told you how to contact some of the suppliers they mention. An appendix at the end with web addresses, and phone numbers would have sufficed, but the list they have is incomplete at best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gadgets!!, Jan. 19 2003
By 
Mark J. Glinski "lizardeye" (New Bedford, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brew Ware: How to Find, Adapt & Build Homebrewing Equipment (Paperback)
If you like to use your hands, build or modify things to suit your needs, and you're a homebrewer, this book is from God. Now, my Gadgetude Quotient is pretty high, so I love just about everything in this book, but Brew Ware has a little somehting for you, no matter how much you like to tinker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ooooooooh Toys, Nov. 27 2001
This review is from: Brew Ware: How to Find, Adapt & Build Homebrewing Equipment (Paperback)
If you like gadgets, and brewing, this book could prove dangerous. I couldn't stop drooling over the possibilities of building my own temperature controlled fermentation room with tons of neat little tricks. Good book for the brewer that likes to play with building things, or just wants to spend tons of money on equipment. Conversely, it provides many of the cheapest solutions to brewing equipment I've seen yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You get exactly what the title says.........., Oct. 30 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Brew Ware: How to Find, Adapt & Build Homebrewing Equipment (Paperback)
This is a book about brewing equipment, nothing more, nothing less. It goes into great detail on how to build your own brewing equipment or where to buy prefabricated set-ups, such as; 3 tier used keg or cooler lauter tun systems, false bottom bucket lauter tuns, immersion wort chillers, dual immersion wort chillers, counter flow wort chillers, sparging equipment, filtration equipment, and much, much more.
I really liked the attention to detail, right down to the type of plastics and PVC to use or not to use, what type of solder to use or not to use for soldering.
Lutzen even goes into great detail when comparing various systems, giving his non biased opinion on many of the systems you can either buy or build. This is probably the most helpful part of the book, in my opinion. It's good to know that you can successfully accomplish what you're trying to do without spending top dollar for the equipment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars There are better books than this, March 15 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Brew Ware: How to Find, Adapt & Build Homebrewing Equipment (Paperback)
Anyone who has been home brewing for any period of time knows this stuff. Most of it was taken out of articals from brewing magazines. You have to know quit a bit about brewing to understand what some of the equipment does and what it is for. The author does not realy tell you. In the back of the book there are about 5 or 6 pages of names of places to get stuff, which is great! But you think the author could have included web pages. Only two had web address included. Most of the companys do infact have web pages. The other thing I did not like about the book is that the author gave rough prices of stuff. The book was writen in 1995, 6 years ago. Those prices are not even close now. He dated the book and made it absolete by including the prices. Expect to spend 5% to 6% more that he says.
The information in this book can be found anywhere. Check your local homebrew store or local beer club. They will be more than happy to give you all the info you need.
Spend the money on a good homebrew book instead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but nothing outstanding, Oct. 1 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Brew Ware: How to Find, Adapt & Build Homebrewing Equipment (Paperback)
I checked this book out from a local library before I bought -- and I'm glad I did. I've made a number of "homebrewed" homebrew devices over the years, relying on sources on the net (e.g. Homebrew Digest, web pages), and, to a lesser extent, Papazian & Miller. I would consider that assortment of sources -- or, even the web sources alone -- a more thorough & complete resource than this book.
This is a good book for those that don't want to spend too much time looking for & considering alternatives in designs, but just want one place to go to get designs & get something built. In other words, it's good for those that don't want to tinker & experiment & try to optimise what they have. But if that's you, then what are you doing homebrewing? :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A homebrewers must have!, Jan. 24 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Brew Ware: How to Find, Adapt & Build Homebrewing Equipment (Paperback)
If you are thinking about homebrewing or have been homebrewing for a year or so and have questions, then this book is what you need. If I had read Brew Ware a year ago I could have saved a ton of money. Lutzen knows his subject well and writes in a easy to understand manner that covers his topic and doesn't make the reader feel like an idiot for now knowing the chemical difference between alpha or beta amalyese enzymes. Brew Ware simplifies the processes and tells the reader exactly how each piece of the brewing equipment works. He explains which pieces are easily built, and which would be cheaper just to buy. I for one can't wait for Brew Ware II.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff!, July 21 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Brew Ware: How to Find, Adapt & Build Homebrewing Equipment (Paperback)
If you're not content with the simple plastic bucket brew setups that you get at most homebrew shops, get "Brew Ware". The book talks about pros and cons of LOTS of different equipment options for every stage in the brewing process.
Easy, clearly written, step-by-step instructions are provided to explain how to make lots of great gadgets to solve every homebrew problem. No more settling for that one chiller at the local homebrew shop, no sirree! With "Brew Ware" I understand different types of chillers, and I can look at the plans to see which ones would be easiest or cheapest for me to build myself. Ditto with brewing setups, lagering setups, kegging setups, etc.
If you want to know about gadgets, and want to know how the different approaches work and how to build things yourself, this is the ultimate book. I'm glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brew Ware: How to Find, Adapt & Build Homebrewing Equipment
Brew Ware: How to Find, Adapt & Build Homebrewing Equipment by Mark Stevens (Paperback - Jan. 8 1996)
CDN$ 25.95 CDN$ 16.26
Usually ships in 3 to 6 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews