Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars No it is not luck
It is indeed a great book. I carry it always with me.
Published 10 days ago by Dr Kanayalal Raina

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Alex Rogo and His Team to the Rescue Again!
It's Not Luck is the sequel to Eliyahu Goldratt's great business novel, The Goal. After their success in The Goal, Alex and his team have all been promoted into the key positions in the faltering Diversified Businesses group in their conglomerate. The whole company is faltering, and great pressure is put on Alex and the team to turn their businesses around. The story...
Published on Feb. 22 2001 by Donald Mitchell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars No it is not luck, July 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: It's Not Luck (Paperback)
It is indeed a great book. I carry it always with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Luck Is for Rabbits, March 28 2002
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It's Not Luck (Paperback)
Goldratt has been an especially prolific author in recent years. This is the second of three books; the others are The Goal (1992) and Critical Chain (1997). In The Goal, Goldratt's primary focus is on the a-pplications of what he calls a Theory of Constraints (TOC) to the manufacturing process. In that book and in this one, he presents his ideas in the form of fiction (as a novel), complete with a cast of characters, a multi-dimensional narrative (or plot), a variety of settings, and perhaps most important of all, a series of conflicts. Few other authors with sufficient business acumen would attempt, much less succeed (as Goldratt does) in combining the two genres. Long ago, someone suggested that luck is the residue of preparation. Goldratt seems to agree. In this volume, he devotes much of his attention to demonstrating the relevance of TOC to marketing, sales, inventory control, distribution channels, strategic alliances, and conflict resolution. I believe it was Carl Rogers who suggested that one of the most effective strategies for conflict resolution is to set aside all points on which both parties agree, each party then makes whatever concessions are appropriate (i.e. terms and conditions of lesser importance); thereby, the parties involved can then concentrate on what are, for both sides, the most important differences. And do so with mutual respect and with goodwill. Goldratt applies the "Rogerian Model" to countless situations in this book, suggesting that conflict resolution is the result of sustained effort and patience, not luck.
It is occasionally said of an especially well-written business book that "it reads like a novel." What we have here IS a novel. Never before have executives had more to read and less time for reading. One of this book's most appealing qualities is that it is so easy to read. (The challenge is to make effective applications of TOC in an increasingly more competitive marketplace.) Goldratt is an authority on the business subjects he discusses as well as an excellent teller of tales. That's a rare combination.
For whom will this book have greatest value? Obviously, decision-makers who now have one or more of the following needs: to set or re-set the direction of their organization; to formulate appropriate marketing and sales strategies; to improve production, logistics, and distribution; to launch or improve project management initiatives; and/or to strengthen the skills of line managers.
Those who share my high regard for this book are urged to read Goldratt's other books, The Goal and Critical Chain; also, to check out David Maister's Practice What You Preach and David Whyte's The Heart Aroused. With all due respect to the core concepts Goldratt examines in this volume, they are worthless unless and until embraced by everyone involved. Master and Whyte can help managers to achieve that "buy in."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rigor made Rational - an introduction for the textbook, May 12 2004
By 
Gary "Tool Geek" (Rochester, MN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: It's Not Luck (Hardcover)
This book, in novel form, is a description of the "Thinking Process" of Theory of Constraints. This Thinking Process is really a bookkeeping process to provide rigor in rational thought. The story line is a bit weak, but as others have observed, it makes reading the dry processes fun. Once you have read this book, and are convinced that moving from a current reality [tree] to a future reality [tree] with the clouds removed is going to require the construction of a transition plan [tree], but you need some help, read "Thinking for a Change", by Lisa J. Scheinkopf - ISBN: 1574441019
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book But Doesn't Stand Alone, Feb. 20 2004
By 
Erik L Koski (Bakersfield, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: It's Not Luck (Paperback)
I've read this book several times. It does a wonderful job teaching when to apply the various TOC tools and a little on how. Depending on what you are doing, I recommend combining It's Not Luck with Thinking for a Change by Scheinkopf and/or Throughput Accounting. Most people need both the 10,000' view from The Goal, The Race and It's Not Luck and the details provided by the APICS series and some of the North River Press books. Take care when purchasing detailed books, since the quality varies greatly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment, Feb. 17 2003
By 
Roland Buresund (Stockholm, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It's Not Luck (Paperback)
It's not luck is another novel about Mr. Rogo and his career. Where the first novel (the Goal) introduced a number of concepts relating to manufacturing, this one tries to convince us that the nowadays VP of a group magically discovers the definition and use of Marketing halfway through the book (who promotes a guy to a VP position without the guy knowing at least the basics about marketing?). Another revelation he magically puts on us is that Knowledge Managament is a very important concept, as well as the revelation that the book value of a company is different from the real value. Sigh, this is taught in every MBA course in existence (at least it should be). Furthermore, we should believe that the main character who is obviously severely brain-damaged (together with his apple-pie family), yet manages to become CEO of a large conglomerate? The author is hailed like a genius that has discovered so much truths... like the resource based-view of the firm (even though he doesn't understand that this is what he has discovered).
If you do find this believable, I have some dotcom stocks to sell you, I promise that they will soon rebound...
The Goal is worth reading, but this book is a waste of paper and money, buy something else, like a Barbara Cartland novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent easy approach, Jan. 18 2003
By 
loay sehwail (Stillwater, Oklahoma, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: It's Not Luck (Paperback)
This book is about common sense. This book is the second "Must Read" for Industrial engineers and MBA students in the Eliyahu Goldratt books.
It talks about the possibilities of the state of the art distribution networks to lead to new marketing solutions. Although this book talks about marketing solutions but it is targeted for managers coming out of manufacturing toward upper level management. Some of the solutions are common sense, but the problem it reflect a lot of the problems in the outside world, were commonsense is not common any more.
I recommend reading this book after reading "The Goal".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the Goldratt bunch, April 9 2002
This review is from: It's Not Luck (Paperback)
The Goal changed my thinking and gave me a set of tools I could mingle with Lean to realize real improvements in processes. This book takes TOC to the enterprise level and introduces new problem solving techniques. In my opinion, this is the best Goldratt book yet.
Hope it helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars not just a business book! -- A must read, March 29 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: It's Not Luck (Paperback)
Teaches how to build an evaporating cloud to analyze conflicts. Teaches how to build current reality trees to find core problems-- and future reality trees to find the best solution. I loved reading this book. I am considering getting a masters degree in TOC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Almost Perfect, Sept. 20 2001
This review is from: It's Not Luck (Paperback)
This book describes Goldratt's method of solving problems, resolving conflicts, and how to apply his methods to sales, marketing (there is a difference), and general business management.
As a novel, it doesn't really hold my attention. But the ideas do. Presenting them as a book is a, ahem, novel way of doing it. It holds my attention better than reading a how-to book.
The process is hinted at, but not completely described. This is different than "The Goal," which came right out and told you what to do. I think that Goldratt was trying to promote his consulting company as much as sell a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very instructive book, July 31 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: It's Not Luck (Paperback)
This book is very nice. The last book, the goal, tells me the thoery of the constraints. This one tells me how to analyze problems in different situations. Buy it, you won't regret.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

It's Not Luck
It's Not Luck by Eliyahu M. Goldratt (Paperback - Jan. 1 1994)
CDN$ 21.41 CDN$ 15.12
Usually ships in 3 to 5 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews