biss boutiques-francophones Learn more vd2016beauty Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Own the 2016 GRAMMY Nominee Album featuring the Biggest Hits from Music's Biggest Night Exercice Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars48
3.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 31, 2016
excellent transaction, quick shipping
product came as described and expected.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2015
Very well written.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2015
Book club choice. We all really liked it and had plenty to discuss.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2014
Really fun to read. Loved the jivey imagery the character uses. Interesting period and focus. Unfortunately, nothing much comes of it all in the end.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2014
Follows a period in history but intertwines a realistic story that is very good.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2014
A very well written book with so much interest and information. A great story using historical facts. Well researched. Highly recommend this book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2014
Really a great book to read. It took my imagination right back to a time when Jazz and swing was alive in Paris and Berlin. To be young and alive in those two great cities must have been wonderful. Edugayan really captures that moment in time and allows you to feel and visualise what the young musicians are experiencing. Then we are transported to a time when the world was traumatised by the Nazis. You feel for the desperation , the longing to escape. Really enjoyed the book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2014
this story had promise - interesting time period and subject; good research of the slang. But in the end none of the main characters were likeable and none of them are redeemed. I wanted to like this book but I so disliked the characters - they were watered down and the little that they were described were mean that I have to say give this a pass.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2014
I found it well worth reading and thoroughly enjoyed it. It's a story of young jazz musicians who find themselves in Berlin in the late '30s. The characters are well portrayed. and it was an introduction to jazz for me.
i would recommend it to anyone as the emotional aspect is not too sentimental for most.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2014
Everything about this story is told with care and precision. It's an aspect of the war I'd never considered and found heartbreaking in an unexpected way. It certainly pulls no punches, but never let's the hope die either.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items