biss boutiques-francophones Learn more vd2016beauty Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Own the 2016 GRAMMY Nominee Album featuring the Biggest Hits from Music's Biggest Night Exercice Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars27
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 21, 2008
i had to watch the film for this in elementary school once or twice, so when i read it i have the voice of the narrator in my head. but, as all of the other reviews have said (making this repetitive and somewhat unnecessary) it is a classic children's book. it encapsulates the tension between Quebec and Ontario, that still exists today, but not as much i think. I'm not at all into hockey myself, but am around hockey players so have been exposed to it in some form or another all my life, which might be why i relate to it. but hockey player or not pretty much anyone can relate as its about a kid not getting what he wants and having to cope. and if you don't read it, at least go watch the short film, which is debatably better (or that might just be my preference as i saw the film first).
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2002
The Hockey Sweater is such a nice little childrens book that can melt the heart of any hockey fan no matter how old. The book is great for young people, the illustrations are adorable and there is some hockey history laid in the book as well. It is a nice look back on a semi-forgotten time and it is nice to introduce old-school hockey to the youngsters. I am going to read this book to my nephew once he is old enough and if that is not recommendation enough to get your hands on this book yourself, then I am lost for words.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2011
This is a must-read for all Canadians who ever waited with great anticipation for the ponds and lakes to freeze. It also reveals the pain of being placed on the outside of the circle of friends in a very poignant but humorous way. For old time hockey fans, there are few mentors who come up to the standard of Maurice Richard who is honored in this story.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2001
All Canadians can identify with the character in this book, be they Montreal, Toronto, Detroit or other hockey teams fans. Everybody who grew up standing in hockey rinks, playing on the ice or dreaming about getting back on has gone through what the main character has. This is a true example of Canadian culture and can also be applied to other sports.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2015
I have read this book many times as a child. And yes it is a story which speaks of tensions between English and French speaking Canadians. But it is still reflective of a period of our history and more than anything else a just a good story about kids enjoying the winter.

A note to photo guy. You have negatively reviewed a couple of books that I have read all of which were very well researched and (contrary to your ridiculous assertions) quite sound with regards to the logic of their arguments and the quality of the evidence. You clearly have a hateful bias, which clouds your judgement. I am not sure what preacher slapped your silly rear end when you were four and told you that you were a bad boy, but let go of whatever grudge you hold. It will help you approach things more rationally and objectively.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 1998
My husband and I saw the short film that the book was based on (or vice versa) and were completely enchanted. When I saw The Hockey Sweater at our local bookstore, I bought it immediately and have shared it with everyone who remembers standing in the freezing cold at outdoor skating areas, listening to sticks crack on anything that could be used as a puck. There's no way not to love the innocence, beauty and evocative illustrations, especially if you love all of the good things about ice hockey, and remember the joy in following a favorite team - no matter what!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 1999
The story of a young Quebecois mortally dismayed at having received the wrong hockey sweater (of the hated Toronto Maple Leafs, no less) has become a true Canadian classic. A very readable story suitable for kids of all ages.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2016
Fun kid's story book for the hockey lover. Especially if you are a Montreal Canadiens fan (not so much if you are a Toronto Maple Leaf fan). There is also a video version of the book out there that's really cute as well
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2002
Every Canadian or kost can relate to this book. It will make you want to go play hockey today. This good is great to read to those young kids that play hockey.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2012
this is a favourite of mine....at one time in my career I was a teacher librarian so reading this Canaadian classic was a must for me once the snow fell...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse