Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book changed my way of thinking!
A lot of other evangelical books would have us believe that simply by reciting John 3:16, we will be met with success when trying to witness to nonbelievers. This simply does not work most of the time.
Francis Schaeffer systematically proves the existence of God and Christ. He also dissects the major philosopical and religious schools of thinking and explains their...
Published on June 9 2003 by Tyler Speed

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Essentials Of Francis
This is a trilogy worth having. The books were written after a series of lectures given by Francis Schaffer. As a philosopher, Schaffer is minimual. He doesn't fully explain certain ideas well enough like the law of non-contradiction and sometimes his syllogism are muddled and other possibilities seem to be left out. However,there are many good things in this...
Published on Aug. 3 2000 by K.H.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book changed my way of thinking!, June 9 2003
By 
Tyler Speed (Bend, OR United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Francis A. Schaeffer Trilogy: Three Essential Books in One Volume (Hardcover)
A lot of other evangelical books would have us believe that simply by reciting John 3:16, we will be met with success when trying to witness to nonbelievers. This simply does not work most of the time.
Francis Schaeffer systematically proves the existence of God and Christ. He also dissects the major philosopical and religious schools of thinking and explains their faults when faced with reality. This is not intended to be a philosophy book, however I would question the intellectual relevance of anybody who would say Francis Schaeffer is a not brilliantly educated in the matters of worldly philosophy. Try reading "How Should We Then Live", "True Spirituality", or "Genesis In Space and Time" for further Schaeffer reading. An excellent book for the neophyte Christian, or for an adolescent is "How to be a Selfish Pig", also by F.A. Schaeffer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Modern Christian Mind, Dec 29 2003
By 
John Bauer (Ft. Leavenworth, KS) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Francis A. Schaeffer Trilogy: Three Essential Books in One Volume (Hardcover)
Francis Schaeffer is an outstanding Christian philosopher, a description he would insist is incorrect (He simply calls himself an evangelist). Tracing the evolution of western non-Christian thought, Schaeffer explores the spiritual shortcomings of philosophical efforts to explain humanity without a real "space-time" (human, historical) Christ. This volume gathers his earlier works written in the late sixties and early seventies. His writing is brilliant, razor sharp, and touchingly human. He never forgets the starting points of Christianity are truth and love. The writing is heavy but so relevant it can't be overlooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for the Thinking Christian, Feb. 7 2002
This review is from: A Francis A. Schaeffer Trilogy: Three Essential Books in One Volume (Hardcover)
Have you ever wondered what existentialism is all about, or what the real difference between absolute and relative truth is? When is theology liberal?, when is it orthodox?, and when is it neo-orthodox? What is it that separates Reformed theology from 'Leap in the Dark' theology? Is Christian faith rational or irrational? How can I know what I believe is true, and how can I know that I know? I am not aware of any book that serves as a better introduction to these and other issues than Francis Schaeffer's Trilogy. And, of course, it paves the way for all his other books. In his own words: 'All the others fit into these as spokes of the wheel fit into the hub.'
Schaeffer remains the leading Christian apologist for the 60s generation, and has done many of us an immense favour by exposing the countercultural, flower-power utopianism of the Woodstock generation for what it was: A non-rational escape leading to nothing but despair. I first read this book as a college student and it impacted me so much that I rushed out to buy his collected works - one of the best investments of my life. If you are serious about understanding your faith, Schaeffer is a must. And if you are serious about understanding Schaeffer, his Trilogy is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Essentials Of Francis, Aug. 3 2000
This review is from: A Francis A. Schaeffer Trilogy: Three Essential Books in One Volume (Hardcover)
This is a trilogy worth having. The books were written after a series of lectures given by Francis Schaffer. As a philosopher, Schaffer is minimual. He doesn't fully explain certain ideas well enough like the law of non-contradiction and sometimes his syllogism are muddled and other possibilities seem to be left out. However,there are many good things in this book.
He does a pretty good job in tacking how in the world , we the church, "gave over" the intellectual culture to the secular world. This he does with extreme effectiveness. His chapter on "The Importance of Truth" and his theme of "the line of despair" are important concepts and he again is effective in communicating these ideas to the reader.
Reading Schaeffer is not an easy task. One always gets the feeling that engaging him in converstaion would be, to put it mildy, a "blast." When reading his materials, however, the communcative style is static and at times, long winded. Overall, his thesis works and the book is enjoyable as the reader agrees one moment and disagrees the next. I enjoyed the book very much and desire to give it a higher rating, but, it is not written well enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good enuff, Feb. 21 2000
This review is from: A Francis A. Schaeffer Trilogy: Three Essential Books in One Volume (Hardcover)
these books are decent to good. they tend to oversimplify, but, in my opinion, that doesn't make the arguments automatically invalid. and now, to that fellow from california: i agree that these arguments are not completely valid. unless you have some sympathy for christianity, no argument for it could persuade you to it. is it not true, however, that there is no such thing as a completely valid argument? I've never heard one in my life. if you think that you have, you're mistaken. i would recommend you read the chapter called "the maniac" in gk chesterton's "orthodoxy". the bottom line is this: these books show (though not exhaustively, of course) the tendencies and conclusions of much of the thought which opposes christianity, and then how christianity, in those areas, has solutions to those problems. and i insist that the solutions, even if not presented in a perfect form, are better than anything else. dear california, do you not feel that your own philosophical position has at least a few questions that cannot be answered? i insist (comically enough) that you do. these books aren't logically exhaustive for a very good reason, the people who read them have (i assume) already seen how far logic can take them. these books are a breath of fresh air to those who can't breathe. once you have your breath back, the general conclusions of this book can be held with intellectual integrity as well as any philosophy out there, in fact, better. the proof of the pudding is in the eating. the life these books will lead you to live, if you give mr. schaeffer the benefit of the doubt, will put away any doubts you previously had. if anyone, including the fellow from california, would like to continue the debate of mr. schaeffer's conclusion about the validity of christianity, you will find a person only too eager to argue in mr. schaeffer's behalf at mattpaulson88@hotmail.com.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars read the prior review for context..., Nov. 29 1999
This review is from: A Francis A. Schaeffer Trilogy: Three Essential Books in One Volume (Hardcover)
Now, reviews like that are really disturbing. It's obvious this fellow won't even make the effort to examine worldviews different than his own. That is just as weak as the sort of unthinking Chrsitianity they portray. Mr. Schaeffer's writings, to the contrary, are generally well thought out, and give consideration to other viewpoints.
Furthermore, the reader rated it low based on worldview, which is an awfully bigoted practice that I am afraid we never will be rid of. I don't rate books dismally if I disagree with them - I do so if the arguments are so poorly stated that they don't even help me think about my own position. Schaeffer's writings are always a good thinking machine. If you aren't a believing [whatever], it doesn't mean you shouldn't read books about anything different than what you think. That is the road to parochialism and a transformation from human to xerox machine for the atheist faith, or the Protestant faith, or [whatever]. Which is something Mr. Schaeffer, on my reading (especially of something like "Art and the Bible"), would be quite against.
Schaeffer's writing is lucid and interesting to any sensetive being with a concern for big issues. I don't agreee with everything he says, either, but it was still worth every minute of my time to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shaeffer hits the mark, Jan. 29 2000
This review is from: A Francis A. Schaeffer Trilogy: Three Essential Books in One Volume (Hardcover)
If you read Shaeffer in an effort to study philosophy or intellectualism, then you most likely will be somewhat disappointed. Shaeffer whould dare call you naive if you took him for a mere philosopher! His intent has been mistakely interpreted by some.
Shaeffer understood the Truth that is in Jesus Christ, purely and simply. His expertese of philosophy was only to unveil it's error. And in that sense one could call him an antiphilosophist - i.e. In the sense where philosophy leads a man into inner turmoil, unresolved contradictions, and ultimately into utter dispair.
I think Shaeffer does a magnificent job in pointing us to the one true God, and His son Jesus Christ. After all, that was his only real intention. He doesn't aim to "wow" us with complex and unimaginalble schemes. Find fault if you will, but may you one day find fulfillment in learning what is the true wisdom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not an author for people who do not understand christianity, Feb. 5 2000
This review is from: A Francis A. Schaeffer Trilogy: Three Essential Books in One Volume (Hardcover)
although he was not only a great philosipher but an evangelist too, his books are more probing and questioning the christian faith in depth. as an advanced math course is no good for a 1st grader, so these books are no good for people who have not expirianced christianity and do not know what it is like, first hand. this is shown in the reviews givin to his books by various people.
having known schaeffer myself, i can say on his behalf that he is the most brilliant christian i have ever known. he had expirianced God and the walk of christianity, this is the subject of his books. i am not suprised many do not understand him.
an exelent author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perceptive analysis of modern thought, Aug. 19 1996
By A Customer
This review is from: A Francis A. Schaeffer Trilogy: Three Essential Books in One Volume (Hardcover)
Schaeffer deserves to be widely heard. These three books generally focus on the necessary conclusions that must be reached based on much of modern thought. Coining the word 'anti-philosophies', Schaeffer contends that it is impossible to sustain philosophical coherence when a transcendent basis is lost. The effect of modern philosophical trends are traced through music, art, philosophy, and theology, providing a much more well rounded perspective than books of this sort usually do. I read the series twice, taking notes the second time through, as it was the only way I could really absorb the material
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful and ahead of its time, April 3 2012
By 
Rodge (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Francis A. Schaeffer Trilogy: Three Essential Books in One Volume (Hardcover)
Schaeffer's three books contained in this volume, although they repeat their coverage of some issues, present a prescient and modern way of looking at the world of Christian evangelism. Their treatment of the arts may be somewhat dated, but the trend Schaeffer recognized has only entrenched itself in the interim. There is indeed a line of despair and our modern Western culture is firmly below it. Values are appealed to vaguely and only have meaning as a "leap of faith" into the upper story. If we want our modern culture to understand Christian thought we must first "take the roof off". As long as the current culture prevails, this book will continue to have relevance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Francis A. Schaeffer Trilogy: Three Essential Books in One Volume
A Francis A. Schaeffer Trilogy: Three Essential Books in One Volume by Francis A. Schaeffer (Hardcover - April 10 1990)
CDN$ 31.99 CDN$ 20.05
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews