Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful and ahead of its time
Schaeffer's three books contained in this volume, although they repeat their coverage of some issues, present a prescient and modern way of looking at the world of Christian evangelism. Their treatment of the arts may be somewhat dated, but the trend Schaeffer recognized has only entrenched itself in the interim. There is indeed a line of despair and our modern Western...
Published on April 3 2012 by Rodge

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Essentials Of Francis
This is a trilogy worth having. The books were written after a series of lectures given by Francis Schaffer. As a philosopher, Schaffer is minimual. He doesn't fully explain certain ideas well enough like the law of non-contradiction and sometimes his syllogism are muddled and other possibilities seem to be left out. However,there are many good things in this...
Published on Aug. 3 2000 by K.H.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful and ahead of its time, April 3 2012
By 
Rodge (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Francis A. Schaeffer Trilogy: Three Essential Books in One Volume (Hardcover)
Schaeffer's three books contained in this volume, although they repeat their coverage of some issues, present a prescient and modern way of looking at the world of Christian evangelism. Their treatment of the arts may be somewhat dated, but the trend Schaeffer recognized has only entrenched itself in the interim. There is indeed a line of despair and our modern Western culture is firmly below it. Values are appealed to vaguely and only have meaning as a "leap of faith" into the upper story. If we want our modern culture to understand Christian thought we must first "take the roof off". As long as the current culture prevails, this book will continue to have relevance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Modern Christian Mind, Dec 29 2003
By 
John Bauer (Ft. Leavenworth, KS) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Francis A. Schaeffer Trilogy: Three Essential Books in One Volume (Hardcover)
Francis Schaeffer is an outstanding Christian philosopher, a description he would insist is incorrect (He simply calls himself an evangelist). Tracing the evolution of western non-Christian thought, Schaeffer explores the spiritual shortcomings of philosophical efforts to explain humanity without a real "space-time" (human, historical) Christ. This volume gathers his earlier works written in the late sixties and early seventies. His writing is brilliant, razor sharp, and touchingly human. He never forgets the starting points of Christianity are truth and love. The writing is heavy but so relevant it can't be overlooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book changed my way of thinking!, June 9 2003
By 
Tyler Speed (Bend, OR United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Francis A. Schaeffer Trilogy: Three Essential Books in One Volume (Hardcover)
A lot of other evangelical books would have us believe that simply by reciting John 3:16, we will be met with success when trying to witness to nonbelievers. This simply does not work most of the time.
Francis Schaeffer systematically proves the existence of God and Christ. He also dissects the major philosopical and religious schools of thinking and explains their faults when faced with reality. This is not intended to be a philosophy book, however I would question the intellectual relevance of anybody who would say Francis Schaeffer is a not brilliantly educated in the matters of worldly philosophy. Try reading "How Should We Then Live", "True Spirituality", or "Genesis In Space and Time" for further Schaeffer reading. An excellent book for the neophyte Christian, or for an adolescent is "How to be a Selfish Pig", also by F.A. Schaeffer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Three-in-one, Aug. 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Francis A. Schaeffer Trilogy: Three Essential Books in One Volume (Hardcover)
Good printing quality.
The three books are all good works.
His writing is very clear and exact.
I recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Facts are FACTS, April 29 2003
This review is from: A Francis A. Schaeffer Trilogy: Three Essential Books in One Volume (Hardcover)
The FACT is that Dr Francis A. Schaeffer continues to be one of the GREATEST MINDS of the 20th century. Period.
Those who admit this and then try to pretend to disagree with some of his works "I found faults" or "it wasn't quite writen well enough" win only hoots of laughter.
They haven't got the intellectual capacity to tie his shoes and their attempts to play Judge on Schaeffer is as funny as the "Judges" of Jesus or Socrates!!
BUY the books and learn from them.
You'll NEVER get a better work outside of the Holy Bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for the Thinking Christian, Feb. 7 2002
This review is from: A Francis A. Schaeffer Trilogy: Three Essential Books in One Volume (Hardcover)
Have you ever wondered what existentialism is all about, or what the real difference between absolute and relative truth is? When is theology liberal?, when is it orthodox?, and when is it neo-orthodox? What is it that separates Reformed theology from 'Leap in the Dark' theology? Is Christian faith rational or irrational? How can I know what I believe is true, and how can I know that I know? I am not aware of any book that serves as a better introduction to these and other issues than Francis Schaeffer's Trilogy. And, of course, it paves the way for all his other books. In his own words: 'All the others fit into these as spokes of the wheel fit into the hub.'
Schaeffer remains the leading Christian apologist for the 60s generation, and has done many of us an immense favour by exposing the countercultural, flower-power utopianism of the Woodstock generation for what it was: A non-rational escape leading to nothing but despair. I first read this book as a college student and it impacted me so much that I rushed out to buy his collected works - one of the best investments of my life. If you are serious about understanding your faith, Schaeffer is a must. And if you are serious about understanding Schaeffer, his Trilogy is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How the Dispair Worlview became dominant, Jan. 11 2002
This review is from: A Francis A. Schaeffer Trilogy: Three Essential Books in One Volume (Hardcover)
(...) I am eternally grateful to FS for these books. For someone like myself, without a rigorous training in philosophy/theology/history/Art, these books offer a clear and potent explanation of the Despair Worldview (materialism, secularism, naturalism, atheism, etc.). FS traces how this insidious worldview became dominant in most aspects of life during the last few centuries. You'll enjoy and learn from the wealth of knowledge and personal experience the author had in life as a whole: art, history, philosophy, politics, theology, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Book, June 3 2001
By 
David Johnson (Redondo Beach, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Francis A. Schaeffer Trilogy: Three Essential Books in One Volume (Hardcover)
This is a great set of books. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to understand 20th century people living in the desperation that our society leaves them in. Schaeffer has a tremendous grasp of the historical context of our century, but he doesn't beat you over the head with it or use it to show how smart he is. He constantly shows how this information should be used to show LOVE to others and show them the light of Christianity in truth! He is a very tender writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the hard read, Feb. 20 2001
By 
Rick Morris (America) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Francis A. Schaeffer Trilogy: Three Essential Books in One Volume (Hardcover)
As another reviewer mentioned, this is not the world's easiest book to get through. However, it is definitely worthwhile and finally gave me some interesting thoughts about art beyond just, "Ooo, pretty painting." For the presuppositionalist apologist, a must.
Christinaphylus
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Essentials Of Francis, Aug. 3 2000
This review is from: A Francis A. Schaeffer Trilogy: Three Essential Books in One Volume (Hardcover)
This is a trilogy worth having. The books were written after a series of lectures given by Francis Schaffer. As a philosopher, Schaffer is minimual. He doesn't fully explain certain ideas well enough like the law of non-contradiction and sometimes his syllogism are muddled and other possibilities seem to be left out. However,there are many good things in this book.
He does a pretty good job in tacking how in the world , we the church, "gave over" the intellectual culture to the secular world. This he does with extreme effectiveness. His chapter on "The Importance of Truth" and his theme of "the line of despair" are important concepts and he again is effective in communicating these ideas to the reader.
Reading Schaeffer is not an easy task. One always gets the feeling that engaging him in converstaion would be, to put it mildy, a "blast." When reading his materials, however, the communcative style is static and at times, long winded. Overall, his thesis works and the book is enjoyable as the reader agrees one moment and disagrees the next. I enjoyed the book very much and desire to give it a higher rating, but, it is not written well enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Francis A. Schaeffer Trilogy: Three Essential Books in One Volume
A Francis A. Schaeffer Trilogy: Three Essential Books in One Volume by Francis A. "Schaeffer " (Hardcover - April 10 1990)
CDN$ 31.99 CDN$ 20.05
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews