Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE WESTERN WORLD AT STREET LEVEL - AND HOW IT GOT THAT WAY
Veith is perhaps the most poignant and well spoken writer I've ever read. Couple that with his mastery of this subject matter and its relevance, and you have one outstanding book. Five years ago, after growing unease at the disjointed, illogical, and - to me - inexplicable moral/ethical state of America, I consciously set out on a quest to understand the causes behind it...
Published on Feb. 12 2003 by WAYNE YUNGHANS

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good primer on postmodernism for the average reader
I thought this was a good book on postmodernism, taken with a grain of salt. It was my impression that, although the author claims postmodernism has some good points, Veith's overall view was a bit fatalistic. Also, this is more of an 'de facto' analysis from his point of view, with not much in the sense of specific application. Written from a Protestant perspective, I...
Published on April 8 2000 by Marius V


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE WESTERN WORLD AT STREET LEVEL - AND HOW IT GOT THAT WAY, Feb. 12 2003
By 
This review is from: Postmodern Times: A Christian Guide to Contemporary Thought and Culture (Paperback)
Veith is perhaps the most poignant and well spoken writer I've ever read. Couple that with his mastery of this subject matter and its relevance, and you have one outstanding book. Five years ago, after growing unease at the disjointed, illogical, and - to me - inexplicable moral/ethical state of America, I consciously set out on a quest to understand the causes behind it. This was not the first book I read, but it was (and is) the best. Veith delves deep. He deftly paints a relevant history, and in it reveals the psychological/philosophical roots of our modern 'crisis of meaning' (or in fact the lack of meaning). The story he tells so fits the world I've seen while working the streets of NYC for 15 years, and so jives with previous reading that reading it was pure excitement. I heartily recommend this book to anyone who wishes to understand the 'why' behind the apparently happenstance moral morass in which we as Americans, and Westerners find ourselves today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Optimistic Outlook in Postmodern Times, Jan. 16 2004
By 
Jim Liston (San Jose, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Postmodern Times: A Christian Guide to Contemporary Thought and Culture (Paperback)
I learned from his interesting summaries and commentary on modern and postmodern thought, art, society, and religion. The author is optimistic on Christianity surviving and flourishing in postmodern times, after Christians fought their greatest battle of the 20th century and won against the oppressive Soviet puppet masters. In the conclusion, I was pleased to read the brief quotes from Solzhenitsyn's 1978 critique, delivered at Harvard, on the spiritual emptiness of Western culture civilization and how he implores Christians to begin a "spiritual blaze."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent intro to postmodernism, Aug. 15 2003
This review is from: Postmodern Times: A Christian Guide to Contemporary Thought and Culture (Paperback)
In this book, Gene Edward Veith offers a readable and insightful look at the worldview and effects of postmodernism, which dominates much of American culture.
After first explaining the origins and characteristics of modernism, Mr. Veith then shows its decline and demise, leading to the fresh position of postmodernism. He highlights the heavy influence literary criticism had in the development of postmodernism, with deconstructionist theories reformulating how people thought about truth. This section I found particularly interesting, since I hadn't had much exposure to deconstructionism before.
Having outlined the fundamental principles of postmodernism, Mr. Veith spends the rest of the book explaining how postmodernism is revealed in our culture and what to look out for. He explains the difference between modernist and postmodernist art and architecture. He observes the explosion of postmodernism in books, music, and television. He describes postmodernism's influence on politics, spirituality, and Christianity. Pretty much every sphere of life has fallen under some segment of postmodernism's shadow, and Gene Edward Veith exposes this fact in no uncertain terms.
Mr. Veith closes his book with some practical suggestions on how Christians should interact with postmodernism. He notes that there is a degree of truth in what deconstructionists say, and it should be embraced as such. Christians should seize the true benefits postmodernism has brought in overturning modernism, and not throw them away with the system. But we must also watch for the negative effects of postmodernism, and the ways it subverts the gospel. This system of thinking is indeed quite dangerous, and Christians must be watchful, and cognizant of the peril.
Do you want to understand contemporary American culture? its overriding philosophy? its danger? If so, this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Resource, April 24 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Postmodern Times: A Christian Guide to Contemporary Thought and Culture (Paperback)
As a Doctoral student in postmodernism I would rate this book as one of the best introduction to the movement currently sweeping society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book!, March 3 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Postmodern Times: A Christian Guide to Contemporary Thought and Culture (Paperback)
This book clearly explains postmodernism by looking at from the viewpoints of art, society, culture, and theology. Veith is an excellent writer who is easy to read and comprehend. He exposes the reader to the effects of postmodernism and talks about how Christians can respond. I would encourage you to read it and see how much of society has been influenced by postmodernism ideas. You may be surprised!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Typically shallow analysis and self-serving insight., Jan. 15 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Postmodern Times: A Christian Guide to Contemporary Thought and Culture (Paperback)
Veith's understanding (and embrace of) the postmodern mind is best demonstrated by the fact that he recently wrote an article for World magazine in which he argued (seriously) that the commercialization of Christmas marks the triumph of Christian culture! I jest not. Upon first reading this piece I thought it was satire. Veith is straight right-wing, big business, triumphalist (read "ugly") Christianity. Since postmodernists love irony, it is appropriate that Veith has also written a tome on the spirituality of the cross. If it pays, it must be good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Are you a Christian confused by Postmodernism? Begin here., Oct. 17 2002
By 
Sean Mccausland "rixon7" (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Postmodern Times: A Christian Guide to Contemporary Thought and Culture (Paperback)
A dean of Concordia University in Wisconsin examines the worldview known as postmodernism (which denies the very notion of truth), shows how it is fast becoming the prominent philosophy of our culture, and explains the dangers and opportunities it presents for Christians. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Every Christian Should Own this Book, May 28 2002
By 
Christopher B. Prentiss (Portland, OR) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Postmodern Times: A Christian Guide to Contemporary Thought and Culture (Paperback)
Postmodernism is a fairly difficult term. Veith does a great job of explaining exactly what it means, and what it means to the Christian in the modern-day marketplace of ideas. I have read a number of other "primer" type of books on current philosophy and this is by far the best. It is part of a series that I am slowly working through and each book has been superb, but Veith's writing is certainly the most succint and helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The rise and influence of postmodernism today, Feb. 28 2002
By 
Joshua V. Schneider (Hawaii) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Postmodern Times: A Christian Guide to Contemporary Thought and Culture (Paperback)
An important history of thought is provided in the first part of this book, which briefly outlines the transistion from Modernism to Postmodernism. Essentially the modern era began with the Enlightenment, and claimed human reason and science could determine all truth. Postmodernism does not have such a clearcut starting point in history, although Veith gives examples of when various stages of postmodernism began. Postmodernism essentially abandons the modernist ideology of rationalism, and the existence of objective truths. He then makes an important distinction between the postmodern era and postmodernISM. He identifies postmodernism primarily as relativism, which is the philosophy that truth is relative to the individual, and therefore there are no objective truths.
Although few people are conscious of this belief system in today's society, it is subtly pervasive. Veith's four part analysis of Postmodern Thought, Art, Society, and Religion ranges from interesting to startling to mildly cynical. While I found his discussion of postmodernism to be very revealing and largely accurate, I question whether modernism is as "dead" as he suspects. Perhaps the best example I see of an extant modernist philosophy is that of methodological naturalism: a necessity for evolution. (Philip Johnson does a great job of explaining methodological naturalism in his book "The Wedge of Truth).
However, for the most part, Veith hits the nail on the head in his diagnosis of postmodernism, especially with recognizing the trend in Christianity (but perhaps in religion in general) toward consumerism and empty spirituality (lack of truth). At times the book is repetitive and somewhat pessimistic, yet Veith also has hope for the postmodern age. Christians can build their thinking and live their lives on the foundation of Christ, and share this with society, as the postmodernism's self-contradictory relativism will inevitably collapse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best intro to postmodernism & the world of shifting thought, Jan. 5 2001
By 
rodboomboom (St. Louis, Missouri United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Postmodern Times: A Christian Guide to Contemporary Thought and Culture (Paperback)
Well written introduction into the current world of thought. Vieth's excellence is in his approach from a Christian viewpoint as well as surveys such broad fields as literature, theology, art. architecture, and politics.
Veith confirms that he is apt to be a critic of postmodernism by his research and reading in each of these areas. I found his analysis of postmoderism's inroads into literature, art and architecture as extremely informative and revealing to me.
This would serve as basic reading on the subject. Libraries everywhere would be well-served to have this volume on the shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Postmodern Times: A Christian Guide to Contemporary Thought and Culture
Postmodern Times: A Christian Guide to Contemporary Thought and Culture by Jr. Gene Edward" Veith (Paperback - Feb. 15 1994)
CDN$ 21.99 CDN$ 15.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews