Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Controversy is what's really interesting.
Remember Gary Larsen's "Far Side" cartoon of the scientists dropping everything and running outside when the Good Humor truck comes by? We tend to think of scientists as beyond reproach - but they're not. They're just as emotional and jumpy as the rest of us, especially when their pet doctrines get called into question.
In Science the drill is to glom...
Published on March 23 2002 by Bruce Boatner

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource; dry reading but worth the effort
I almost gave up on reading this book, but I'm glad I didn't. Part I was definitely dry reading except for the Sheguiandah, Canada section which was interesting enough to make me forget about the writing style. Part II of the book was much easier to read. Bits of humor did make it through the writing style (grown men throwing elephant dung at one another; goldminers...
Published on Aug. 5 1999 by Joyce L. Paski


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Controversy is what's really interesting., March 23 2002
By 
Bruce Boatner (Eagle, Idaho USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Forbidden Archeology: The Full Unabridged Edition (Hardcover)
Remember Gary Larsen's "Far Side" cartoon of the scientists dropping everything and running outside when the Good Humor truck comes by? We tend to think of scientists as beyond reproach - but they're not. They're just as emotional and jumpy as the rest of us, especially when their pet doctrines get called into question.
In Science the drill is to glom onto the accepted belief system and hang on for dear life. God forbid some punky upstart like Fritjof Capra should come along and write a smart-alecky book about how Vedic texts described the same tenets as Quantum Physics a coupla thousand years ago. Or Rupert Sheldrake would have the nerve to point out that the DNA emperor has not clothes. Howls of derision. Calls for book burning in the journal "Science". Yellink und screamink.
Now I don't think it takes 900+ pages to make a point. Probably 150 would have been adequate to get everybody's bowels in an uproar. The 2-cassette audio abridgement seems to do a pretty good job. As far as the actual validity of the overall argument - who knows? The evidence proposed is probably just as valid as the official party line.
It is important to remember that all scientific revolutions go through pretty much the same drill: Scorn and derision towards those presenting novel or contrary opinions, followed by fear, panic and banishment of those individuals when it begins to appear that empirical data is supporting the new theories, then total abandonment of previously cherished notions, accompanied by jumping on the bandwagon with abandon while announcing that they'd been supporting the new idea all along.
So it's really the process that's important here. Hey, sit back and enjoy the show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource; dry reading but worth the effort, Aug. 5 1999
By 
This review is from: Forbidden Archeology: The Full Unabridged Edition (Hardcover)
I almost gave up on reading this book, but I'm glad I didn't. Part I was definitely dry reading except for the Sheguiandah, Canada section which was interesting enough to make me forget about the writing style. Part II of the book was much easier to read. Bits of humor did make it through the writing style (grown men throwing elephant dung at one another; goldminers and artifacts in poker games; erstwhile poets!?!). The appendices and bibliography are very informative. Chapters 9 and 10 (Peking Man and Cryptozoology) made the purchase of the book worth while for me. I found one error (p.320, l.6 at the end of the line - "there" should be "their"). On the whole, I give the book 3 stars and recommend it. A tremendous undertaking, well done. My commendations to the authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Best resource for anomalous paleoanthropology- a must have!, Nov. 10 1998
This review is from: Forbidden Archeology: The Full Unabridged Edition (Hardcover)
I was impressed by the thoroughness of the documentation and resource material. It is essential to good science that all of the data and background facts be available for all to evaluate. On the contrary, very few anthropology courses even suggest that this material exists. The point that the authors have well presented is that hominid paleoarcheology is one of the most subjective and "educated-guess-filled" realms of science, based on precious, relatively scarce, "hard" evidence. It is good science to continually question the favored theories; and, in general, the book is successful in its correct attempt to insert the selectively forgotten data of the history of mankind into the record for objective consideration. Any truly scientific mind should appreciate it as such.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If scienctists are truly skeptical..., Oct. 25 2001
By 
Sean F. Keating (Nitro, WV United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Forbidden Archeology: The Full Unabridged Edition (Hardcover)
Mr Cremo recently appeared on a radio interview show. To read this book, one gets the feeling he went to considerable pains to cite his sources and at the same time make the book readable for other than the lab-rat culture.
To hear the interview on radio, you are given this one golden nugget:
It is not any one instance of supression or omission that makes a case for this view of mankind's history, but rather the hundreds of well documented cases of proof that the scientific culture has it dead wrong.
Paraphrasing his words there, but the essence is in that statement.
He also has said something else that really grabbed me:
The creationists are wrong, insinuating that man has had one continuing trip through the 15000 or so years of existance from day 1 to the present.
The evolutionists are likewise wrong, and the "missing link" is their major flaw. In fact, the modern (scientific) movement has a 2-fold agenda: Advance the Chaos Theory, in which all the universe is one big happy accident, and Reduce humankind to mere animals with higher thinking abilities.
Overall, he shows us a very compelling reason why science and faith can BOTH have some of it right. In this, I have found a sense of hope. I only hope that this is the beginning of a renaissance in modern science and theology. Perhaps the knowlege I have long suspected as supressed by governments and religious institutions (read:Vatican) will yet someday come "out".
I do know this- Dogma exists in every institution. When that dogma is challenged, especially with proof, the reaction can be violent at many levels. Witness some of the other reviews...
Meethink thou doth protest too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars very conservative, Sept. 17 1998
This review is from: Forbidden Archeology: The Full Unabridged Edition (Hardcover)
I think that every archeology undergrad should find this of benefit. But don't expect Eric Von Danican. It will be slow going for most of you. But I do appreciate what the author is saying, and it's very, very valid. I even got some cartoon ideas out of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scary Pseudoscience, Sept. 28 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Forbidden Archeology: The Full Unabridged Edition (Hardcover)
I stumbled upon this title being someone of interest in alternative versions of the origin of humans (and life in general) but this book is a sheep in a wolf's clothing. It looks impressive and like it will say something, but turns out to be another sham. Although many reviewers are impressed by the multitude of "facts" in this book that uncover the deceptive secrets of scientists, in reality their argument extracts selective references from very (!) outdated evolutionary ideas or data from scholarly papers and places them out of context. The "facts" are then, with a generous amount of spin, placed into a new hypothesis that has no actual data. This book tries to show modern biology as an entrenched discipline fighting off critics of Darwin, when nothing could be further from the truth. Many of the harshest critics of Darwin's theories are biologists themselves so to pitch this book as an objective view that will "threaten the establishment of science" is ridiculous. If you are spending your time reading this book in search of a version of truth, I think you should also read a scholarly archeology textbook or talk to a practicing scientist. I can guarantee that either approach will show the paucity of the authors' data and the emptiness of their arguments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibile Views, Aug. 23 2001
This review is from: Forbidden Archeology: The Full Unabridged Edition (Hardcover)
I too have just ordered this book. Why? To locate the sites where the information has been obtained to cause Mr. Cremo to write this compendium. I am surprised by the many negative comments received against this book, and those books written by other explorative Scientists, and Researchers. If I were to choose just one book of information to congeal my ideas, then I could consider myself a fool; however I have a large and growing library of authors on similar subjects. Much is unknown about our past history, to the average citizen that is, and our Colleges have not properly educated their students for the past approximately fifty years. More about that another time. I find that the two most virulent detractors on the issue of past technologically advanced societies on this Earth, and perhaps Mars, are the Rosicrucians (upper Masonic levels) and the Fundamentalist Christians. The Rosicrucians have a large and growing economic stake in this information, for it uncovers their actions, and shines light on their idea of superiority to us rank and file inferiors. They see themselves as pre-ordained to rule the Earth, and be the supreme rulers when their leader Lucifer returns to this planet. The Christians on the other hand, tend to represent the uneducated, and non-reading group, who have a similar stake in the misapplied Creation theory. Most of them can not explain the first few verses of Genesis, let alone a real interpretation of the Scriptures. They are also led, for the most part, by people are qualified mostly for jobs as Fund Raisers, Car Salesmen, or paid consultants for various products. The timeline given for creation, does not fit any reasonable known data for archaeology, or known historical records. The Bible used by both groups, although more so by the Christians, plainly states in Genesis, that the Gods created the Heavens and the Earth, not a God as they assume. King James was a nefarious person, and should not be held as a good guy who wanted to share spiritual knowledge. He had his reason for the translation, and you can find that reason in many articles. I for one believe the statements and facts given in the Bible, but prefer the Hebrew translations for accuracy and direction. It, along with Sumerian texts, explains why we find so many Giant Mummies filling the caves in many places within the United States, and other Nations. I for one choose to seek "Right" knowledge, and thank all the authors, for whatever reason drives them, for providing me this choice information. It truly gives credence to why I choose to be "A Follower of Christ."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The scientific method is not dead yet., Sept. 21 2000
This review is from: Forbidden Archeology: The Full Unabridged Edition (Hardcover)
"Forbidden Archeology" is a superb, well-documented compendium of both the evidence favoring the conventional picture of human evolution, and the anomalous evidence that casts this picture into doubt.
Its larger significance, however, lies in its detailed documentation and analysis of one particular exampe of a disturbing phenomenon that has increasingly crippled mainstream science: the establishment of a new scientific orthodoxy, i.e. a quasi-religious belief by leading scientists in the absolute and unquestionable validity of the basic theories of their field. These theories are then elevated to "facts" of which any dissenter is accused of being ignorant, which makes for a convenient, easy dismissal of any anomalous evidence. Since any such evidence is thus automatically ineligible for publication in the proper journals, this lack of documentation is then in turn taken by researchers in the field as proof that the evidence must be of low scientific value.
With "Forbidden Archeology", Cremo and Thompson have attempted to break through this self-perpetuating cycle of ignorance and denial. The many angry dismissals by "experts" one can read on this page shows that they have done their job well. A truly educational book that will open the eyes of many who are searching for the true origins of humankind. Those who don't have the time or patience to peruse this 900-page tome should consider reading the abridged version instead. Either way, they will come to appreciate one of the fundamental tenets of true science: theory never overrides evidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The scientific method is not dead yet., Sept. 21 2000
This review is from: Forbidden Archeology: The Full Unabridged Edition (Hardcover)
"Forbidden Archeology" is a superb, well-documented compendium of both the evidence favoring the conventional picture of human evoluton, and the anomalous evidence that casts this picture into doubt.
Its larger significance, however, lies in its detailed documentation and analysis of one particular exampe of a disturbing phenomenon that has increasingly crippled mainstream science: the establishment of a new scientific orthodoxy, i.e. a quasi-religious belief by leading scientists in the absolute and unquestionable validity of the basic theories of their field. These theories are then elevated to "facts" of which any dissenter is accused of being ignorant, which makes for a convenient, easy dismissal of any anomalous evidence. Since any such evidence is thus automatically ineligible for publication in the proper journals, this lack of documentation is then in turn taken by researchers in the field as proof that the evidence must be of low scientific value.
With "Forbidden Archeology", Cremo and Thompson have attempted to break through this self-perpetuating cycle of ignorance and denial. The many angry dismissals by "experts" one can read on this page shows that they have done their job well. A truly educational book that will open the eyes of many who are searching for the true origins of humankind. Those who don't have the time or patience to peruse this 900-page tome should consider reading the abridged version instead. Either way, they will come to appreciate one of the fundamental tenets of true science: theory never overrides evidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Fascinated, then disappointed, Aug. 26 2000
This review is from: Forbidden Archeology: The Full Unabridged Edition (Hardcover)
I have recently started to research the topic of human origins... something I've always wanted to do. Never allowing myself to become too close-minded or to just accept *anything* people tell me without thought, I gathered all the info I could find. This book was perhaps the third significant item I read.
At first I was absolutely fascinated by the finds discussed in the book. They seemed soundly researched and presented ... though at odds with the other information I was researching. So I decided to research some of the specific finds discussed in the book, starting with the Hueyatlaco site. One after another, the finds presented in the book lost their "hidden" aspect.
Don't just swallow what this book says, do your own research. If you do, and are open-minded, you will be let down by this book like I was...What is really "hidden" is the authors' real agenda ... they do anything, even distort historical facts, to promote their faith. (And to think that, at first, I thought they were open-minded! Man, was I fooled.)
Very, very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Forbidden Archeology: The Full Unabridged Edition
Forbidden Archeology: The Full Unabridged Edition by Richard L. Thompson (Hardcover - Dec 15 1998)
CDN$ 49.50 CDN$ 31.04
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews