Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent collection of simple soups
This cook book has a very good collection of simple soups (mostly vegetarian) that can be made quite easily. They are grouped by month and take advantage of the fresh produce that are in season. One of the great benefits of these recipes is that most of the ingredients are relatively inexpensive and healthy (e.g., carrots, onions, celery, beans). The recipes vary a...
Published on Jan. 25 2002 by Westley

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars not reliable
A few soups are good (e.g., the parsnip soup), but many are quite flavourless. Perhaps useful in a library, but not a high priority. I have made many more poor soups from this book than tasty ones.
Published on Dec 25 2002 by Michael D


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent collection of simple soups, Jan. 25 2002
By 
Westley (Stuck in my head) - See all my reviews
This cook book has a very good collection of simple soups (mostly vegetarian) that can be made quite easily. They are grouped by month and take advantage of the fresh produce that are in season. One of the great benefits of these recipes is that most of the ingredients are relatively inexpensive and healthy (e.g., carrots, onions, celery, beans). The recipes vary a great deal in taste, although many have similar ingredient lists. A great testiment to the diversity of soup. I have, however, noticed that many of the recipes call for a rather large portion of oil and turn out somewhat greasy. I recommend cutting the oil if it seems excessive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best soup I've ever made., May 8 2004
By A Customer
I received Twelve Months of Monastery Soups as a gift for Christmas and I love it. Most of the soups have been a big hit for everyone in my family. I highly recommend this book. The recipes are easy with usually only two or three steps for each soup. I have found a couple of soups that I didn't like in here, but the overwhelming majority of them have been excellent. I especially love the Cream of Broccoli and Cream of Asparagus as well as the Potage du Jardin and Spinach Soup. I think I'm going to buy this book as a gift for several of my friends and family, since I think it was a great gift choice for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical soup from a practical monk, Aug. 19 2000
By 
M. J. Smith (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Twelve Months of Monastery Soups: International Favorites (Hardcover)
Twelve Months of Monastery Soups is an excellent, seasonally based cookbook for practical soup making. However, you must take its estimation of servings as dubious - his "two servings" is eight servings as a meal in my house. Three things separate this volume from other soup cookbooks: (1) the soups are arranged by month that the ingrediants would be readily available in your garden or green grocer's. (2) the recipes are international but are the cooking "of the people" not of exotic chefs (3) delightful line drawings, quotations, odds bits of trivia etc. are sprinkled throughout the pages.
To give you a flavor of the variety of recipes presented: for March we find a German Saint Lioba Beer and Mushroom Soup, a Spicy (East) Indian Soup, a Basic Onion Soup, a Tuscan Green Vegetable Minestrone, an Everyday Potato Soup, a Garlic Soup, a Lima Bean Soup, a Beguine Cream Soup, a Saint Patrick Irish Cheddar Soup ... All the recipes are easily made; they have clear instructions and ingrediate lists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soup is Good Food, Feb. 20 2003
By 
Nothing warms the spirit like a bowl of soup and this book is a special joy -- filled with simple and delicious recipes for the ultimate comfort food. The recipes are organized by the months of the year to emphasize seasonal preferences and produce availability. Turn to January for great hot soups and stews in the cold months, look for lighter choices and some wonderful cold soups in the summer chapters. There are 175 (!) soup recipes in this book, all simple enough to prepare every day for your family and many elegant (yet still easy to prepare) for entertaining. The Vegetable stock in this cook book is the best and most flavorful I've ever tried and I freeze tons of it in four-cup ziplock freezer bags to use in vegetarian dishes.
The recipes are meant to be experimented with and the author gives great advice for substitutions and seasoning in the preface. Because of the special emphasis on seasonal availability of produce this cook book is the perfect choice for the kitchen gardener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasure to read!, Dec 27 1999
Never can you go through this cookbook just once. There are so many recipes to choose from that are both healthful, delicious, and fun to make. The author has opened a window onto new cultures. Not only does the book contain recipes, but I was delighted to find scriptures about the soups themsleves: advice on how to prepare them, when they should be served, and things about the cultures where the soups come from. I enjoyed the poems woven throughout the book that made it even more special. A word of thanks must go out to Victor Antonie D'Avila Latourrette. You have brought great pleasure into cooking through many wonderful recipes that I would love to try over and over. One word of advice: some of the soups come out slightly bland. Experiment with the ingredients until you are satisfyed. This is the the NUMBER 1 book to have on a cookbook shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine cuisine from the monastery, July 23 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Twelve Months of Monastery Soups: International Favorites (Hardcover)
This is a great cookbook of soups. In
today's diet-conscious environment,
many make a meal out of soup or soup and a salad. Try this cookbook
for a wonderful variety of soups that are excellent as written; or, you may
wish to alter the ingredients to meet your own dietary plan. Buy a copy for each of your children or each of your very best friends. Everyone who receives this book, from the monastery, will be offering up prayers of thanks in your behalf! Read it first, shop for the ingredients, simmer the
soup, and ENJOY! From Betty Hengemuehler, one of Amazon's best customers and supporters. If only there was a way to send the great
Amazon Customer Service Staff a
pot of one of these delicious soups
via e-mail!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best soup book in a long while, July 24 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Twelve Months of Monastery Soups: International Favorites (Hardcover)
A soup cookbook that has to please almost everyone who enjoys soups.
I am providing all of my grown children and close friends with a copy.
The recipes come from the monastery but your friends and family will also be praying thanks for such a great gift. I have personally tried 40% of the recipes and not a dud in that bunch! Make a large pot on the weekend, freeze in serving portions, and enjoy with a salad at the end of a hectic day. Healthy and delicious
recipes - one cookbook that will not sit on the shelf, I guarantee! Makes a
great holiday, hostess, shower or
thank you gift. Have I convinced you? Enjoy! P.S. This is a non-
denominational cookbook!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soup never tasted so good, Aug. 8 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Twelve Months of Monastery Soups: International Favorites (Hardcover)
This book offers an astonishing variety of healthful and tasty soups. Some soups have complex flavors and others are elegantly simple. All the recipes I have tried have been worth making again (and again, and again...)
Every winter I make many batches of the book's parsnip soup (parsnips and potatoes accented with curry), and guests ALWAYS rave about it, though they are never able to identify the ingredients!
Whether you want to give a gift that's sure to be a hit or simply want to feed your family well, this is the cookbook for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Book: simple and delicious, Dec 17 1999
By A Customer
This book is really fantastic, for those who want simple, tasty (mostly) vegetarian meals. Most of the recepies here call for very few ingredients, most of which are easily obtained, but all of the soups I've tried have been great. Also, the book itself is very pretty, and has several very nice decorative woodcuts throughout. This is a rare treat for anyone who has spent significant time with most vegetian cookbooks, which contain recepies so complicated and time consuming that no normal person can deal with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best soups ever made! And you can create them too., April 6 1998
By A Customer
After being referred to as the "Soup Natzi" a la Seinfield, by my family, I can heartily reccomend this book to EVERYONE.

There is not a recipe in this book that falls flat. Clearly written, easy to follow recipes. And even better: all the recipes are filling, hearty, and very tasty.

I have had this book for 3 weeks now, have made a soup just about every day, and have not regretted even one of them. After trying these recipes you'll discover you're a soup lover, even if you hated soup before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Twelve Months of Monastery Soups: International Favorites
Twelve Months of Monastery Soups: International Favorites by Brother Victor-Antoine D'Avila-Latourrette (Hardcover - June 27 2002)
CDN$ 29.95 CDN$ 17.24
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews