Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Timeless Reference
This is a great book that has a lot of timeless and priceless info on food and its effects on our physical body and our consciousness. It was written years ago, but one point the author makes is that we should take our advice on diet from those cultures who have been living and eating healthfully for thousands of years instead of jumping on the latest nutrition trend...
Published on July 10 2000 by Tom Jones

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A waste of money!
I am a recent graduate in Holistic Nutrition and have read many books on the subject and I would like to say save your money on this one!!

This book is definitely outdated although some of the information is useful (like the section on fiber and its different kinds and sources), I found it rather boring to read. There is alot of reference to history regarding...
Published 18 months ago by Holistic Nutritionist Graduate


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Timeless Reference, July 10 2000
This review is from: Diet and Nutrition: A Holistic Approach (Paperback)
This is a great book that has a lot of timeless and priceless info on food and its effects on our physical body and our consciousness. It was written years ago, but one point the author makes is that we should take our advice on diet from those cultures who have been living and eating healthfully for thousands of years instead of jumping on the latest nutrition trend that originated three years ago. Who knows how the trendy thinking on diet, which originated in the past several years, will pan out over coming decades? Since this book's publication, several of its ideas have first fallen out of fashion only to be later praised by nutrition gurus. Overall it's an important read and reference for anyone interested in holistic health.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a real page-turner, April 22 2000
This review is from: Diet and Nutrition: A Holistic Approach (Paperback)
This book is an encyclopedia of information, but I read it front-to-back like a novel. Not only does it describe the different food groups, vitamins and minerals, but it also explains the digestive process and how nutrients are absorbed by the body. Scientific principles are explained in a way that anyone can understand. As far as the information being outdated, the human body today works the same way that it did 20 years ago, so the information is still relevant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A waste of money!, March 24 2013
This review is from: Diet and Nutrition: A Holistic Approach (Paperback)
I am a recent graduate in Holistic Nutrition and have read many books on the subject and I would like to say save your money on this one!!

This book is definitely outdated although some of the information is useful (like the section on fiber and its different kinds and sources), I found it rather boring to read. There is alot of reference to history regarding different ethnic groups and their discoveries, thoughts and ways of doing things ( such as Ayurvedic references, Ancient teachings of the east, is a phrase used alot in this book) as well as alot of reference to scientific research that was done in the 1920's and 1940's, some of which is irrelevant today.

I stopped reading this book as I was afraid to learn something that is potentially wrong today!!!!!

There are so many better up to date and current books out there, like "Prescription for Nutritional Healing by Phylis A. Balch fifth edition. Or Encyclopedia of natural Medicine by Micheal Murray and Joseph Pizzorno that deal with disorders and what you can do to heal yourself through food and supplementation as well as a ton of useful information about what natural medicine is, what a healthy lifestyle should include, the basics of a health promoting diet, entire chapters on detoxification, digestion and elimination, your liver and how it detoxifies the body, an entire chapter devoted to immune support, stress management and so MUCH MORE it is a great go to source of current information backed by recent research and clinical trials which are referenced throughout the book!!!

Another good book is "Winning the food fight" By Joey Shulman ( a canadian Dr) it has excellent information for parents as it deals with namely childrens issues but also has a ton of good information for anyone looking for answers on eating better, and what to eat to stay healthy and have a strong immune system and lots of energy, she explains the why's behind alot of questions and its written in an easy to ready format. She also has another great book ou called "Healthy Sin foods" another great book packed with great information and talks about individual foods and why they are good for you and what makes them a super food. Like strawberries, and chocolate! I hope you found this review helpful!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Packed full of Information, April 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diet and Nutrition: A Holistic Approach (Paperback)
It is a long read, but fundamental for those studying nutrition. A lot of medical terms to understand. The paperback copy is much easier to carry about!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Just ok, March 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diet and Nutrition: A Holistic Approach (Paperback)
I bought this book and in the end, not what I completely expected. It does have some really great information but doesn't keep your focus very well. I'm still glad I purchased it because I'm always looking to learn more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good but outdated, July 25 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diet and Nutrition: A Holistic Approach (Paperback)
The information in this book is very vast and a lot of it is useful. However, since the book was printed decades ago, the research mentioned is quite old, and some has even been disproven. For instance, the author states that it is better to nurse a baby for 3-6 months only, before switching to cow's milk. There's also quite a bit of speculation on the author's part, so take everything with a grain of salt (not too much or you would die of high blood pressure). I would go for a newer book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Educational & Informative, July 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diet and Nutrition: A Holistic Approach (Paperback)
I bought book for a school assignment I really enjoyed the knowledge I gained from reading the book.
I am happy to add this book to my collection of health books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but outdated?, Dec 29 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Diet and Nutrition: A Holistic Approach (Paperback)
Since the book is over 20 years old, I am concerned that the information is now outdated. Does anyone have any comments regarding this issue?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Diet and Nutrition: A Holistic Approach
Diet and Nutrition: A Holistic Approach by Rudolph Ballentine (Paperback - Jan. 25 2007)
CDN$ 19.95 CDN$ 15.96
Usually ships in 2 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews