Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The cookbook I use most often
I've got a bookcase filled with cookbooks I've collected over the years, and this is the one I use most, for every day, entertaining, and pot luck dishes. It always proves to be a favorite housewarming, bridal shower or hostess gift - everyone I've given it to raves about it.
What distinguishes "The New York Cookbook" is that it is a well researched and...
Published on Sept. 18 2003

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Huge waste of time and money
If you want to spend 4 times as much money, 8 times as much time, and 12 times as much frustration trying to serve something that your guests will ultimately "politely refuse"--THEN BUY THIS BOOK! The author clearly has NO CLUE that "less is often more."
Published on Nov. 28 2002 by Nancy O'Connell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The cookbook I use most often, Sept. 18 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: New York Cookbook: From Pelham Bay to Park Avenue, Firehouses to Four-Star Restaurants (Paperback)
I've got a bookcase filled with cookbooks I've collected over the years, and this is the one I use most, for every day, entertaining, and pot luck dishes. It always proves to be a favorite housewarming, bridal shower or hostess gift - everyone I've given it to raves about it.
What distinguishes "The New York Cookbook" is that it is a well researched and imaginative experience as varied, surprising and unique as my home city is - filled with ethnic groups, suprising combinations and a multitude of flavors and experiences that are never boring. The recipes, tips and stories are always refreshing and enlightening - rarely bland, and interesting and appealing for every occasion. From "quick cook" everyday meals to elaborate celebrations, you'll find the best of the best in "The New York Cookbook." And wonderful cross-section of interviews and stories will make you feel like you're right at home in the kitchens and a regular guest in the restaurants spotlighted in this wonderful book.
I wish that there was a follow up to this book, as well as others by the very imaginative and energetic author/editor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, Jan. 11 2001
This review is from: New York Cookbook: From Pelham Bay to Park Avenue, Firehouses to Four-Star Restaurants (Paperback)
For years, Molly O'Neill wrote the food page of the New York Times Magazine, and this book is essentially her collected wisdom, a valuable addition indeed to any culinary shelf.
The cookbook looks and feels like it should be a more modern version of an American staple-food cookbook such as The Joy Of Cooking. It isn't glossy or elaborately photographed, but once you open it up, you realize you're in a different league of cuisine. Thanks to New York's immigrant traditions it doesn't focus on any particular national cuisine - instead giving recipes for the food you find in the City; everything from latkes to jerk chicken to asian-influenced noodle dishes. Every recipe I've tried has worked marvelously, and few of them are terribly difficult. The recipes are broken down by course/type of food (e.g. pasta) rather than region of origin.
She's included little anecdotes about food, life in New York, and the lives of some of the chefs whose recipes she's included in the book. Unlike many, this cookbook is actually amusing to read.
On a side note, the cookbook had a cameo in the recent movie "Proof of Life."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great food from just about everywhere, March 24 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: New York Cookbook: From Pelham Bay to Park Avenue, Firehouses to Four-Star Restaurants (Paperback)
I haven't always been impressed with Molly O'Neill's food column in the New York Times magazine: while it's always interesting, the food is frequently complicated and relies heavily on expensive, obscure ingredients. This book came as a pleasant surprise, therefore. This is one of those rare cookbooks that is both a joy to read and a genuine source of recipes. I'm a pretty novice cook, and everything I've cooked from this book has been a success. This is also one of the few all-purpose cookbooks I've encountered that's genuinely international. And Katherine Hepburn supplied O'Neill with the best brownie recipe I've ever encountered. I keep this cookbook on my kitchen counter, and I've given a copy to my mother. I can't think of higher praise than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars New York Cookbook has no fear, Aug. 26 2000
This review is from: New York Cookbook: From Pelham Bay to Park Avenue, Firehouses to Four-Star Restaurants (Paperback)
My wife and I have numerous cookbooks and we often are forced to season everything "to taste". When cooking from this book the food comes out with flavor. Along with flavor the book also provides recipes that other cookbooks would not advertise because they are too intense. One such recipe is a cake that requires 4 blocks of chocolate and 16 eggs. This recipe would not rank high on the health rating scale but is delicious. My recomendation is if you think the recipes from Better Homes & Gardens are "sinful" or "spicy" stay away from the New York Cookbook but you are looking for something more....enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Food Guide to NYC, Sept. 29 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: New York Cookbook: From Pelham Bay to Park Avenue, Firehouses to Four-Star Restaurants (Paperback)
Molly O'Neill's first book remains her best. In my 2-year-old cookbook collection, which numbers around 250, this is one of the books I look to most often for new recipes. If this is a community cookbook, it is the greatest ever written. While it shares great recipes for such local delights as brisket, Russian Tea Room chicken Kiev, and black-and-white cookies, it also has a dynamite Peking Duck recipe and an excellent dessert section. Above all, though, there's the commentary- wonderful essays on the food that makes New York City so tasty, from chicken soup to cheesecake. Even if you've never been there, this should be on your bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just reading it will almost satisfy you!, Dec 30 2003
By 
P. B. Russo "makeup diva" (Atlantic Highlands, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New York Cookbook: From Pelham Bay to Park Avenue, Firehouses to Four-Star Restaurants (Paperback)
Wow! I live about 20 minutes from NYC, and travel there frequently to dine. The recipes in this book truly are the best of the best of the various ethnic delights available to the visitor. Every recipe in this book that I've tried has been wonderful! The stories about each recipe give the book a sense of true authenticity, and the 'articles' interspersed throughout are fabulous reading. As an avid cookbook collector, I am surprised at how frequently I return to this book to choose something new to try. Definitely a must have on any cook's shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection of Recipes and Stories, Oct. 26 2001
By 
Valerie S. "gravehearted" (Campbell, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: New York Cookbook: From Pelham Bay to Park Avenue, Firehouses to Four-Star Restaurants (Paperback)
This is a very fun cookbook to read, there are so many interesting stories about foods, stores and people in New York. There are many recipes I love from this cookbook; including Oscar De La Rente's Pumpkin & Crabmeat Soup, Tessie's Pastitcio, Carrot Top's Carrot cake and the many cheesecake recipes. I have found the recipes to be excellent and have never had problems with any of them. This is a wonderful gift for people who live or grew up in NY as it has great nostaligic info. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and Entertaining, May 20 2001
By 
Helene Gelman "heleneg" (New City, New York USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New York Cookbook: From Pelham Bay to Park Avenue, Firehouses to Four-Star Restaurants (Paperback)
First of all, this book is worth its weight in gold just for the brisket recipie alone! (try Haina's Sure-fire Brisket - its easy and super!) Not only does this book have a great variety of multi-ethnic recipies, but it has interesting sections on different aspects of New York cooking. It's a great read and has super recipies.
Also, Catherine Hepburn's brownies are fabulous and Carrot Top carrot cake will make a carrot cake lover out of anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS A FUN BOOK! RECIPES PLUS LOTS OF FUN "CHATTY" TEXT., Nov. 19 2000
By 
T. Reinhardt "olivia lee" (east coast) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New York Cookbook: From Pelham Bay to Park Avenue, Firehouses to Four-Star Restaurants (Paperback)
This is one of my favorite cookbooks. I love the chatty, prose style in this book that is more a tour of New Yorks culture than a typical cook-book. There are winner recipes in the matzo ball contest....soul food recipes...recipes from a famous street soup vendor and the histories of all these people. It is a wonderful collection of stories and recipes and of people that make New York, New York.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Regional Cookbook, Aug. 4 2000
By 
Stephanie Manley (Houston, TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New York Cookbook: From Pelham Bay to Park Avenue, Firehouses to Four-Star Restaurants (Paperback)
This cookbook has a great variety of recipes. Some are from individuals, and some from famous restaurants. This book is well written, and well organized. It has small stories of authors of recipes which are a wonderful addition to the book. Test recipes have turned out extremely well. I would highly recommend this book to anyone that wants a small taste of New York.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New York Cookbook: From Pelham Bay to Park Avenue, Firehouses to Four-Star Restaurants
CDN$ 25.50 CDN$ 15.99
Usually ships in 11 to 14 days
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews