Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Just reading it will almost satisfy you!
Wow! I live about 20 minutes from NYC, and travel there frequently to dine. The recipes in this book truly are the best of the best of the various ethnic delights available to the visitor. Every recipe in this book that I've tried has been wonderful! The stories about each recipe give the book a sense of true authenticity, and the 'articles' interspersed throughout...
Published on Dec 30 2003 by P. B. Russo

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Huge waste of time and money
If you want to spend 4 times as much money, 8 times as much time, and 12 times as much frustration trying to serve something that your guests will ultimately "politely refuse"--THEN BUY THIS BOOK! The author clearly has NO CLUE that "less is often more."
Published on Nov. 28 2002 by Nancy O'Connell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Just reading it will almost satisfy you!, Dec 30 2003
By 
P. B. Russo "makeup diva" (Atlantic Highlands, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New York Cookbook: From Pelham Bay to Park Avenue, Firehouses to Four-Star Restaurants (Paperback)
Wow! I live about 20 minutes from NYC, and travel there frequently to dine. The recipes in this book truly are the best of the best of the various ethnic delights available to the visitor. Every recipe in this book that I've tried has been wonderful! The stories about each recipe give the book a sense of true authenticity, and the 'articles' interspersed throughout are fabulous reading. As an avid cookbook collector, I am surprised at how frequently I return to this book to choose something new to try. Definitely a must have on any cook's shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The cookbook I use most often, Sept. 18 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: New York Cookbook: From Pelham Bay to Park Avenue, Firehouses to Four-Star Restaurants (Paperback)
I've got a bookcase filled with cookbooks I've collected over the years, and this is the one I use most, for every day, entertaining, and pot luck dishes. It always proves to be a favorite housewarming, bridal shower or hostess gift - everyone I've given it to raves about it.
What distinguishes "The New York Cookbook" is that it is a well researched and imaginative experience as varied, surprising and unique as my home city is - filled with ethnic groups, suprising combinations and a multitude of flavors and experiences that are never boring. The recipes, tips and stories are always refreshing and enlightening - rarely bland, and interesting and appealing for every occasion. From "quick cook" everyday meals to elaborate celebrations, you'll find the best of the best in "The New York Cookbook." And wonderful cross-section of interviews and stories will make you feel like you're right at home in the kitchens and a regular guest in the restaurants spotlighted in this wonderful book.
I wish that there was a follow up to this book, as well as others by the very imaginative and energetic author/editor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite Cookbooks!, Jan. 20 2003
By 
karen (San Pablo, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: New York Cookbook: From Pelham Bay to Park Avenue, Firehouses to Four-Star Restaurants (Paperback)
Molly O'Neill's cookbook yields a melting pot of flavors and cooking styles that can only come from New York. Along with excellent recipes, the book is accented with neighborhood stories from which they originate. It's truly a pleasure to read and of course, cook up these marvelous "tastes of america". A staple for every cooks bookshelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Huge waste of time and money, Nov. 28 2002
By 
This review is from: New York Cookbook: From Pelham Bay to Park Avenue, Firehouses to Four-Star Restaurants (Paperback)
If you want to spend 4 times as much money, 8 times as much time, and 12 times as much frustration trying to serve something that your guests will ultimately "politely refuse"--THEN BUY THIS BOOK! The author clearly has NO CLUE that "less is often more."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the BEST!!!, Aug. 5 2002
By 
This review is from: New York Cookbook: From Pelham Bay to Park Avenue, Firehouses to Four-Star Restaurants (Paperback)
As a freelance Caterer this book is one of my all time favorites! I have given copies to many friends and family members. The black & white cookies are to die for. I have made so many of the recipes in this book and ALL of them are fantastic! Try the soups you'll love them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of my very favorites, Jan. 13 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: New York Cookbook: From Pelham Bay to Park Avenue, Firehouses to Four-Star Restaurants (Paperback)
I have used this cookbook for several years and it is reliably wonderful. Well researched, the recipes are all fabulous original ethnic favorites. My best cacciatore, marinara, chicken paprikash, etc. all from immigrants to our wonderful country. Really a jewel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection of Recipes and Stories, Oct. 26 2001
By 
Valerie S. "gravehearted" (Campbell, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: New York Cookbook: From Pelham Bay to Park Avenue, Firehouses to Four-Star Restaurants (Paperback)
This is a very fun cookbook to read, there are so many interesting stories about foods, stores and people in New York. There are many recipes I love from this cookbook; including Oscar De La Rente's Pumpkin & Crabmeat Soup, Tessie's Pastitcio, Carrot Top's Carrot cake and the many cheesecake recipes. I have found the recipes to be excellent and have never had problems with any of them. This is a wonderful gift for people who live or grew up in NY as it has great nostaligic info. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Food Guide to NYC, Sept. 29 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: New York Cookbook: From Pelham Bay to Park Avenue, Firehouses to Four-Star Restaurants (Paperback)
Molly O'Neill's first book remains her best. In my 2-year-old cookbook collection, which numbers around 250, this is one of the books I look to most often for new recipes. If this is a community cookbook, it is the greatest ever written. While it shares great recipes for such local delights as brisket, Russian Tea Room chicken Kiev, and black-and-white cookies, it also has a dynamite Peking Duck recipe and an excellent dessert section. Above all, though, there's the commentary- wonderful essays on the food that makes New York City so tasty, from chicken soup to cheesecake. Even if you've never been there, this should be on your bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and Entertaining, May 20 2001
By 
Helene Gelman "heleneg" (New City, New York USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New York Cookbook: From Pelham Bay to Park Avenue, Firehouses to Four-Star Restaurants (Paperback)
First of all, this book is worth its weight in gold just for the brisket recipie alone! (try Haina's Sure-fire Brisket - its easy and super!) Not only does this book have a great variety of multi-ethnic recipies, but it has interesting sections on different aspects of New York cooking. It's a great read and has super recipies.
Also, Catherine Hepburn's brownies are fabulous and Carrot Top carrot cake will make a carrot cake lover out of anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars New York food in a book!, May 12 2001
By 
Jeanne (Dublin, OH United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: New York Cookbook: From Pelham Bay to Park Avenue, Firehouses to Four-Star Restaurants (Paperback)
I am a New York native, born and bred, and was almost shocked to find so many recipes that turn out foods that taste just like I remember! Molly has captured the essence of New York City's incredible variety of foods. I love it! I love it! I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3e106d8)

This product

New York Cookbook: From Pelham Bay to Park Avenue, Firehouses to Four-Star Restaurants
CDN$ 25.50 CDN$ 16.07
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews