Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An apocalyptic vision to which attention must be paid
To state first things first: America Alone has got to be the most important book published in a generation.
It sets forth--through compelling argument and exhaustive detail--a chilling scenario of an inexorable, Islamist supplanting of the Western world (save, perhaps, of America alone) by a demographic and ideological tsunami that will lead to "a long Arabian...
Published on Jan. 27 2008 by J. Wayne Eyre

versus
12 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrendous claptrap
A ridiculous book. A hodgepodge of barely coherent sentences adding up to a Manichean screed that can be summed up as follows: "America is great. Everyone else is stupid." Steyn is particularly ludicrous in his criticism of Robert Fisk (one of the most highly decorated journalists in the world) whom he describes as being "almost always wrong." Of course, no details are...
Published on Oct. 27 2008 by Skeptic Critic


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An apocalyptic vision to which attention must be paid, Jan. 27 2008
By 
J. Wayne Eyre (Saskatoon, Saskatchewan Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: America Alone: The End of the World As We Know It (Hardcover)
To state first things first: America Alone has got to be the most important book published in a generation.
It sets forth--through compelling argument and exhaustive detail--a chilling scenario of an inexorable, Islamist supplanting of the Western world (save, perhaps, of America alone) by a demographic and ideological tsunami that will lead to "a long Arabian Night" comparable to the Dark Ages.
Despite its singular excellence and its importance to the Western world, America Alone apparently has been under-reviewed in the media. Well, the West ignores the message of this book at its grievous peril--which very likely is precisely what it's doing, given the incredible degree to which the Islamic imams are being accommodated and appeased these days, in Europe especially.
Whether Steyn proves to be the voice who finally wakes the soft, self-indulgent West from its slumber or a modern-day Cassandra whom few pay attention to remains to be seen. (But anyone with any familiarity with contemporary Euro-think already knows what the favoured response will be.)
Mark Steyn ought to be given some sort of Nobel Prize. But, again, so deep is the blinding, jealousy-born hatred of the United States in Europe that such an idea would be risible Over There. As many have pointed out, Steyn somehow manages to lay down his apocalyptic vision with hilarious word play and ribaldry, but his vision is apocalyptic nevertheless and attention must be paid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars America is facing a life-and-death struggle., Dec 25 2007
This review is from: America Alone: The End of the World As We Know It (Hardcover)
In Mark Steyn's new book: America Alone: The End of the World as We Know It, he argues that there will soon be a conflict between the U.S. and the rest of the world. European and Islamic anti-Americanism, Mark Steyn says, threatens to leave us isolated in the world: the global situation is rapidly reaching a point at which America will have to confront the enemies of civilization without help from anyone else. And when the world is divided between America and the rest, all those who don't want to see the world plunge into a new Dark Age should pray that America wins. Mark Steyn provides a well-thought out argument to just how bad things are likely to get, and what we must do now to ensure that our children and live in freedom. Mark presents a great deal of insight, below are a few:
* The likely outcome of today's global situation, in which Islam is militarily weak but ideologically confident -- while the West is militarily strong but ideologically insecure,
* The correlation between the structural weaknesses of the social-democratic state and the rise of a globalized Islam.
* How the terrorist attacks in Madrid in 2004 and London in 2005 - along with other events such as the murder of Theo van Gogh -- were the opening shots of a European civil war.
* The little-noticed reason why America's European allies failed to grasp the significance of September 11.
* How oil isn't the principal Saudi export, Islamic jihad ideology is -- and our oil money bankrolls its spread.
* Why it is so important for Americans and others who want their families to enjoy the blessings of life in a free society to understand that the life we've led since 1945 in the Western world is very rare in human history.
Much of the Westernized world will not survive the twenty-first century, and much of it will effectively disappear within our lifetimes--including most European countries. In Mark Steyn's America Alone: The End of the World as We Know It, he shows how this process is already advanced, and explains that whether we like the New Order in Europe and the world depends on whether America can summon the will to shape at least part of the emerging global picture. If not, well ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


90 of 97 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great read, with a few minor problems, Oct. 21 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: America Alone: The End of the World As We Know It (Hardcover)
America Alone is a wonderful book. One that should be widely read. There are a number of points made in the book that are quite important and unique.

1. Demographics

Mark Steyn doesn't believe demographics can explain everything. But he thinks it can explain a good 90%, and he makes a pretty strong case for it.

The facts are that the birthrates in most of the western world are well below replacement rates, while the birthrates in most of the Middle East are well above. This fact, coupled with increasing rates if immigration to the west from parts of the world where the general population is quite antithetical to western values (freedom, democracy etc.) will inevitably lead to confrontation.

2. Cultural confidence

In the west, multiculturalism is law. Literally. It is the sacred cow of the elite that no one dares question. Well, except perhaps Mark Steyn and a few others.

The basic point made in America Alone is that in a clash of cultures where one is self confident and aggressive while the other is self-abasing and passive, odds are on the former. Regardless of what technological and economic advantages the latter may have.

These are very strong points. One may certainly disagree with them (as I do, in many ways) but one can't argue that they are not worth discussing, and this book is a great addition to the debate.

That being said, there are also a few things about the book I found quite irritating.

1. Content

It seems as though the majority of the book was taken verbatim from Steyn's old columns. If you have been a close reader of his work in the last few years, you will find almost no new content here, and certainly no new ideas. Everything that Steyn says in this book, he has already said (many times) in his columns.

2. Repetition

It's the demographics. Russia has a 1.1 fertility rate. America has 2.1. It's the demographics. Russia is dying. America has a chance. Russia has a 1.1 fertility rate. It's the demographics. America has a 2.1 fertility rate.

We get it!!!

Some statistics are quite literally repeated a dozen times throughout the book. It becomes almost unbearable at times, when you're reading the same point being made ad nauseum.

3. Rigor

If you're going to play statistician, at least make a serious go at it. Many of the statistics cited in this book are plucked out at random and never explored beyond the superficial level. I'm not saying it's necessary to spend 50 pages on analysis, but if you're making a serious claim like the notion that no culture has ever recovered from a fertility rate below 1.3 children per woman, you might want to spend more than two sentences talking about it. How about addressing some of the more common objections, and exploring why this is the case?

In any case, the above are fairly minor objections, in comparison to all that is good about this book. Overall this book was a great read and is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily One of the Best Books of the Decade, Dec 19 2007
By 
This review is from: America Alone: The End of the World As We Know It (Hardcover)
It's rare that something this good comes along. This book has garnered a lot of reviews so I won't get into details as to why my opinion largely mirrors that of the Books in Canada reviewer. If you think the world has bigger problems than global warming then this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The REAL "tipping point", May 14 2007
By 
Number 6 (Ajax, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: America Alone: The End of the World As We Know It (Hardcover)
Mr. Steyn has a way of using humour to slice through the fog created by the self-annointed guides of civilization. His well-researched commentary shows trends that will, even if not precicely as Mr. Steyn suggests, loom largely in the next generation or two. Long after carbon credits become the next "pet rock" of the history books, the demographic picture illuminated by Mr. Steyn may indeed become the conventional wisdom. Mr. Steyn suggests that if the Western culture stems the tide of its own self-hatred, the demographic "tipping point" may yet be avoided. I'm not sure I see a case for optimism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mark Steyn simply rocks, May 21 2008
I bought this book after Macleans magazine was brought before the Ontario Human Rights Commission. I would therefore like to thank the litigants for introducing me to Mark Steyn.

The book is often criticized as being anti-Islamic. I came away with the impression that it is a critique of the "West" and it's weak-kneed response to some of the more unacceptable practices that some immigrants bring with them and try to implement in Western countries.

Before you dismiss this book as the ravings of a "flagrantly islamophobic" "Right Wing Blowhard," know this: there are many immigrants and/or Muslims who agree with him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Factual, Excellent, Eloquent and Convincing, Sept. 6 2008
A great book that deal with the threat of Islamofascism, demographic decline of the western world and moral problems of the western societies. A highly recommended book for the westerners to finally wake up to the facts and take the correct path. America Alone is the best political book of the year 2006.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mark Steyn is not alone, Nov. 12 2008
By 
D Glover (northern bc, canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: America Alone: The End of the World As We Know It (Hardcover)
Mark Steyn has done the world a favour and called a spade a spade. Radical (or consistent) Islam as a world-and-life view is a threat to life and liberty for the lazy and lethargic west and we need to engage in this war of worldviews. If this book doesn't open your eyes to the self induced death culture of the west and the giant on the door step waiting to fill the vacuum then you probably don't have any eyes. And if you still aren't convinced that this book is worth your time and effort, the fact that various ultra-liberal, extreme-politically correct, let's-all-hold-hands-and-hug-each-other human rights commissions in Canada have entertained charges against the opinions expressed between its covers (you know, wacky and far-fetched stuff like radical Islam wants to see the eradication or subjection of all who disagree with them) ought to tell you something of the merits of this volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some valid points...some problems, Oct. 11 2009
Steyn's book hammers home the points that A. Islamic values are NOT compatible with Western, liberal-democratic, pluralistic society, B. thanks to mass immigration and culturally-high Islamic birthrates, Western societies are being Islamicized, and C. the multi-culti policies of the post-WW II era are enabling Islamicization. He DOES have that right. However, there are a few very serious issues with both this book and some of Steyn's assumptions.

First of all, there is the typical conservative silence over Ronald Reagan's role in creating the Mujaheddin-cum-Taliban, as well as how the Bushes' successful efforts to extirpate Ba'athism from Iraq helped Salafism spread. Secondly, Steyn buys into the myth that welfare-state societies like Canada 'need' immigration, both to maintain population levels and fund social programs. With the introduction of the Grewal (Conservative) and Dhalla (Liberal) Old Age Security bills, the actuarial façade of mass immigration--that we 'need' mass immigration, to keep social programs solvent--finally fell off. As well, Canadian birthrates actually ARE above replacement. The only sectors relying on mass immigration are the real estate, construction and banking industries, which need constant population growth to maintain the housing bubble. Part of the problem as well is Steyn's head-in-the-sand denial of overpopulation, and food and water shortages as a real issue.

Steyn fetishizes the American 'free market' system, without noticing just how 'socialist', bureaucratized and union-ridden parts of it are. From porkbarrel space spending, to America's massive Medicaid and Medicare expenditures, there is a lot of 'welfare' (corporate and individual) in the U.S.A. Studies have shown that America's fragmented defense services waste about 40% of the defense budget on overhead and duplication. Steyn's home state, New Hamshire, still has government-run liquor stores. Also, there is no such thing as 'free-market' medicine, when medical care is run by closed-shop medical associations. Like so many people to the left of him, Steyn is also overly enamoured of local government. The problems with FEMA were nothing compared to the staggering incompetence and corruption of New Orleans' civic government, during the Katrina disaster.

Finally, Steyn is surprisingly dovish, when it comes to suggesting how to fight Salafi Islam. Maybe this is just lingering guilt over conservative support for Islamists, during the Russo-Afghan war (go look at a few Bill Buckley articles from the era, to see what I mean). However, Salafi terrorists DID murder 3,000 people on 9/11. Even more than the Thugee cult in India and Aum Shinrikyo, Salafism is a very serious threat. If we intend to win the 'war on terror' (now, under Obama, no longer a politically-correct term), there can be no half measures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great read with 2 problems, April 8 2009
By 
J. Tupone (Saskatchewan) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: America Alone: The End of the World As We Know It (Hardcover)
I enjoyed this book since Mark Steyn is a good writer. I admire him for being controversial about a subject that we're basically not supposed to talk about. His writing is entertaining and interesting. The book addresses a number of issues and is essentially written like a well put together essay save for one important element - he doesn't cite his sources for his facts, which is a shame because it would add credence to his argument. He uses a lot of statistics in the book, which is good, but doesn't give sources for the statistics.

My other complaint is that Steyn is a very sarcastic writer. His sarcasm is very clever and well-delivered but because of his penchant for sarcasm the book almost takes a satirical tone. I suppose that's probably his point and it does make for an easier read. However, as with the lack of citations, the overdone sarcasm is a little too much.

Those criticisms being noted, the book is an entertainin and interesting read and it's something I think a lot of people should read. We hear constantly in the media, at least in Canada that there is no radical Islam, yet plenty of writers say otherwise in books; Ayaan Hirsi Ali, Irshad Manji to name just a couple who were actually raised to be Muslims. The media, at least the Canadian media, is very apethetic when it comes to controversial issues and hasn't covered a lot about radical Islam in my view. Steyn's book takes a serious look at it and for that reason it is worth reading. I'm not saying people should read this book and agree with it, but it's an important book to consider in a broader debate about what's happening in the world today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

America Alone: The End of the World As We Know It
America Alone: The End of the World As We Know It by Mark Steyn (Hardcover - Oct. 16 2006)
CDN$ 34.49 CDN$ 21.62
Usually ships in 1 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews