Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An apocalyptic vision to which attention must be paid
To state first things first: America Alone has got to be the most important book published in a generation.
It sets forth--through compelling argument and exhaustive detail--a chilling scenario of an inexorable, Islamist supplanting of the Western world (save, perhaps, of America alone) by a demographic and ideological tsunami that will lead to "a long Arabian...
Published on Jan. 27 2008 by J. Wayne Eyre

versus
12 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrendous claptrap
A ridiculous book. A hodgepodge of barely coherent sentences adding up to a Manichean screed that can be summed up as follows: "America is great. Everyone else is stupid." Steyn is particularly ludicrous in his criticism of Robert Fisk (one of the most highly decorated journalists in the world) whom he describes as being "almost always wrong." Of course, no details are...
Published on Oct. 27 2008 by Skeptic Critic


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An apocalyptic vision to which attention must be paid, Jan. 27 2008
By 
J. Wayne Eyre (Saskatoon, Saskatchewan Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: America Alone: The End of the World As We Know It (Hardcover)
To state first things first: America Alone has got to be the most important book published in a generation.
It sets forth--through compelling argument and exhaustive detail--a chilling scenario of an inexorable, Islamist supplanting of the Western world (save, perhaps, of America alone) by a demographic and ideological tsunami that will lead to "a long Arabian Night" comparable to the Dark Ages.
Despite its singular excellence and its importance to the Western world, America Alone apparently has been under-reviewed in the media. Well, the West ignores the message of this book at its grievous peril--which very likely is precisely what it's doing, given the incredible degree to which the Islamic imams are being accommodated and appeased these days, in Europe especially.
Whether Steyn proves to be the voice who finally wakes the soft, self-indulgent West from its slumber or a modern-day Cassandra whom few pay attention to remains to be seen. (But anyone with any familiarity with contemporary Euro-think already knows what the favoured response will be.)
Mark Steyn ought to be given some sort of Nobel Prize. But, again, so deep is the blinding, jealousy-born hatred of the United States in Europe that such an idea would be risible Over There. As many have pointed out, Steyn somehow manages to lay down his apocalyptic vision with hilarious word play and ribaldry, but his vision is apocalyptic nevertheless and attention must be paid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


90 of 97 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great read, with a few minor problems, Oct. 21 2006
By 
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: America Alone: The End of the World As We Know It (Hardcover)
America Alone is a wonderful book. One that should be widely read. There are a number of points made in the book that are quite important and unique.

1. Demographics

Mark Steyn doesn't believe demographics can explain everything. But he thinks it can explain a good 90%, and he makes a pretty strong case for it.

The facts are that the birthrates in most of the western world are well below replacement rates, while the birthrates in most of the Middle East are well above. This fact, coupled with increasing rates if immigration to the west from parts of the world where the general population is quite antithetical to western values (freedom, democracy etc.) will inevitably lead to confrontation.

2. Cultural confidence

In the west, multiculturalism is law. Literally. It is the sacred cow of the elite that no one dares question. Well, except perhaps Mark Steyn and a few others.

The basic point made in America Alone is that in a clash of cultures where one is self confident and aggressive while the other is self-abasing and passive, odds are on the former. Regardless of what technological and economic advantages the latter may have.

These are very strong points. One may certainly disagree with them (as I do, in many ways) but one can't argue that they are not worth discussing, and this book is a great addition to the debate.

That being said, there are also a few things about the book I found quite irritating.

1. Content

It seems as though the majority of the book was taken verbatim from Steyn's old columns. If you have been a close reader of his work in the last few years, you will find almost no new content here, and certainly no new ideas. Everything that Steyn says in this book, he has already said (many times) in his columns.

2. Repetition

It's the demographics. Russia has a 1.1 fertility rate. America has 2.1. It's the demographics. Russia is dying. America has a chance. Russia has a 1.1 fertility rate. It's the demographics. America has a 2.1 fertility rate.

We get it!!!

Some statistics are quite literally repeated a dozen times throughout the book. It becomes almost unbearable at times, when you're reading the same point being made ad nauseum.

3. Rigor

If you're going to play statistician, at least make a serious go at it. Many of the statistics cited in this book are plucked out at random and never explored beyond the superficial level. I'm not saying it's necessary to spend 50 pages on analysis, but if you're making a serious claim like the notion that no culture has ever recovered from a fertility rate below 1.3 children per woman, you might want to spend more than two sentences talking about it. How about addressing some of the more common objections, and exploring why this is the case?

In any case, the above are fairly minor objections, in comparison to all that is good about this book. Overall this book was a great read and is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars America is facing a life-and-death struggle., Dec 25 2007
Ce commentaire est de: America Alone: The End of the World As We Know It (Hardcover)
In Mark Steyn's new book: America Alone: The End of the World as We Know It, he argues that there will soon be a conflict between the U.S. and the rest of the world. European and Islamic anti-Americanism, Mark Steyn says, threatens to leave us isolated in the world: the global situation is rapidly reaching a point at which America will have to confront the enemies of civilization without help from anyone else. And when the world is divided between America and the rest, all those who don't want to see the world plunge into a new Dark Age should pray that America wins. Mark Steyn provides a well-thought out argument to just how bad things are likely to get, and what we must do now to ensure that our children and live in freedom. Mark presents a great deal of insight, below are a few:
* The likely outcome of today's global situation, in which Islam is militarily weak but ideologically confident -- while the West is militarily strong but ideologically insecure,
* The correlation between the structural weaknesses of the social-democratic state and the rise of a globalized Islam.
* How the terrorist attacks in Madrid in 2004 and London in 2005 - along with other events such as the murder of Theo van Gogh -- were the opening shots of a European civil war.
* The little-noticed reason why America's European allies failed to grasp the significance of September 11.
* How oil isn't the principal Saudi export, Islamic jihad ideology is -- and our oil money bankrolls its spread.
* Why it is so important for Americans and others who want their families to enjoy the blessings of life in a free society to understand that the life we've led since 1945 in the Western world is very rare in human history.
Much of the Westernized world will not survive the twenty-first century, and much of it will effectively disappear within our lifetimes--including most European countries. In Mark Steyn's America Alone: The End of the World as We Know It, he shows how this process is already advanced, and explains that whether we like the New Order in Europe and the world depends on whether America can summon the will to shape at least part of the emerging global picture. If not, well ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The REAL "tipping point", May 14 2007
By 
Number 6 (Ajax, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: America Alone: The End of the World As We Know It (Hardcover)
Mr. Steyn has a way of using humour to slice through the fog created by the self-annointed guides of civilization. His well-researched commentary shows trends that will, even if not precicely as Mr. Steyn suggests, loom largely in the next generation or two. Long after carbon credits become the next "pet rock" of the history books, the demographic picture illuminated by Mr. Steyn may indeed become the conventional wisdom. Mr. Steyn suggests that if the Western culture stems the tide of its own self-hatred, the demographic "tipping point" may yet be avoided. I'm not sure I see a case for optimism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mark Steyn simply rocks, May 21 2008
I bought this book after Macleans magazine was brought before the Ontario Human Rights Commission. I would therefore like to thank the litigants for introducing me to Mark Steyn.

The book is often criticized as being anti-Islamic. I came away with the impression that it is a critique of the "West" and it's weak-kneed response to some of the more unacceptable practices that some immigrants bring with them and try to implement in Western countries.

Before you dismiss this book as the ravings of a "flagrantly islamophobic" "Right Wing Blowhard," know this: there are many immigrants and/or Muslims who agree with him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Truth Is Out There, Dec 31 2006
By 
Ce commentaire est de: America Alone: The End of the World As We Know It (Hardcover)
When I purchase and read the latest copy of The Western Standard, which is a Canadian conservative (yes, there is such a thing!) news magazine, the first article I always turn to is the column by Mark Steyn. For this reason, I purchased a copy of America Alone. As usual, Mr. Steyn brings to the readers attention the details that the politically correct mainstream media refuses to report. This book should be a compulsory read for all citizens of voting age in the Western democracies. Whether or not the book would open the eyes of a populace that has been fed a steady of diet of moral relativism/root cause/moral equivalance/multiculturalism by our self hating Leftist establishment would be interesting to find out.

Alas, Europe is now very likely a lost cause. Steyn's anology of the neutron bomb is right on the money; Europe within a generation or two will still have it's historic buildings and landmarks, but there just won't be any people with enlightened Western Christian based values living there. They will have been replaced by Muslims living under Sharia Law. Once that has happened, it remains to be seen whether or not the United States can survive in a Muslim dominated world bent on the destruction of The Great Satan.

The final irony is that Liberals who are so tolerant of everything will in the end find themselves living under the most intolerant religious political system ever devised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily One of the Best Books of the Decade, Dec 19 2007
By 
Ce commentaire est de: America Alone: The End of the World As We Know It (Hardcover)
It's rare that something this good comes along. This book has garnered a lot of reviews so I won't get into details as to why my opinion largely mirrors that of the Books in Canada reviewer. If you think the world has bigger problems than global warming then this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Open your mind, Jan. 4 2007
By 
J. Royce (Toronto) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: America Alone: The End of the World As We Know It (Hardcover)
You can agree or disagree with Mark Steyn; but you must read this book. If you disagree, presumably you have a better argument, but that is unlikely.

I happen to find that the world becomes much scarier the more that one comes to understand that Mark Steyn is not simply thinking for the sake of thinking but making logical prognostications from what is happening in the world.

Read the book and then read your newspaper, search the internet, every day there is further proof that Mr. Steyn is correct. Low birth rates, tolerance of intolerant cultures, the whole gamut of his book.

You can disagree, but I hope that means you have a solution to the predicament that those who love their freedom face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Steyn sees America as the last bastion of Western democracy., March 31 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
As so many liberal democracies have adopted guilt complexes under the wrappings of multiculturalism, the basic natures of their great societies has become irreparably transformed. Political correctness, in the face of rapidly growing Muslim populations within their borders, has put western values at the bottom of the pecking order. Western nations have failed to understand the political nature of Islam and have opened the flood gates to an irresistible wave of sharply conflicting ideologies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Steyn is always worth reading., Nov. 29 2013
By 
B. L. Trivers "Books Worth Reading" (N.Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Love his wit, and his ability to put into perspective with clarity and profundity the apocalypse of the American way of life. He is a man of vision who couches his prophecy in such a way as to be entertaining as well as enlightening. Only pray people will take heed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

America Alone: The End of the World As We Know It
America Alone: The End of the World As We Know It by Mark Steyn (Hardcover - Oct. 16 2006)
CDN$ 34.49 CDN$ 21.62
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews