Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars book tells story of important tumor reducing process
This book is the story about how a reputable researcher (PhD in Agricultural Biochemistry and Nutrition from Rutgers University and MA in Nutrition Science from Cornell University) came to show that shark cartilage has properties that can benefit people based on the process of antiangiogenesis. When a tumor grows, the collection of cells generate new vascularity around it...
Published on June 3 2004

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Book Written for Greedy Intentions
Dr. Lane wrote this book so he could sell his shark cartilage. He wrote this book to sell a product that does not work. Sharks do get cancer, but incidences of cancer are much lower than in humans. The shark immune system may be better adapted to combat cancer. That does not justify grinding up shark cartilage and selling it. Dr. Lane's company sells the stuff for $130 a...
Published on Feb. 22 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars book tells story of important tumor reducing process, June 3 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Sharks Dont Get Cancer (Paperback)
This book is the story about how a reputable researcher (PhD in Agricultural Biochemistry and Nutrition from Rutgers University and MA in Nutrition Science from Cornell University) came to show that shark cartilage has properties that can benefit people based on the process of antiangiogenesis. When a tumor grows, the collection of cells generate new vascularity around it to bring the tumor nutrients so it can grow more. Antiangiogenesis inhibits the growth of new vascularity (blood vessels), so the tumor is starved and reduced.
If you pay attention to news programs about cancer, there have been several that have talked about new ways to do this based on antiangiogenesis demonstrated by the shark cartilage studies. Some of them have been chemical or physical ways. None that I have seen work too well and they tend to have bad side effects.
I read this book first when my Mom got cancer. Her diagnosis was advanced, aggressive and they didn't give her a year. She lived nearly eight more good years. My sister was diagnosed with cancer too. When taking shark cartilage, she said she could feel the size of the tumor reduced. After surgery, she refused chemotherapy. And, seven years later is doing great - still taking shark cartilage. Now, I have a large benign tumor. Among other things I'm doing for my health, I'm now taking shark cartilage. It makes sense to me. One doctor suggested a more invasive treatment, embollization (sp?), which would cut off nutrients to the tumor, essentially antiangiogenesis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book tells story of important tumor reducing process, June 3 2004
By A Customer
This book is the story about how a reputable researcher (PhD in Agricultural Biochemistry and Nutrition from Rutgers University and MA in Nutrition Science from Cornell University) came to show that shark cartilage has properties that can benefit people based on the process of antiangiogenesis. When a tumor grows, the collection of cells generate new vascularity around it to bring the tumor nutrients so it can grow more. Antiangiogenesis inhibits the growth of new vascularity (blood vessels), so the tumor is starved and reduced.
If you pay attention to news programs about cancer, there have been several that have talked about new ways to do this based on antiangiogenesis demonstrated by the shark cartilage studies. Some of them have been chemical or physical ways. None that I have seen work too well and they tend to have bad side effects.
I read this book first when my Mom got cancer. Her diagnosis was advanced, aggressive and they didn't give her a year. She lived nearly eight more good years. My sister was diagnosed with cancer too. When taking shark cartilage, she said she could feel the size of the tumor reduced. After surgery, she refused chemotherapy. And, seven years later is doing great - still taking shark cartilage. Now, I have a large benign tumor. Among other things I'm doing for my health, I'm now taking shark cartilage. It makes sense to me. One doctor suggested a more invasive treatment, embollization (sp?), which would cut off nutrients to the tumor, essentially antiangiogenesis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Don't Lead With Your Chin, Aug. 15 2000
By 
Pete Mundy (Iowa City, IA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sharks Dont Get Cancer (Paperback)
Some people approach this topic, and the author, with a great deal of aggression but "lead with their chins" in expressing their discontent without having read the material.
First, Dr. Lane (PhD not MD) explains that medical treatment may well be necessary, and he does not advise against it. He does see nutritionally-based therapy as adjunct therapy, although, for some brave souls, or some Stage IV souls (end-of-the-line medically) nutritional therapy may be their lifeline back to health.
Second, he has a PhD in marine biology and well knows that some sharks do get cancer, AS HE EXPLAINS in the opening pages. The types are limited, the incidence quite rare. Title for effect!
Third, this approach is not his idea, as he explains. The anti-vascular factor(s) in cartilage inhibit, or even reverse, neovascularization (vein and artery infrastructure)necessary for tumor growth. Dr. Judah Folkmann of Harvard has been working on this for over 30 years, searching for the active ingredient. In the interim, Dr. Lane suggests using the part of the shark they have been throwing away! It must be processed correctly; it should not be contaminated or deactivated by processing; it must not be "cut" or reduced by additives so the proper dosage can be delivered.
Fourth, shark cartilage is for tumor-based cancers, not blood-based cancers (for further info please see his Immune Power book and MGN-3 data). This is not a cure-all, but for those cancers, such as brain cancer, which do not yield to chemotherapy, where surgery is a problem, where radiation may also do more harm than good...there is still hope.
You actually have to read the book to learn what anecdotal evidence there is. Anecdotal (stories from patients) evidence is not accepted as science in some circles. NIH trials are on-going at this time. In the meantime, I KNOW people who got benefit from Dr. Lane's company's shark cartilage. ("Benefin") Some other products by other suppliers have been shown to be compromised. He explains why. Being alive and well when you were expected to be dead and gone does not need supporting data, in my opinion. What would it take to convince you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Book Written for Greedy Intentions, Feb. 22 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Sharks Dont Get Cancer (Paperback)
Dr. Lane wrote this book so he could sell his shark cartilage. He wrote this book to sell a product that does not work. Sharks do get cancer, but incidences of cancer are much lower than in humans. The shark immune system may be better adapted to combat cancer. That does not justify grinding up shark cartilage and selling it. Dr. Lane's company sells the stuff for $130 a pound. I would reccomend reading "The Shark Chronicles" by John A. Musick. The book does a great job of describing this awe inspiring creatures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Quack medicine: Yes Sharks DO get cancer!, July 13 2000
By 
Ben Radford (Amherst, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sharks Dont Get Cancer (Paperback)
This book's premise is fundamentally flawed. The authors try to promote the use of shark cartilage to cure cancer, but they use bad science. In fact, as any zoologist or marine biologist will tell you, sharks do get cancer! So much for accurate research. This book's information is dangerous for two reasons: 1) people may use this unproven treatment when they need traditional medicine, and 2) many sharks are being unnecessarily killed for their cartilage. A dangerous book and a waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Sharks do get Cancer, May 6 2004
By A Customer
Sharks do get Cancer. The use of Shark Cartilage as a cure for cancer is unfounded and the collection of Shark Cartilage is jeopardizing the ecosystem and hopes and finances of cancer patients. Please read the research about Shark Cartilage from George Washington University and John Hopkins University, both universities are very well know for their contributions to medical health.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sharks Dont Get Cancer
Sharks Dont Get Cancer by William Lane (Paperback - May 1 1992)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews