Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Book is For Everybody
This is the best "primer" to feminism that I've ever read. It's a great read for people who know nothing about feminism or who are only familiar with mainstream society's myths about feminism, because it offers a concise and easy to understand history of the movement. hooks also clears up misunderstanding on the definitions of the terms feminist and feminism. She touches...
Published on Dec 12 2002 by K. Smith

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not really saying anything new
I have always admired and respected the formidable intelligence of bell hooks. I have read her books since Ain't I A Woman when I was still a sophomore in college. While I don't agree with everything she says I feel her vision is quite insightful, but Feminism for Everybody is just recycled rhetoric, which has been a pattern of her books as of late. I feel this book is...
Published on Nov. 30 2001 by mp541


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Book is For Everybody, Dec 12 2002
By 
This review is from: Feminism Is for Everybody: Passionate Politics (Paperback)
This is the best "primer" to feminism that I've ever read. It's a great read for people who know nothing about feminism or who are only familiar with mainstream society's myths about feminism, because it offers a concise and easy to understand history of the movement. hooks also clears up misunderstanding on the definitions of the terms feminist and feminism. She touches on problems within the movement and where we're at now. I also think this is an excellent book for seasoned feminists to have on hand. For one thing, you can find the quotes and passages you're looking for with ease...and it also helps to have read a book that you should be suggesting to those new to feminism.
Finally, I disagree with the reviewer who said this book is only for the "fringe" because hooks points out "our feminist pioneers [were] privileged, educated white women." Um...THEY WERE for the most part. If you're looking for a whitewashed version of the history of feminism then this book isn't for you. Like the feminist movement itself, this book cannot address sex and gender without also addressing race and class. Also, nowhere in the book does hooks imply that housewives are excluded from feminism. The book actually touches on the fact that most of the work done by women (including especially unpaid domestic labor) is still unpaid and undervalued in this society.
The amazing thing about this book is that hooks is able to compress so much information into such an easy and interesting read. You won't put it down except maybe to get your hi-liter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bell hooks rocks- and so does her book, Sept. 17 2001
By 
Book Reader "fiandacafiandaca" (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Feminism Is for Everybody: Passionate Politics (Paperback)
Feminism is for Everybody is a great book for third wave generation feminists. Most young feminists of today don't know the history of feminism that bell hooks recounts in this book. bell hooks explains how the current feminist movement lacks a strong sense of sisterhood, and one reason for that is our lack of participation in consciousness raising groups. We need safe, sacred space in which to work out our internalized sexism. We need to learn about feminism outside of the classroom as well as inside it. We need to come together across the lines of race, class, and education, and demand a revolution.
hooks also dicusses some of the differences between "reform" feminism and "revolutionary" feminism, and why knowing about the distinction is so important. That helped me to understand one reason why today's feminism seems to exclude women of color and poor women so much.
I highly recommend hooks' book for women (and men) who are new to feminism and to those who've been involved in the movement for a while. I think she has some excellent and important things to teach us about our movement and where it needs to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for a beginner, Dec 27 2003
By 
"lejentle" (Pleasant Grove, UT United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Feminism Is for Everybody: Passionate Politics (Paperback)
In "Feminism is for EVERYBODY", Hooks skims over her ideas, current topics and past writings. I think this is a fine book for someone who is ignorant to feminism or a an individual who is interested in Hooks.
The introduction was my favorite part. How she states that as soon as she mentions the word "feminist" without fail, people get shifty and uncomfortable and talk about how crazy feminists are, how manhating, butch like, etc. Then go on to say she must not be like those "wierd feminists". When in reality, most people have no idea what feminism is, which is why she wrote this.
The only reason why I would not recommend this book to anyone is my own personal bias and opinions. I do not agree with everything she has written. However, her writing is easy to read and she writes in a way to entice everyone. She is kind and open, not aggressive and rude, but still assertive and gets her point across. She is also wise to not attack men, instead she attacks the patriarch, because that is a way of believing, it is not a sexuality, and that is what needs to be brought down.
Like I stated, it's compelling and easy to read, it's short and almost anyone can relate to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to bell hooks, Aug. 22 2001
By 
titilayo (Barbados, West Indies) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Feminism Is for Everybody: Passionate Politics (Paperback)
This book is a good introduction to bell hooks' feminist critique and thinking. Having read others of her books and been intrigued and challenged by her ideas, I found that this book presented some of her concepts and philosophies in a simple, readable way. The book consists of several concise chapters, each covering a specific topic -- including spirituality, anti-violence movements, female beauty standards, male feminists, love, child-rearing, and many others. Whether or not you agree with what hooks says, this book is an excellent way to get and idea of what she is all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Feminism is for Everybody (Who Agrees With Me), April 4 2001
This review is from: Feminism Is for Everybody: Passionate Politics (Paperback)
Ms. hooks stated goal of writing an accessible feminist primer for those outside the movement has partially been achieved. The book covers a great deal of territory for such a small volume; and it does so with (largely) accessible language (although I am not sure that continued use of such words as "dialectic" or phrases like "white capitalist male patriarchal heterosexist hegemony" are really all that accessible to outsiders to the movement). Many chapters are quite excellent and contain a thoughtful and succinct analysis of where feminism has been, is now, and needs to go.
There are some flaws within the work, however:
1. The focus on radical feminism as the "true feminism" and the "one path to salvation" may be tiresome for those feminists who are not in agreement with those beliefs or goals. 2. The continual dismissal of "reformist feminists" as "allies of patriarchy" could be considered insulting. 3. As a Canadian, the American paternalism wore a little thin, especially since, 4. She makes the common mistake of saying that feminism must end in creating an absolutely egalitarian society along sex, gender, class and race lines--and that anything that aims only to repair inequities between men and women is not "real" feminism (and then falls into the trap of American paternalism, which could be considered rather hypocritical). For instance, in the chapter on "global feminism," feminism all around the world is reduced to two forms: American and Third-World. I can only suppose that she believes that other Western countries can't really be distinguished from America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not really saying anything new, Nov. 30 2001
By 
This review is from: Feminism Is for Everybody: Passionate Politics (Paperback)
I have always admired and respected the formidable intelligence of bell hooks. I have read her books since Ain't I A Woman when I was still a sophomore in college. While I don't agree with everything she says I feel her vision is quite insightful, but Feminism for Everybody is just recycled rhetoric, which has been a pattern of her books as of late. I feel this book is like every other book she has done, saying the same old things without any new insight or enlightenment. The one thing I notice is that for all her suggestions she never has a concise game plan on how to solve things based on her theory, although when she does criticism she is the first to write of other authors who don't share any type of solutions based on their rhetoric.
This book is good for people who are ignorant and have a fear about feminism. It is a good introductory book, but if you're a seasoned reader, or activist I suggest you move on to something more substantial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clarity on the Feminist Movement and where it can go next, Jan. 1 2001
By 
Melanie Azzouz (San Luis Obispo, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Feminism Is for Everybody: Passionate Politics (Paperback)
Bell Hooks is an articulate and inspired writer. This book is a great primer to give to friends and family to inform them about the feminist movement...since many people hear only what the mainstream media has to say...this book takes into account the perspectives of black and white women/men.
A free-thinker leverages the brilliance of others to enable him/her in developing and testing his/her own ideas...this is one author which will certainly help you in testing and developing your own ideas on feminism and patriarchy.
It is concise, easy reading. It also clearly reflects many of the same historical points which I recently saw on the PBS special "Not For Ourselves Alone"...a program about the early suffrage movement pioneers, Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Important, thought-provoking, and appreciated, May 22 2001
This review is from: Feminism Is for Everybody: Passionate Politics (Paperback)
Bell Hooks (Distinguished Professor of English at City College, City University of New York) once against demonstrates her exceptional ability as a cultural critic in Feminism Is For Everybody: Passionate Politics. Hooks writes with her usual and persuasive candor on a wide ranging spectrum of personal, national, and international contemporary issues arising from feminist politics and the continuing struggle to create an equalitarian, unbiased future against the cultural barriers raised by patriarchal, racist, and homophobic attitudes, policies, and practices. Feminism Is For Everybody is still another important, thought-provoking, and appreciated contribution by Bell Hooks to feminist studies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Move to this, Oct. 14 2000
This review is from: Feminism Is for Everybody: Passionate Politics (Paperback)
Bell hooks's book is an excellent introduction to the study of feminist politics. With clear and concise language, she revisits the beginnings of the movement, and tells us where it is now. She also succintly explains why feminism is not anti-male, anti-sex, or anti-family, but rather feminism is the struggle against rigid sexism in patriarchal cultures. Despite its plague of editorial errors, the book is highly recommended for the non-academic language and for the encouraging message hooks offers us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interested in feminism?, May 16 2002
By 
E. Davis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Feminism Is for Everybody: Passionate Politics (Paperback)
A well-rounded starter for anyone interested in true, historical feminism. I say "true" because it seems there are more and more pop culture books with a "feminist" or "grrrl" theme to them. I hope that all young woman (or all women) will come across this book for the real story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Feminism Is for Everybody: Passionate Politics
Feminism Is for Everybody: Passionate Politics by bell hooks (Paperback - Oct. 1 2000)
Used & New from: CDN$ 46.14
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews