Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good
Really gets the mind thinking. Bandler and Grinder are very smart and quick. They think outside the box and in so doing help the reader do the same.
Published 14 months ago by snakeriver

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'll admit.....i didn't use this one right. kinda tough.
I could never master this book. I really just liked reading it because of the procedure. I used it in conversational settings to make myself look smart. Yet i never solved any problems...even my own. I['ve given up on NLP cause of my inability to INTERPRET the meanings given to each NLP thought or action.... i was never able to really get it. So i just used this as a...
Published on Sept. 23 2002 by meatistasty


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'll admit.....i didn't use this one right. kinda tough., Sept. 23 2002
By 
"meatistasty" (northridge, ca United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reframing: Neuro-Linguistic Programming and the Transformation of Meaning (Paperback)
I could never master this book. I really just liked reading it because of the procedure. I used it in conversational settings to make myself look smart. Yet i never solved any problems...even my own. I['ve given up on NLP cause of my inability to INTERPRET the meanings given to each NLP thought or action.... i was never able to really get it. So i just used this as a way to let time pass in the laundromat. I tried using it for sales, but i could never get into it with the energy necessary. be well.
cK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars review, June 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Reframing: Neuro-Linguistic Programming and the Transformation of Meaning (Paperback)
I have yet to read this book. I have flipped through the pages and I think it will make an interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, Jan. 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Reframing: Neuro-Linguistic Programming and the Transformation of Meaning (Paperback)
Really gets the mind thinking. Bandler and Grinder are very smart and quick. They think outside the box and in so doing help the reader do the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5*****, April 11 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Reframing: Neuro-Linguistic Programming and the Transformation of Meaning (Paperback)
Strengths:practical skills and results can be gained from this book.You can apply reframing in many areas of your life and save money for therapy sessions.
Weaknesses:for some people reading long transcripts (describing the action)may not be suitable. It can be boring,then your brain has no desire in continuing the reading.
However if you have found some specific areas you can benefits,you may want to read this book.
I'm glad I bought this book. hope it improves your life too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reframing also upper levels of consiousness, March 6 2010
By 
This review is from: Reframing: Neuro-Linguistic Programming and the Transformation of Meaning (Paperback)
After Frogs in prices... this book is other must have it.

I had always this curiosity about developing the mind, and this book came in a period that I was able to handle internal conflicts.

See, that you can use this book in the physical universe, with clients...
I am not a professional from this human field, today I am an Electrical Engineer.

So I have used the book and the techniques in it, to unified different feeling and thoughts in the upper levels of the mind... see for instance.. if I have a doubt about something it may be originated from concurrent thoughts, thought_1 and thought_2, thoughts effect or creation of distinct sources... what if I treat each distinct source as an semi-conscious elements, just like Husband and Wife and help them come to an agreement?

See, there are many possibilities... I have also experiment this techniques on some of my friends... and things that appeared total not convergent as a Rose and a Rock came to be in the and a prefect work of art... a very delicate Rose made of Rock... think about this.

Once you understand the logic behind and how to negotiate, or be the facilitator for that negotiation happen, any conflict can be transformed in a wonderful experience and result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still relevant and a gold mine., April 1 2002
By 
John P. Schertzer "Caefu" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reframing: Neuro-Linguistic Programming and the Transformation of Meaning (Paperback)
A careful reading of this book will unearth a wealth of information, not only about remedial and generative models developed in early NLP, but also how and why models were designed as they were to begin with. If one keeps that in mind, as well as the primary presupposition (map/territory), there will be no vast discrepancy between old and new NLP, nor even DHE. You can see the roots right here. The authors themselves make a point in saying that the Six Step Reframing pattern, for instance, was only structured the way it was as a teaching tool, and that it should be forgotten once it was integrated with other communication processes. The Parts metaphor, they say, is only a one of a number of ways of mapping "as if," perhaps only a way of "chunking" behavior. Bandler is cleverer than everybody thinks: if he doesn't use parts as a metaphor, then what are all the "machines" he's talking about? What about the spacial/visual representations of decision making strategies, et al? Aren't they essentially the same thing? The problem is people tend to forget that these are not actuallities but only useful ways of talking.
This book takes the simpler version of reframing from "Frogs" and really opens it up, describes how it can be used in conjunction with anchoring and linguistic patterns, until it begins to disintegrate as a specific and separate model and becomes a direction.
For another possible view of these issues, see Anti-Oedipus: capitalism and schizophrenia, by Deleuze and Guattari, which dances along to similar music, including the contradictions...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Important Step for NLP, March 19 2001
By 
Karl (England, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reframing: Neuro-Linguistic Programming and the Transformation of Meaning (Paperback)
I think it sometimes helps to think of Bandler and Grinder as intrepid explorers.
That is to say, much of the early development of NLP consisted of tracking known experts - Perls, Satir, Erickson, Korzybski, etc. - sifting through a wealth of information and finding those vital bits that provided the key to everything else.

In the case of reframing, this was already a well-established concept in certain circles when B&G started to develop NLP. The three founders of the Brief Therapy unit at Palo Alto (Watzlawick, Weakland and Fisch) had brought out "Change", which also covers reframing in some detail, back in 1972, for example.

But the value of the B&G book is not to be measured by how well it tallies with earlier works. It's importance lies, I suggest, in what it tells us about how NLP developed as it did.

As you can see from earler reviews, the idea of "parts" (partly! derived from Virginia Satir's "parts parties") is not to everyone's taste.
Joseph Riggio, a well respected NLP trainer, suggests that this approach can produce "fractionation and fragmentation". Yet there are lots of people who find that dealing with "parts" fits very well with their view of the world.
And after all, NLP is first and foremost about what works *for you*.

Over the last few years it has become clear that there is no such thing as "bog standard NLP". Everyone who gets involved will have their own ideas, views, techniques and methods.

My advice would be that this book is just one of several key texts that trace the history of NLP. Whether or not, in the end, you decide that the ideas herein are suitable for you, I think this book will inevitably help you to gain a greater understanding of what lies at the heart of NLP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Alcoholism can not be cured with a day of hypnosis., Dec 9 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Reframing: Neuro-Linguistic Programming and the Transformation of Meaning (Paperback)
But this book implies that it can in the last chapter of the book. For shame on the authors for not revising this book to remove their discussion of alcoholism cures from the book.
This book presents a discussion of how meaning can be transformed through context and content reframing, and a terrible discussion of the appropriate applications of those techniques to curing alcoholism. I think the perceivable arrogance in the writing of Mr. Bandler and Mr. Grinder that shows through in the books they wrote together stems from their use of examples of their methods written into their books. They use examples as:
(a)representative examples of the efficiacy of their methods as used in that example instance.
(b)a description of the problem classes that their methods are meant to solve.
(c)a description of the client problem resolution tests used to check that a client's problem was actually solved.
In fact that is what a person reads whenever that reader finds an example of NLP application whose "implications" seem preposterous.
If abstinence from a drink in a bar is sufficient to stop an alcoholic from drinking, and NLP professionals should cure their alcoholic clients and then take them out for margarita's to see how their work worked, and then let their client pay them when that client doesn't drink with them at the margarita bar, then this book "Reframing" has helped staff the world of NLP professionals with incompetents, worse than just ignorant, but actually more likely to produce negative results than previously, when their own common sense would have prevented their educated and reprehensible behavior.
I doubt that either Mr. Grinder or Mr. Bandler would apply their methods in that way to produce therapists of the kind I described, but they could release another version of this horrible book to correct their error-filled use of examples of NLP applied to curing alcoholism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic to own, June 22 2000
This review is from: Reframing: Neuro-Linguistic Programming and the Transformation of Meaning (Paperback)
I just love the way that Bandler and Grindler add personalized snippets to illustrate the finer points of using your brain. This book reframes reframing. Have you ever wondered how you can go about thinking and wording certain situations for yourself or others? Have you ever been delighted and flabbergasted by someone else's profound view on situations? If not, read this and get some insight. If you have, but you are still wondering how you did it, learn to do mental shifts quicker, do more of it and learn how to do it well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An NLP Trainer's review - "Good book sometimes misguided.", Feb. 24 1998
This review is from: Reframing: Neuro-Linguistic Programming and the Transformation of Meaning (Paperback)
Reframing is the art of shifting meaning. Bandler and Grinder put their attention on using communication, verbal and non-verbal, to shift meaning in their client's models of the world. An emphasis is on using language and language patterns. In this regard they succeed admirably. However, where I think they go off track is in their descriptions of "parts" and what they call 6-step reframing, even one of the authors - Richard Bandler says he doesn't do this anymore. I agree and add that it introduces fractionation and fragmentation in clients which isn't useful or suggested. This has bred a continuing controversy in the NLP(tm) community of professionals. Some still use the "parts" model and some are beginning to move away from it in favor of more integral and wholistic methods. There are other books that do a better job of presenting reframing and utilzation of language patterns, but with this caveat in place I recommend the book to anyone seeking to deepen and widen their knowledge of the NLP(tm) model. If you want to go further in understanding where the model has gone since the authors wrote this book try some of the later books, especially "Time for a Change" by Richard Bandler and "Persuasion Engineering" by Richard Bandler with John LaValle. Both of these present the new forms of hypnotic language usage quite well within a more integrated model.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb1247c24)

This product

Reframing: Neuro-Linguistic Programming and the Transformation of Meaning
Used & New from: CDN$ 9.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews