Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best astrology book of all time, Feb. 15 2003
By 
Catherine Gallanti (San Diego, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Astrology, Karma and Transformation: The Inner Dimensions of the Birth Chart (Paperback)
If I was asked to choose between all my astrology books to pick one and only one to take with me on a desert island, I would pick Mr Arroyo's classic Astrology Karma and Transformation. In fact when I moved to the USA from England with only my backpack this book was with me. Why? It contains the most profound psychologically and spiritually insightful astrology that you can get your hands on. In fact, this book is almost a shame to read, because once you have read it, you will be hard pushed to find a better astrological text...
Arroyo here talks about the chart and particularly about the aspects and transits of Saturn and the outer planets, not with a cookbook approach but with the insight of the very special humanistic alchemy that carachterizes Arroyo's work. Drawing for Jungian concepts, psychology and spirituality Arroyo brings to life the birth chart and its players and weaves meaning into the life experience. And his writing is so beautiful, profound and yet simple, deep but easy to grasp. I love this man, such a jewel of mind and wisdom for us to enjoy...
In the book you will also find lots of stuff about the ascendant, transits, progressions, little bits and pieces of information that, even years after , you will refer to and think about and mull over in your mind. This is one of those books with that magical holographic quality, where every time you read it, it expands and you see stuff you had not seen before...
If I had to reccommend one book for you not to miss, this would be the one. Buy it. You will treasure it for life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another Arroyo groupie!, Feb. 26 2002
By 
L. Sutherland-Fraser (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Astrology, Karma and Transformation: The Inner Dimensions of the Birth Chart (Paperback)
This was the first book in astrology I ever bought, amazing seeming it was over 20 years ago just after it was first published. This book has an energy about it, as obviously from the previous reviews, Stephen Arroyo has IT, he is the consummate humanistic astrologer who can give people the absolute astrological stuff that we need when we need it. Very much in the same area of astrology as Liz Green, yet in my opinion much more easily accessible, for as much as I adore Liz Greene's work, it can be quite intense and needs many readings to take in what she is saying. All of Stephen Arroyo's books are a joy to read, this one being my favourite. If you love astrology you need to do yourself a favour and buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elucidating, Feb. 20 2003
This review is from: Astrology, Karma and Transformation: The Inner Dimensions of the Birth Chart (Paperback)
Well written, but lacking in particulars like planets in houses, specific aspects, ect. He doesn't make a distinction between a square and opposition, he just calls them 'dynamic.' While both aspects to tend to be aversive, they are aversive in different ways. Nevertheless, Arroyo is a talented astrolger, and I especially like the footnotes he included in this book, which refer you to other books he has found helpful in his studies. The books he recommends treat the topics he presnts in a general manner in a much nore specific way. There is no denying there is much relevant knowledge here, and that makes this book a quick read that wasn't expensive, either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The purpose of Astrology, Nov. 25 2001
This review is from: Astrology, Karma and Transformation: The Inner Dimensions of the Birth Chart (Paperback)
Many of the other reviewers have said this already, but I must repeat it once more - this is an exceptional book, giving readers a deep insight into what astrology really 'means'. It is not a cook book of how to interpret charts. Instead, Arroyo presented to his readers, the purpose behind astrology and that it is not a static method of foreseeing the future. We are here to learn lessons and our birthchart tells us what our lessons are, what type of energy we possess in the first place, and how, by facing up to the challenges presented to us in life, spiritual growth will ensue. Arroyo describes the birthchart as a 'tool' to guide us through our life. By understanding our basic make up, we can learn to make the most out of our positive points and try to improve on our weakers ones. Many of my astro-skeptic friends are so impressed by this refreshing view that they are seeing astrology in a different light. The book is written in a very easy to understand manner, though an initial understanding of chart interpretation is needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and essential contemporary astrology, March 14 2000
By 
Tim Burness (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Astrology, Karma and Transformation: The Inner Dimensions of the Birth Chart (Paperback)
I have owned a copy of this book for over 10 years and it has continued to provide me with astrological wisdom and insights that no other book can match. The depth of Stephen Arroyo's writing here is extraordinary, with perhaps the only criticism being that so much is packed in to one single book. But this is hardly a complaint!
The outer planets are covered extensively with many examples of aspects and transits to the birth charts of people with relatively "ordinary" lives. This makes a refreshing change from much astrological literature that deals only with famous people, or people with severe problems of one kind or another. The chapter on Saturn is excellent, particularly the journey of Saturn through the twelve houses. Show any 29-year old (with a bit of self-awareness!) the section featuring the Saturn return, and watch their reaction as they read!
This book is not only full of essential contemporary astrology; Arroyo also draws on his considerable experience of other tools for spiritual and psychological growth. He has a background in marriage and family counselling (chapter on "Karma and relationships"), and his many references to various spiritual teachers, eastern religions, western psychology and the Edgar Cayce psychic readings add to the spiritual power of Arroyo's writing. A modern classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Astrology, Karma & Transformation by Stephen Arroyo, Feb. 21 2002
By 
Elizabeth Hazel (Toledo, OH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Astrology, Karma and Transformation: The Inner Dimensions of the Birth Chart (Paperback)
This book takes a positive, helpful view of the topic of karma as it can be understood through astrology. There is a particular focus on the outer planets, including a description of their aspects and transits. In each section, Arroyo moves from the general concepts to a more specific cook-book listing of the planets. He discusses karmic relationships through analyzing synastry and progressions, and includes a special chapter on the Ascendant and Midheaven axes. Arroyo refers to Edgar Cayce's view of reincarnation and planetary influences on a particular incarnation. This book provides an exceptionally accessible viewpoint, in the sense that it approaches karma as patterns to be recognized through the astrological counseling process, rather than encouraging specious speculation about specific past lives. A book recommended for astrologers who seek to include an evolutionary spiritual element in their style of interpretation without sounding like Madame Lazonga.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Insgihtful, possibly his best book about astrology, Oct. 31 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Astrology, Karma and Transformation: The Inner Dimensions of the Birth Chart (Paperback)
Different from his other books, his writing style here is rather thick. But, since he is really insightful in terms of interpretation of any astrological phenomenon, I could easily read through this book. (I'm not a native speaker in English.) Especially if you are going through some difficult transition period (for example, trans-saturnian planets are making tight aspects to your natal personal planets), this is surely must-read. I would think that he reveals all he wants to say about astrological interpretation. Other his books is not so insightful as this- they are rather intentionally written for novices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book for any astrologer, Dec 24 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Astrology, Karma and Transformation: The Inner Dimensions of the Birth Chart (Paperback)
I have owned this book for over 15 years and it is as relevant now as it was then. Arroyo has written a masterpiece, jammed packed with so much information grap your highlighter and expect to learn, regardless of your level. Valuable information on the progressed moon, ascendant and midheaven along with accurate detailed accounts of transits. If you want to read about the heart of astrology, buy this book. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best astrology book, Jan. 11 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Astrology, Karma and Transformation: The Inner Dimensions of the Birth Chart (Paperback)
This is a profound book, and simply the best astrology book I have ever read. It's long & detailed, but not dense. Arroyo's philosophical & humanistic bent is wonderful. This is a very helpful & wide ranging book for the practicing astrologer - not a quickie book, but a serious bit of teaching. It's one of the books I'd take to a desert island!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, Sept. 11 2014
This review is from: Astrology, Karma and Transformation: The Inner Dimensions of the Birth Chart (Paperback)
Good book - not exactly what I'd hoped, but well written nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Astrology, Karma and Transformation: The Inner Dimensions of the Birth Chart
CDN$ 22.27 CDN$ 13.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews