Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2nd best brew book ever!
After NEW BREWING LAGER BEER, this has been the most helpful book to get my beer styles just right. It contains hordes of information usually available only in professional works, and doesn't over complicate it. I love this book and always refer to it before I start a new brew. It is the only accurate book that discusses the amount of water retained in your grain, and...
Published on Feb. 7 2004 by theoriginalsubguy

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I was disappointed with this book. The "statistics" on second round NHC recipes - which take up much of this book - are of dubious relevance. Knowing that 51% of recipes used Hallertau hops, 40% used Saaz 5% used some Cascade, and 10% used a bit of Munich Malt and the odd one used some wheat, or 30% used Bohemian lager yeast but one used some obscure lager...
Published on Feb. 25 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2nd best brew book ever!, Feb. 7 2004
By 
This review is from: Designing Great Beers: The Ultimate Guide to Brewing Classic Beer Styles (Paperback)
After NEW BREWING LAGER BEER, this has been the most helpful book to get my beer styles just right. It contains hordes of information usually available only in professional works, and doesn't over complicate it. I love this book and always refer to it before I start a new brew. It is the only accurate book that discusses the amount of water retained in your grain, and allows you to calculate the pre brew water quantity more accurately. A must for you home brew library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, Oct. 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Designing Great Beers: The Ultimate Guide to Brewing Classic Beer Styles (Paperback)
Great information to take your brewing to a higher level. Good information on styles and ingredients. Good history on styles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good book, May 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Designing Great Beers: The Ultimate Guide to Brewing Classic Beer Styles (Paperback)
Really well built book. Chapters are presented in a manner the theory becomes really clear.
A bible for every homebrewer! Really usefull to brew a beer respecting its particular style.
There are also some really interesting facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, May 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Designing Great Beers: The Ultimate Guide to Brewing Classic Beer Styles (Paperback)
Easy to follow step by step guide that covers all aspects of designing a beer. Clear easy to follow mathematical examples enhances the learning process. Great, clear details are given on why different styles are brewed in their own fashion. Local brewmasters also agree that it is a good starting book to understand if you considering entering the field of brewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reference for the Home Brewer, Oct. 17 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Designing Great Beers: The Ultimate Guide to Brewing Classic Beer Styles (Paperback)
"Designing Great Beers" is an excellent reference for any home brewer looking to create their own recipes. Combined with "How to Brew" and "Brewing Classic Styles", "Designing Great Beers" is a great addition to any home brewer's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing book, Oct. 16 2011
This review is from: Designing Great Beers: The Ultimate Guide to Brewing Classic Beer Styles (Paperback)
Great description for all style of beer , very helpful to understand how beer style are designed, this book have a lots of pages and is cheap! I reccomand it all the way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource, March 1 2011
This review is from: Designing Great Beers: The Ultimate Guide to Brewing Classic Beer Styles (Paperback)
As someone relatively new to homebrewing and looking into moving from extract to all grain brewing, this book is excellent.
It really breaks down how to formulate recipes based on your target style, percentages of appropriate malts and adjuncts, yeasts, etc.
This book opened my eyes to hitting target gravity, bitterness ratios and a host of other things. Well worth it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, good coverage of essentials, April 8 2010
This review is from: Designing Great Beers: The Ultimate Guide to Brewing Classic Beer Styles (Paperback)
This is a good book for those interested in the history of beers, or those with some basic brewing knowledge who want to learn more.

The book is not a recipe book, if that's what you're looking for, but does go into detail about style guides and each styles history. It also covers ingredient trends in the NHC (National Homebrew Competition) in the US, although from a few years back. It would be nice to see a new addition to update that info.

All in all I'm glad I've got this book - and I would definitely recommend it for those brewers who plan to put their beer into competition, or for those who just love a little history and want to know more about the hobby!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource for intermediate brewer, Jan. 24 2004
By 
This review is from: Designing Great Beers: The Ultimate Guide to Brewing Classic Beer Styles (Paperback)
This book is a fantastic help for a homebrewer who wants to create his own recipes. It isn't going to tell you how to clone Newcastle or Sam Adams, but it helps you create your own unique recipe within the framework of a classic beer style, whether a Northern English Brown Ale, an Oktoberfestbier or Sweet Stout. The detail is astounding, ranging from historical references, commercial and homebrewed examples. With a wealth of well-presented information, the two chapters on hops I've reread several times, along with many of my favorite style chapters. Practical advise is given for creating a successful recipe, drawing on the author's own experiences in National Homebrew Competition. One example I think of is from the Brown Ale chapter: he gives the suggestion of choosing just a couple specialty malts to compliment your chosen yeast, rather than the often-employed little-bit-of-everything approach to the malt bill. This book could be valuable to someone who's made a handful of extract brews and wants to create something within a style framework; likewise, it would be of value to someone who's been brewing several years. I'm still doing extract brewing, so I know I'll be going back over a lot of the material pertaining to mashing someday. Not to mention some of the style chapters that I don't have the ability to do yet, like Pilsner or Kolsch. By the way, the author himself recommends Noonan's Scotch Ale (Classic Beer Style Series: 8), and I would too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the whole Classic Beer Series in one book, Jan. 9 2003
By 
rama (CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Designing Great Beers: The Ultimate Guide to Brewing Classic Beer Styles (Paperback)
I've got several brewing texts, but this is the one I frequent the most. If you're a moderately experienced brewer looking for details on a particular style, or you're trying to get away from just copying other people's recipes and try your hand at it for a change, this is just the book. It tells you the ingredients, mash schedule, yeasts, etc that would be appropriate for a style and what worked for other award winning beers, plus some history on each of the major styles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Designing Great Beers: The Ultimate Guide to Brewing Classic Beer Styles
CDN$ 24.95 CDN$ 15.64
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews