Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My husband's beer bible
My husband started making his own beer from extract kits and really wanted to take it to the next level. The Brewing Classic Styles book has done just that! He now buys his own grains, uses a mash tun and creates all his brews from scratch! When buying ingredients we can't always find exactly what you need, but you Google a substitute for it, and voila, you have the...
Published 14 months ago by Alexandra Banks

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The book is good to understand the beer styles
All the recipes are principally made to use malt extract. There is substitution for all-grain brewers but this is not the first reason why the book has been made.

The book is good to understand the beer styles, but for all-grain recipes, this not the book to buy.
Published 3 months ago by Francois


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My husband's beer bible, Oct. 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brewing Classic Styles: 80 Winning Recipes Anyone Can Brew (Paperback)
My husband started making his own beer from extract kits and really wanted to take it to the next level. The Brewing Classic Styles book has done just that! He now buys his own grains, uses a mash tun and creates all his brews from scratch! When buying ingredients we can't always find exactly what you need, but you Google a substitute for it, and voila, you have the solution and what you need to replicate the recipes.

When he mentioned he wanted to buy this book I had no idea what it would mean for his beer brewing hobby but I am glad he got it because his beer is delicious. It is super cheap just buying ingredients and making your own. It is time consuming but this book makes it much easier. It's like a cook book for homemade beer!

If you are just starting out in the make your own beer hobby I would probably recommend starting with the extract kits to learn the basics. When you are ready to take it to the next level get a copy of Brewing Classic Styles and enjoy delicious homemade beer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The book is good to understand the beer styles, Sept. 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brewing Classic Styles: 80 Winning Recipes Anyone Can Brew (Paperback)
All the recipes are principally made to use malt extract. There is substitution for all-grain brewers but this is not the first reason why the book has been made.

The book is good to understand the beer styles, but for all-grain recipes, this not the book to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, May 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brewing Classic Styles: 80 Winning Recipes Anyone Can Brew (Paperback)
Along with main beer styles description, the recipes from this book are great for beginner but also for more experienced home brewers. A must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Took my homebrewing to a whole new level, Jan. 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brewing Classic Styles: 80 Winning Recipes Anyone Can Brew (Paperback)
I was concerned that it may not be helpful, but this is by far the best homebrewing book or even resource in general. Absolutely fantastic. And the best way to improve is to master basic styles, and then branch out from there. A+ 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars BCS, July 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brewing Classic Styles: 80 Winning Recipes Anyone Can Brew (Paperback)
Good book with interesting recipes. May become dated but for now it's very useable. More historical content on the styles would be useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, March 23 2013
By 
Eric Therrien "DUNCAN" (QUEBEC, CANADA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brewing Classic Styles: 80 Winning Recipes Anyone Can Brew (Paperback)
As a home brewer, this is a must have book to have a base to start with.Useful information on ingredient is also included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for all homebrewers, Jan. 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brewing Classic Styles: 80 Winning Recipes Anyone Can Brew (Paperback)
I recently purchased this book and could not be happier. I've listened to the authors' podcast for a while and have been looking for a book to help me take the next step from kits/random online recipes to brew better beers.

This is very systematic and will give you a recipe to brew a beer that fits the BJCP Style guidelines. If you want to develop your own recipes, you need to understand the fundamentals, and this is as fundamental you can get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A "Must Have" for Home Brewers, Oct. 17 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brewing Classic Styles: 80 Winning Recipes Anyone Can Brew (Paperback)
Brewing Classic Styles is a "must have" for the home brewer's library. The book is packed with great recipe ideas tailored to both extract and all-grain brewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for Homebrewers, Oct. 17 2010
By 
M. Hazaras "Cheers" (Canada, ON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brewing Classic Styles: 80 Winning Recipes Anyone Can Brew (Paperback)
This book is filled with excellent information. The recipes are not simply "cookbook", detailed information on why and how the recipe is formulated is presented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read for an Intermediate brewer and an indispensable tool ..., Sept. 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brewing Classic Styles: 80 Winning Recipes Anyone Can Brew (Paperback)
A good read for an Intermediate brewer and an indispensable tool as well. The recipes and descriptions in this book are great!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brewing Classic Styles: 80 Winning Recipes Anyone Can Brew
Brewing Classic Styles: 80 Winning Recipes Anyone Can Brew by John Palmer (Paperback - Oct. 8 2007)
CDN$ 23.95 CDN$ 17.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews