Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gem
I have read wonderful words of many enlightened teachers ranging from Robert Adams, Ramana Maharshi, Osho, Poonja, Ramesh Balsekar, Nisargadatta Maharaj, Eckhart Tolle, Swami Rama, Tony Parsons, and many others through ancient scriptures and websites. They have all added something to my being and have brought about a clarity and I am grateful to them all and I still go...
Published on March 14 2004 by Rajbir S.

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ....needs to be read a 2nd and 3rd time
While I agree with the other reviewers that the author does present his material in a very clear and consise manner, making this an easy book to read, I differ insomuch that I find the message to be rather alien to the culture in which I was raised. Individualism, whether it is spiritually 'right' or 'wrong' is the bedrock of Western civilizations and, being so, is a...
Published on April 30 2010 by Ronald W. Maron


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gem, March 14 2004
I have read wonderful words of many enlightened teachers ranging from Robert Adams, Ramana Maharshi, Osho, Poonja, Ramesh Balsekar, Nisargadatta Maharaj, Eckhart Tolle, Swami Rama, Tony Parsons, and many others through ancient scriptures and websites. They have all added something to my being and have brought about a clarity and I am grateful to them all and I still go back to them (they are all so dear to me). At some point, I decided not to buy any more books as I saw that I had reached a point where I may be reading the books for the sake of reading. Then I learned about "Awakening to the Dream" and I liked what I saw at the author's website (which is a wonderful site). I bought the book after six months of postponing it. It is the simplest, clearest book I ever read. It does not add new concepts but washes away like a gentle wave all the concepts. I found in Leo a teacher who was talking sensibly, rationally and not from the clouds or sky above. He understands what is going on in a seeker's mind and what is perplexing the seeker. On page 99 of the book, the author said something which is very meaningful to me. I don't think I'll be buying any more spiritual books (unless another one comes from the same author) but this book is the beautiful culmination of a lifelong quest. There is now an ease, a relaxation, thank you so much Leo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awakening to the Dream: The Gift of Lucid Living, Oct. 11 2003
By 
Lorraine Lister (Motueka New Zealand) - See all my reviews
This is one of those rare books that invites the reader to see awakening not as a process that can be attained by spiritual practice, but simply as Being. It is that which is realised by a shift in perception - the letting go of all beliefs and preconceptions of how life should or might be and instead merely accepting what is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, Sept. 29 2003
This is the clearest book yet by a 'Westerner' on advaita / the non-dual perspective, a subject about which so much confusion exists. I really enjoyed the very patient & amazingly comprehensive approach taken by the author, Leo Hartong. Chapter by chapter, he looks at just about every aspect of non-dualism, gently exposing both the obvious & less obvious misunderstandings along the way.
The book is written more as a beautiful sharing than from any position of authority... as Leo writes, "These words are nothing but a gentle reminder from yourself to yourself that you are the awakened one".
There is also a great forum at [...] .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When ou wake up, it is seen there is no one, Oct. 12 2003
Leo takes his readers by the hand and shares with them his own story of unmasking the belief systems we all believe(d) in. And behind Leo's story, the reader is reminded that waking up from and in the dream has nothing to do with Leo or you or me, but with the one Light seeing Itself.
Jan Kersschot, author of Nobody Home
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awakening to the Dream: The Gift of Lucid Living, Oct. 11 2003
By 
Richard F. Hay (Mt. Holly, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
A wonderfully clear exposition of non-duality in Western words and practice. As a metaphysical/intellectual hair-splitter of the first order I can attest that "Awakening to the Dream", as geese leave no tracks in the air, leaves no hairs to split. What the author says is exactly what Sri Nisaragadatta and Ramana both said, and I would suggest that the One that spoke in and through them now speaks through the pages of "Awakening to the Dream." After 35 years and several thousand books, this one is definitely on my top ten list. I give it my highest endorsement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lucid overview of Non-dualism, Oct. 12 2003
By 
Ralph Edsell (San Diego, CA United States) - See all my reviews
If you are looking for a very clear, approachable overview of the rarified, often confusing philosophy/theology of Advaita Vedanta, also known as Non-dualism, this is the book to read. I've read all the most important texts on Advaita, and the problem is that for the beginner, someone like, let's say, Nisargadatta Maharaj can be extremely difficult because of the Hindu context. Mr. Hartong's book is crystal clear, easy to understand but also very profound. I recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easy to read and understand; an important book to read, Jan. 26 2004
By 
Srikrishna Ghadiyaram (Palo Alto, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book covers, in very simple language, the illusion of ego and seeking. It is comprehensive and like a smooth story. It removes the possible misconceptions about enlightenment, one-by-one, in simple style. This should be highly useful for anyone who seeks clarity in one's spiritual pursuit, as it is sure to bring some objectivity to the search within and without.
On Page 9, in the foreword, Tony Parsons, the author of "AS IT IS", says
"The book begins very well, with a clear explanation of its intent, and throughout the work there is the feeling of reading a letter written by a friend who gently, but passionately, wants to make something very clear. As the writer communicates his perception of the mystery, he intersperses his ideas with appropriate traditional and contemporary quotations.
In simple terms, it is the absence of seeking that reveals the wonder of that which already is, but although this simple and awesome mystery is impossible to express in words, Leo's exploration is a joy to share in."
The above is a very apt description of the content and style of writing in the book.
The following excerpts from the book explain very clearly what is enlightenment.
Page 12:
"So here we go: The answer is that you will get nothing out of it because enlightenment is the realization that there is no you to get enlightened; that the sense of separation and individuality is an illusion."
Page 13:
"While reading texts from non-dual systems such as Zen, Advaita, Taoism, or Dzogchen, you will find the affirmation that Self-realization has no promise other than to release you from your belief in a separate self or ego. That's it. The dropping away of an illusion simply revealing THIS AS IT IS, often summed up in the phrase 'Before enlightenment chop wood and carry water. After enlightenment, chop wood and carry water.'"
. . . .
"Enlightenment not only shows that your separate identity is an illusion, it reveals that sheer purposelessness is at the heart of this whole creation. This sounds absurd to the goal-and-future-oriented mind; yet I will tell you unequivocally that the whole point of this manifestation is nothing other than this manifestation."
"Realizing this is far from the bleak reality the mind imagines it to be. True, this is of no use to the ego, since it is about freedom FROM the ego, not freedom FOR the ego."
The whole book is very easy to read and covers all essential points to know about enlightenment, in simple language with some logic drawn out of our day to day life. No metaphysics is involved. Beyond the general observations, the following comments are outstanding observations of the author.
Page 74:
"Witnessing is not something we progress to. It is not about self-improvement or mental states. It is about recognizing that which is already fully present; this presence observes both the 'I' and its states while, at the same time, it remains unaffected. If we see this witnessing as a new way to make us feel good, we are back at square one. Instead of identifying with the conceptual ego, we have now identified with the conceptual witness - still an independent, identified entity, merely in different garb. From this more cushioned perspective, it's easy to get trapped again in the same old illusion. As soon as the witness has become an object or concept, it becomes part of the witnessed. The real witness will never be an object of experience, but always remains that which is aware of the experience. Objectified, it becomes the 'new ego'; non-objectified, it merges with Pure awareness - that which we so intimately are that we cannot get at it; like an arrow, able to point in all directions, but not at itself."
Page 80:
"The paradox in the suggestion that the ego should be dropped is that when one is not the doer, one cannot do the dropping. What happens is more like a falling away, which comes in its own time and which is nothing other than the impersonal recognition of the ego's illusory nature. Although this realization comes by itself - it is often referred to as grace - it is not something one has to wait for. Waiting is just another way of trying to get it, which only perpetuates the illusion that there is SOMEONE who should get SOMETHING."
Page 127:
"The silent space of Pure Awareness is not what we call attention. Attention wanders from place to place."
. . . .
"Attention moves, but Pure Awareness remains unmovable."
Page 134:
"You, as a dream character, are a temporary occurrence, while you as the dreamer are beyond space and time. When you wake up to this realization, you will be as unconcerned with your personal story as you are with the character you appeared to be in your dream."
. . . .
"In the same way, as long as you appear as a dream character, you will not wake up from
the dream, but you might awaken TO the dream."
Finally, the life after realization is explained a kin to lucid dreaming, and sums up pointing the utter futility of effort in Self-realization.
Page 135:
"Lucid dreaming is a term that refers to waking up inside a dream, realizing it is a dream, and then continuing the dream with this understanding. Seeing through the illusion of separation could be termed lucid living, as it is not you waking up FROM dream of life, but the impersonal awakening TO the dream of life. From which point could an illusion see through itself as an illusion ? What could an assumed doer do to become a non-doer ? What thought could take the thinker beyond thinking ? The answer is nothing and none. Like Rumi said,
'WHOEVER BROUGHT NE HERE
WILL HAVE TO TAKE ME HOME'
This 'coming home' reveals the illusory nature of the ego, the world, time and space. All this does not disappear in a blast of white light, but what does disappear is the sense of separation that constitutes the ego illusion."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for those interested in nondualism, Oct. 11 2003
By 
Steve LaRue "Steve LaRue" (Ojai, CA, United States) - See all my reviews
I was first introduced to Leo's book at a seminar/retreat of Tony Parsons in Holland last summer. It is a wonderfully clear depiction of nondualism without the overlay of Eastern jargon which to me (or the apparent me!) is refreshing. Direct, simple, clear.
All words are mere pointers to oneness, clear seeing, presence or whatever we call that which cannot be known, grasped or found with the mind and intellect. Leo's words seem to bring us closer to the space where there is nothing to seek, nothing to find...where the simplicity of "this as it is" is enough. Tony Parsons wrote in the forward to Leo's book: "...Leo Hartong speaks straight out of the clear blue sky of non-dualism, gently but uncompromisingly leading the reader to see the original and abiding nature of what they are."
If you have any interest in nonduality, Leo's book will become one of your favorites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, Oct. 13 2003
This is the clearest book yet by a 'Westerner' on advaita / the non-dual perspective, a subject about which so much confusion exists. I really enjoyed the very patient & amazingly comprehensive approach taken by the author, Leo Hartong. Chapter by chapter, he looks at just about every aspect of non-dualism, gently exposing both the obvious & less obvious misunderstandings along the way.
The book is written more as a beautiful sharing than from any position of authority... as Leo writes, "These words are nothing but a gentle reminder from yourself to yourself that you are the awakened one".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A way to relate, Oct. 25 2003
By 
Finally, a book that is able to bridge the gap between Eastern and Western thought. Some Eastern "concepts" seem so esoteric to the Western mind, but Mr. Hartong is able to guide you through these and into the realization of what is the ultimate. I would highly suggust this book to readers who find themselves continually searching, but not necessarilly understanding many books of Eastern Philosophy. Thank You Leo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Awakening to the Dream
Awakening to the Dream by Leo Hartong (Paperback - July 1 2003)
CDN$ 15.84 CDN$ 14.72
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews