Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Corner fast, smile and say Damn! I did that well.
Keith Code and Ken Hough ("Proficient Motorcycling") have helped to demystify motorcycle behavior in turns. The concept of countersteering seems strange till you watch a bike coming directly at you and the wheel suddenly, (but temporarily) turns in the opposite direction of the subsequent turn. I've been a street rider (always having a fast/modified bike) since...
Published on Sept. 28 2002 by Norm Birndorf

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Code's most useful text for street riders
"Twist II" contains the most useful information to street riders, out of Code's three "twist"-series books. ("Twist of the Wrist" and "Soft Science" are decidedly more racetrack-oriented books and aren't really applicable for street riding, but if you race then those will be useful to you!) Code's discussion of Survival Reactions or...
Published on Dec 30 2003 by W. D. Rupy


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars NOW I FEEL SAFER ON THE STREET, Nov. 28 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Twist of the Wrist Vol. II: The Basics of High Performance Motorcycle Riding (Paperback)
THIS WAS AN ENORMOUS BOOST TO MY RIDING SKILL. I HAD BEEN RACING FOR ONLY A YEAR WHEN I READ THIS BOOK. THE THING THAT IS SO AMAZING ABOUT THIS BOOK IS THAT YOU WILL BE INFORMED WHETHER YOU JUST STARTED RIDING OR IF YOU WERE BORN ON TWO WHEELS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must, Aug. 26 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Twist of the Wrist Vol. II: The Basics of High Performance Motorcycle Riding (Paperback)
This book is considered a roadracing bible and is an absolute must for any sportbike rider. The skills tought here are not just for track but are for street as well, and will make riding more relaxed, controlled and fun, and may save your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Those damned stars ....., Feb. 6 2007
By 
Mawgirl (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Twist of the Wrist Vol. II: The Basics of High Performance Motorcycle Riding (Paperback)
Many reviewers recommend reading this book over and over. This is partly needed because it's not particularly well written, as others have noted. Poor writing shouldn't impact the quality of the content, which is good - but the book has me nearly at screaming point with the incessant stars that highlight words that are defined at the end of each chapter. Each and every star firstly jerks my attention away from the flow of the text and secondly irritates me when I realize how unnecessary it is. EVERY WRITER IN EFFECT ASSUMES THAT THE READER IS RESPONSIBLE FOR UNDERSTANDING THE TEXT. The most ridiculous words are flagged. Are motorcyclists really so stupid that they (a) don't understand the words "hesitate" or "identical" (which are not the simplest words flagged) AND (b) they are incapable of looking up a dictionary on their own? I regularly look up words I don't understand - that's my responsibility. A glossary for technical terms as an appendix, now that would have been useful. I have become so sensitized to the stars I'm having trouble getting through the text to the message. Don't let it put you off buying the book, but be warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading for all, not just racers, March 28 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Twist of the Wrist Vol. II: The Basics of High Performance Motorcycle Riding (Paperback)
He's not a proffesional writer, but it's obvious he understands bikes and how to help you understand them, too. This book will help your abilities grow closer to the motorcycle's abilities which will make you smoother and safer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Twist 2 review, March 9 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Twist of the Wrist Vol. II: The Basics of High Performance Motorcycle Riding (Paperback)
There is nothing else even close. It gives technique, step by step, easy to understand (and I like the words being defined that might be not understood.)
If you ride a bike, you better know this stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My husband really likes this book!, March 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Twist of the Wrist Vol. II: The Basics of High Performance Motorcycle Riding (Paperback)
I ordered this book for my husband. He loves to ride and is always interested in improving his skills. This book has lots of practical advice on becoming a better, and safer, rider.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book, Feb. 19 2013
By 
Dartchie (Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Twist of the Wrist Vol. II: The Basics of High Performance Motorcycle Riding (Paperback)
Being a new rider and a little heavy on the break Code gave me a better understanding on how the motorcycle works and
how to become an more confident rider. A must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, Aug. 31 2006
This review is from: Twist of the Wrist Vol. II: The Basics of High Performance Motorcycle Riding (Paperback)
Everyone who rides a motorcycle should read this. Totally recommended. I've become a lot more confident since reading this book - can't wait to try it all out "for real" on the track !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book. Just because you think you know how ..., Nov. 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Twist of the Wrist Vol. II: The Basics of High Performance Motorcycle Riding (Paperback)
Great book. Just because you think you know how to ride, doesn't mean you know the fundamentals. Every rider should own this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read for any rider, Sept. 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Twist of the Wrist Vol. II: The Basics of High Performance Motorcycle Riding (Paperback)
This book should be required reading material for the MSF course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Twist of the Wrist Vol. II: The Basics of High Performance Motorcycle Riding
CDN$ 21.95 CDN$ 15.85
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews