Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The best book on the topic for novice horse people.
I've been teaching riding and horsemanship for about 23 years and have often felt the need for just this book for my novice students and the hundreds of Pony Clubbers I've taught (and their parents!). No other book that I've found (and I own over 900 horse books) comes even close to the helpfulness and usefulness of Guay's book.
The author leads you through a...
Published on June 23 1999 by G. Slusher

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good common sense information
This book would be great for a preteen's first book about horse ownership, or for a first introduction to horse ownership. If you have already read anything else on the subject, you will probably find a lot of repeat information. There is good advice, but a lot of it is common sense.
Published on Jan. 22 2004 by AvidReader


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Good common sense information, Jan. 22 2004
By 
AvidReader "AvidReader" (Acworth, GA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Buying Your First Horse: A Guide to Preparing For, Finding, and Purchasing a Great Horse (Paperback)
This book would be great for a preteen's first book about horse ownership, or for a first introduction to horse ownership. If you have already read anything else on the subject, you will probably find a lot of repeat information. There is good advice, but a lot of it is common sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Out of focus and poorly written., Oct. 12 2003
By 
NW Shopper (Washington, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Buying Your First Horse: A Guide to Preparing For, Finding, and Purchasing a Great Horse (Paperback)
If this is the "Best book on the topic...", then it must be the only one! Luckily that is not the case, as there are many really good books available on this subject.
This rambling work just glosses over each subject that it attempts to address. It doesn't settle in on anything specific. The reader is never able to get a real idea of what they would be getting into when buying their first horse.
The writers should have made a few assumptions at the beginning, such as this book is for the average person buying their first horse, which will be relatively inexpensive and used for basic riding. Since they did not focus on anything specific, the book has no real direction or purpose. Reading it is like looking through someone else's glasses - after a few minutes your eyes kind of go blurry and start to water.
For example, there is a table that gives average costs per year of owning a horse, and under the heading "Tack" it gives annual costs from $500 - $10,000! Is this book trying to cover everyone from a 15-year old kid doing 4H to the King of Persia? Plus, don't horses eat? The table on what to expect to shell out in a year for horse costs doesn't even include the cost for feed. The total annual costs are listed as anywhere from $3520 to $25,800.
Is the average Joe, about to go out to buy their first horse, really going to budget $25,000 a year for a horse? I don't think so. Who is this book written for?
You start to almost get mad that you even wasted your time once you read this book. Then it gets kind of entertaining, because there are so many mistakes, that I found it hard to believe that I was reading a published work, and not a rough draft. There are sentences that start and then just end in the middle. One sentence had the word "so" when they meant to use "do". There are so many grammatical and typographical errors that it makes you wonder if the authors even read it!
The last section of the book is entitled "Buyer Beware!" I think that about sums it up. I'm just glad that we got it for free at the library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars HORSE TRAINER, July 4 2003
By 
SHANNON L. McKEE (WICHITA, KS. United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Buying Your First Horse: A Guide to Preparing For, Finding, and Purchasing a Great Horse (Paperback)
THIS IS A GREAT BOOK FOR THE FIRST TIME HORSE OWNER. I HAND IT OUT TO ANY AND EVERYONE TO ASK ME ABOUT OWNING A HORSE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars full of misinformation, May 10 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Buying Your First Horse: A Guide to Preparing For, Finding, and Purchasing a Great Horse (Paperback)
as I started to read this book I thought, OK, not a lot of detail but a good overview. The more I read the more obvious it was that the authors were providing some very inacccurate and predjudicial information. Readers of this book are presented with a narrow view of an expansive subject.
Some of the glaring misinformation: "In the United States, a negative Coggins test is required for any horse bought or sold, raced, shown or crossing state lines." Complete misuse of the terms "linebreeding" and "inbred" as well as comment that purebred horses have "faults due to inbreeding" The term "nuetered" is not used regarding horses. Male or female. Castration is the proper term for explaining the gelding of a male horse. "Stallions. . . are hard to manage and dangerous". "A stallion near a mare in season is dangerous" both comments are grossly inaccurate. A stallion is not a suitable horse for a beginner or first time buyer, but they are not dangerous or hard to manange simply because they are stallions. Similar inaccurate statements were made about mares "in estrous". Also untrue.
This is the kind of book presented to beginners and first time horse buyers who have no way of knowing better, things as fact that are not, because it is written by so-called experts. My impression of the book is that is was written by someone who pieced together information from other sources and without proofreading by qualified horsepeople.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Too Limited, Nov. 21 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Buying Your First Horse: A Guide to Preparing For, Finding, and Purchasing a Great Horse (Paperback)
The information in this book is much too limited to be of any value for anyone wishing to purchase their first horse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not enough information!, Sept. 13 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Buying Your First Horse: A Guide to Preparing For, Finding, and Purchasing a Great Horse (Paperback)
If you know little to nothing about horses this book will probably have a good deal of information for you. However, for people who know more about horses this book is not really applicable. Too many of the topics the author brings up are not thoroughly covered...mainly you get an overview but no real knowledge is gained. Also this book is not a guide to BUYING your horse, it should be titled "So...you think you want to buy a horse". You will want and need more information about the actual purchase...such as confirmation and good questions to ask about the horses current and past health.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Horses, Sept. 25 2001
By 
This review is from: Buying Your First Horse: A Guide to Preparing For, Finding, and Purchasing a Great Horse (Paperback)
This book was okay, but I would've enjoyed it a little more knowing that I hadn't paid so much for it. I do agree with some people, how the pictures were kinda big and teh margines, well, I'll let you see for yourself. I have never ridden a horse yet I love them and my sister rides everyday. I know a lot about horses even though I have no experience riding. I know that it's kinda hard to hurt a horse while brushing it and that is one of the easiest things for a horse owner. Sugar cubes, apples, carrots, etc are treats, not regular food. So if you didn't know that you SHOULD get this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Too basic to be helpful, Oct. 27 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Buying Your First Horse: A Guide to Preparing For, Finding, and Purchasing a Great Horse (Paperback)
If you need advice like "if you've never ridden before, be sure to take a few riding lessons before deciding whether to purchase a horse" (yes, the authors actually thought it necessary to tell their readers this), then this book may help you out. But if you are looking for tips on evaluating conformation, soundess, suitability, etc. then look elsewhere. Lacking a trainer who could travel to evaluate horses with me, I was hoping to find a "pocket guide" to the issues that are beyond the ken of the average rider who has never owned a horse. I was disappointed to find this book addressed more to the average person who has never ridden. There was almost no information on figuring out whether a given horse is a good match.
This book may be best used to convince your horse-crazy offspring that there's more to the undertaking than feeding carrots to a pony . . . but anyone who's seriously contemplating horse-ownership should get far more information before making this important commitment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very Little Useful Information, April 11 2000
By 
This review is from: Buying Your First Horse: A Guide to Preparing For, Finding, and Purchasing a Great Horse (Paperback)
I'm a recent first-time horse buyer and read prolifically before buying. There are a lot of excellent books out there and this isn't one of them! The actual text is only about 150 pages with huge margins, spacing, and too many pics/graphics. This may be a handy little book if priced for less. I find it very interesting that the ratings seem extreme - either very good or very bad...did the authors have friends send e-mails?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Way too general, Feb. 10 2000
By 
Dana Hughes (East Tennessee) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Buying Your First Horse: A Guide to Preparing For, Finding, and Purchasing a Great Horse (Paperback)
i ordered the book and was so excited when i saw it in the mailbox...two hours later after i had finished the book i was extremely disappointed. i was looking for specifics, and this book was very general. there was a lot of "ask your trainer this...," and "ask your barn manager that...". i was reading the book because i wanted to learn, not because i wanted to know what to "ask my trainer." i'm definately not an expert on horses...but i did know that horses have 4 legs and eat hay. i agree with one of the other reviews that i read (a little late!), that said you feel like they just couldn't make a commitment on their opinion of proper horse care. this book would be fine for a 12 year old that's never riden before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb43f4e94)

This product

Buying Your First Horse: A Guide to Preparing For, Finding, and Purchasing a Great Horse
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews