Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Right direction
We read the Trailblazer vacation planning guide No Worries Hawaii and decided kauai was the island for us with all it's hiking opportunities. The guide took about a week to arrive which gave us time to arrange our air travel on Alaska Air and rent a centrally located cottage that has an oceanview.

We're in the process of checking off all the great hikes we...
Published on Nov. 4 2007 by A. Grosh

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Kauai is great...this book is so-so.
I too purchased this book because of all the great reviews on Amazon. It's true that it features many off the beaten track locations that most tourists would not normally find on their own. However, it strangely includes few maps, and the quality of the maps it does contain is poor. The written directions are often mysterious and hard to understand as a result. Was...
Published on June 20 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Right direction, Nov. 4 2007
By 
This review is from: Kauai Trailblazer: Where to Hike, Snorkel, Bike, Paddle, Surf (Paperback)
We read the Trailblazer vacation planning guide No Worries Hawaii and decided kauai was the island for us with all it's hiking opportunities. The guide took about a week to arrive which gave us time to arrange our air travel on Alaska Air and rent a centrally located cottage that has an oceanview.

We're in the process of checking off all the great hikes we want to take. Once we get there it won't be foreign to us at all. We now know the highway layout, side roads and all the photos have given us an idea of where the good beaches are situated. Precious cargo, it's going in the carry-on with our camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beach Finds!, Oct. 29 2006
This review is from: Kauai Trailblazer: Where to Hike, Snorkel, Bike, Paddle, Surf (Paperback)
I know it seems silly to say but this guide was truly our "passport to adventure". We could have never found the tucked away beaches like "Secret" without our trailblazer. Their maps supported their detailed directions. Another plus were all the photographs on almost every page. Winner guide and one that every tourist should bring to Kauai.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cloud NINE!, Feb. 12 2006
This review is from: Kauai Trailblazer: Where to Hike, Snorkel, Bike, Paddle, Surf (Paperback)
We're just back and have one piece of advice for anyone thinking of exploring Kauai: GET KAUAI TRAILBLAZER! It lived up to the description on the back cover and we really put it to the ultimate test. We've hiked and climbed all over North America and nothing beats what you see in Kauai.
All the information is listed in nice graphics. You can randomnly open the book and know just where you are on the island because they use highway mile markers in their driving instructions. Well done, and we think it absolutely deserves a five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One and only, July 17 2005
This review is from: Kauai Trailblazer: Where to Hike, Snorkel, Bike, Paddle, Surf (Paperback)
If you want to bring just one guidebook along, look no further. This is the one we planned our total two week itinerary with, day by day. We bought the big map from the university and spread it out. Our trailblazer is organized by areas, broken into five sections, so we could guage the time and distance of the hikes we wanted to take. For the Waimea Canyon this was particulary important since there is not much written material for this area. A few sketchy maps were available at the visitor's center. Water was scarce in many places and the book made it clear that keeping hydrated was in our best interest. The authors had many such tips in all the appropriate places. As amateur botanists we had a field day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My report card, April 15 2003
By 
Teague (Lompoc, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kauai Trailblazer: Where to Hike, Snorkel, Bike, Paddle, Surf (Paperback)
These sports gurus get an A+ for the variety of trails and excursions packed into one well rounded volune. The authors do the island justice. THere are enough hikes and bike rides to keep the average vacationer busy for a month. We saw it all, did all we could in two weeks and look forward to more during our next break. Maps A+, accuracy A+, detail A+, photography A+, cultural info A+. We enjoyed using this chunky guidebook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First Visit, Feb. 14 2003
By 
Cindy Dondero (Beaverton, Oregon) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kauai Trailblazer: Where to Hike, Snorkel, Bike, Paddle, Surf (Paperback)
This book served as our primary field guide for finding hiking routes. We had heard Kauai was known for its uncrowded spaces and this book proved it very true. No other book lists so many trails. It is well written and contains precise directions and maps that made driving to the traiheads easy. During our two week trip there was never any down time which is amazing for a family of five. When the boys wouldn't walk another step, we hauled them to recommended beaches where they could boogie board and build sand castles. We're lending this treasure with all our underlining and notes to the family next door and plan to buy their Maui book for our Christmas vacation next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Trusty navigator, Oct. 30 2002
By 
Louis (Incline Village, NV) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kauai Trailblazer: Where to Hike, Snorkel, Bike, Paddle, Surf (Paperback)
Our family companion for ten days. Definitely towers above all the other guide books. The fact that it rolls five sports into one volume is genius and the sprinkling of history was an added bonus. We all took a turn at choosing which hike to take and never ran out of new beaches to snorkel. A real bargain and a necessity if you've never been there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rocks!, Sept. 3 2002
This review is from: Kauai Trailblazer: Where to Hike, Snorkel, Bike, Paddle, Surf (Paperback)
The best book, PERIOD. Kauai Trailblazer took us on a remarkable adventure. Positive feedback for its breadth and style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Our Honeymoon, Dec 11 2001
This review is from: Kauai Trailblazer: Where to Hike, Snorkel, Bike, Paddle, Surf (Paperback)
We just got back from spending our honeymoon week on Kauai. Kauai Trailblazer was a wedding present and proved to be pure gold. We rented bikes and reached places our rental car could have never navigated. Good directions to waterfalls and remote place s l ike Donkey Beach. All the telephone numbers for surfboard and snorkle gear were right in the book. We used it to know where the farmers markets were each day and where the safest places to swim were. Our standby, like an information almanac. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kauai-ized, March 12 2004
By 
RIchardson (Bowling Green, OH) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kauai Trailblazer: Where to Hike, Snorkel, Bike, Paddle, Surf (Paperback)
We made a great discovery, this book Kauai Trailblazer. We bought our copy at the airport when we arrived and it served us well. It was wet and soggy four out of the seven days so we gravitated to the dry side of the island as they recommended and stretched out walking long miles of beach. Right away we found out why this island is known for its rainbows.

Two must do's are kayaking the Wailua River and hiking the Black Pipe Trail in Waimea Canyon. The directions for the maze like trail to Waipio Falls were excellent. We were guided through all the paths twists and turns and ended up immersed in big open landscapes that are beyond words. We kept pinching ourselves. We've blown up many of the photos we took to preserve the memories. Our vacation was very energizing, a once in a lifetime experience.
My only advice is to read it before you go in order to strategize and prioritize. Over and over again it seemed nightfall came way too soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb100248c)

This product

Kauai Trailblazer: Where to Hike, Snorkel, Bike, Paddle, Surf
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews