Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage Kitchen SmartSaver Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars175
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on May 11, 2012
I am a huge fan of these authors and their cookbooks- I own them all and cook pretty much exclusively from them and have since I was in college. These cookbooks are best-sellers for a reason. This cookbook is cheerful, colourful and full of tons of recipes. I can't resist grabbing it off my shelf to browse it all the time. The must-try recipes are the Red, White and Yahoo Salad, the Lemon Ricotta pancakes, and the homemade granola. I highly recommend this book!

Here are the recipes that I have tried: (I will update this review as I try new ones, I try approx. 2 new ones every week.)
Strip T's (Sesame and coconut-crusted turkey strips with pineapple-plum sauce) These are very good!
Where's Waldorf? (Apples , celery and toasted walnuts tossed with rotini pasta in a light, creamy dressing) AWESOME! I loved it!
The Chicken Coup (Chicken salad with pecans and cranberries in a creamy orange dressing) Fabulous! My fiance requests this often.
Moroccan and Rollin' Quinoa Salad (Colorful quinoa salad with chickpeas, veggies, lemon and mint) Didn't love it.
Rootie Toot Fruit Salad (Simple and simply delicious fruit salad with creamy orange-yogurt dressing.) Didn't love it.
Rice Capades- (Brown rice salad with cantaloupe, cucumber and cilantro in a zesty lime dressing)Not bad.
Red, White and Yahoo! (Grape tomatoes, fresh mozzarella and chickpeas tossed with fresh basil and balsamic vinegar.) WOW! This is my favourite recipe in the book! I think it is worth the price of the cookbook! We've made this again and again- LOVE IT!
Grainman- (Light-tasting, colourful bulgar salad with dried cranberries, walnuts and fresh mint)Good salad- my fiance loved it.
It's all Greek to Me (Traditional greek salad with fresh oregano, mint and a light vinaigrette dressing) Good greek salad.
It's a Little Pizza Heaven- (Colourful vegetable pizza with pesto and feta) Not great, we don't really like pre-baked pizza crusts.
Lasagna with Mex Appeal (Layered Mexican tortilla casserole) Easy to make and yummy- fiance loved and had 3 helpings! :)
Chili Chili Bang Bang (Spicy, stew-like, loaded vegetarian chili) REALLY like this recipe- good, yummy, easy & lots of leftovers.
Beany Baby- (Spicy vegetarian chili with meatless ground burger and two kinds of beans) Quite good- makes lots- fiance loved.
Fromage a Trois (Three-cheese vegetable lasagna with chunky tomato sauce) Tasty lasagna! I learned how to make a homemade lasagna from these authors with much success. I don't think that this is their best lasagna recipe though. Don't get me wrong, this is very good, but I think that the one I made from the original Looneyspoons was better. Will report back after I try their other lasagna recipes which one is the best.
Ham-Me-Down Dinner (Baked ham and pineapple with orange-mustard sauce) Made this for company, turned out great, yum! (Company e-mailed me later for the recipe)
All in the Yamily (Roasted sweet potatoes with a hint of apple and ginger) Turned out great, very good.
Viva Las Veggies (Roasted vegetable gratin with tomatoes, zucchini, mushrooms and onions)Wasn't amazing, wouldn't make it again.
Welcome Back, 'Cotta! (Lemon-ricotta pancakes with fresh blueberry sauce) These are so, so fantastic! I love this recipe tons!!! Can't wait to make them again!
Yumola Granola- (Scrumptious homemade granola with oats, nuts, seeds, dried cranberries, peanut butter and honey) This is delish granola! I've never made granola at home before. This was easy and turned out great! I love it and will definitely make it again!! WAY better than buying storebought. It has that homebaked goodness that makes it taste so good.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on January 2, 2012
Another great book from these two! And it is a beautiful book. Lots of pictures, lots of info and tips, and of course Los of scrumptious recipes, both new and old (from their other 3 books). It is a fantastic book, I find I have lots of cookbooks but I cook mostly from these books....healthy and quick and easy and my family approves!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on December 28, 2011
I LOVE all their books and this is NO exception. A nice compilation and update of old recipes plus many great new ideas too. All with lovely colour pictures this time. You won't be disappointed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on February 2, 2012
Two months ago I had never heard of the Podleski sisters. Now I think they're the greatest thing since sliced bread. What a wonderful book! I can't praise it enough. The food tastes great, the recipes are easy to follow, and there are so many nuggets of information included, it is much more than a recipe book. We've tried about 10 recipes so far, my family likes the food, and we are losing weight! It doesn't feel like diet food, and you don't feel like you're suffering eating it. On the contrary. I am able to enjoy the food, know that it's healthy for me, and happily lose weight. My diet is more balanced now. I've still got cookies and chocolate in the house, but I don't touch them because I don't crave them anymore!
We have switched to brown rice, we munch on nuts throughout the day, have lots of fruit, and really enjoy it! My 7-year old is starting to lose his belly fat, and he doesn't even know he's following a special diet.
I am simply thrilled with this book. It's become my companion. I sit and flip through it at odd moments of the day.
I just love it!
Thank you to the two dedicated sisters.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on November 28, 2013
I love this cookbook. I am not a fan of cooking/baking, but these sisters make being in the kitchen enjoyable. I might even confess that I am starting to enjoy planning and cooking my family's meals. The recipes call for ingredients that are easy to find in our local grocery store. The recipes are tasty- whether they are old classic recipes with a zip or a new ingenious one. I highly recommend this cookbook!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on April 28, 2012
This is the first Janet and Greta cookbook I've ever owned but it has quickly become my new favourite. The pictures are vibrant and make every dish look tempting. The nutrition trivia throughout the book is interesting and I've learned quite a lot from just reading the book. The girls have a pretty cheesy sense of humour, but I do watch their show so I'm used to it and, truth be told, their puns do make me giggle every now and then. The book is well organized, nicely laid out, and easy to follow.

I've tried several of the recipes and have liked them all so far. My favourites are the Hawowii Meatball Kebobs, the pistachio-crusted whitefish, the Mexican pizza, and the linguine with chicken, veggies, and an Asian vinaigrette. I made the banana blueberry muffins for a book club meeting last week and they were a hit.

This book has really brought a new life to my cooking, which was starting to feel tedious. I look forward to flipping through the book when I'm planning meals and I even enjoy grocery shopping again. It was a Christmas gift and I'm so glad I got it - it was just what I needed!

I HIGHLY recommend this one!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on January 31, 2012
Awesome cookbook. The recipes are simple and easy to prepare. The pictures are gorgeous. Another great cook book from the Looneyspoons collection. I have them all and love them all.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on April 16, 2012
Thanks Janet & Greta for another great cookbook! Purchased "Eat, Shrink and be Merry" years ago and found all the recipes excellent. Love that the recipes are made with health in mind. Can have confidence that the meals I'm preparing are good for my family without having to put any thought into finding alternative, healthy do the work for us. And every recipe I have made from both books (and the show) has tasted excellent! Even if it's something new with ingredients that am not particularly fond of don't hesitate to make it because I know it will still taste good - and might find a new favourite in the process. Appreciate the caloric breakdown! And even though I enjoy the play-on-words, for the recipe titles it does make it difficult sometimes to understand what the heck it is! Of course then you're forced to read it more closely, and maybe that's the point.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on January 29, 2014
I bought this cookbook when it was first released. Since then, I have bought one for a friend, sister-in-law,sister, boss, and have suggested it to three other people who have since purchased. This is my #1 go to cookbook every week. I usually make at least one meal from this book every week. Easy, not complicated and also great for a beginner cook. Flavourful, has all the nutrional information so great for anyone on Weight Watchers as points can be calculated or anyone counting calories. Some of the recipes are a little higher in calorie count than I would like but I save those for special occasions. There may have been maybe one or two things that I have made that I didn't like but everything else has been a grand slam!
Highly recommend this cookbook to anyone I know. Best investment to my health and weight loss. :)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on May 31, 2014
I read about the original Looneyspoons recipe book while reading The Wealthy Barber Returns by David Chilton. I never really cooked very much and but I decided to give this book a try.

My cooking was an instant hit with my family. Over the past two weeks, I've made over 10 recipes and it has really refreshed our way of eating. The family also gets a kick out of seeing me cook! The recipes are very tasty, simple to prepare and the ingredients easy to find.

The book is also very good reading! The jokes are corny but fun. The nutrition and health facts are very informative.

As David Chilton would say, the rate of return on this book is outstanding! I will be giving this book to my kids and to some of my friends.

Buy it and eat well!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Looneyspoons: Low-Fat Food Made Fun!
Looneyspoons: Low-Fat Food Made Fun! by Janet & Greta Podleski (Paperback - 1996)

The Everything Healthy Slow Cooker Cookbook
The Everything Healthy Slow Cooker Cookbook by Rachel Rappaport (Paperback - Aug. 18 2010)
CDN$ 13.77