Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended Book
In training for the LSAT, I used only official preptests sold by LSAC. Many past reviewers recommended studying multiple books, like those available by Kaplan or Princeton Review. I have found that Kaplan and other study aides add to the confusion many test takers experience, and Kaplan even admits that its study guides do not help 40% of those who buy the books...
Published on Jan. 4 2004

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this.
These tests are very old - dating back well over ten years. It's not very useful to use such old tests, and I would not recommend this purchase. Do your research and find one with more recent tests.
Published on Oct. 3 2011 by Amber Neumann


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended Book, Jan. 4 2004
By A Customer
In training for the LSAT, I used only official preptests sold by LSAC. Many past reviewers recommended studying multiple books, like those available by Kaplan or Princeton Review. I have found that Kaplan and other study aides add to the confusion many test takers experience, and Kaplan even admits that its study guides do not help 40% of those who buy the books.
If you want to do well on the LSAT, this is the way to study:
Your first purchase should the 10 More Actual, Official LSAT PrepTests. The PrepTest book will give several of real LSATs to take, though without question analysis. All of the answers are given, but they are not explained. I find this to be a bonus, because I believe that a test taker can learn more from figuring out why the answer is what is, instead of just going by the problematical answers Kaplan gives. Kaplan's answers have a tendency to be too long and lack an accurate answer. It is similar to when a person is talking but they are not really saying anything.
Just getting used to taking the test is the most important part of the preparation process. If you finish all ten tests, get the older 10 Actual, Official LSAT PrepTests.
DO NOT buy Kaplan's LSAT 180. It is full of the toughest questions that KAPLAN could MAKE UP. These questions are so bogus that they lowered everyone in my study group's score: we all had scores over 170 before this book. On one page, Kaplan gave two complete different explanations for two questions that were the exact same type of question. Kaplan's answers to MADE UP questions are lacking judgment. Kaplan is simply too lazy to buy official questions.
Also, both [...] and Amazon have individual PrepTests available for $8 each. Get the latest tests: these aren't a good buy like the books of ten, but seeing the most up to date material - even if it's just 1 or 2 tests - is worth it. If you are not in a hurry, you can get the tests free of shipping from LSAC, and they have the MOST RECENT tests, while Amazon tends to lack the two most recent tests.
Specifically, get the June 2000 (PrepTest 31) exam. This contains the notorious "CD Game," the second game, which is commonly considered the most complicated LSAT logic game ever.
BUT...
If you REALLY want to, go ahead and pay in the thousands for a LSAT class prep course, like those offered by Kaplan and Princeton Review. I do not suggest doing that, but confidence is essential for acing the LSAT. If you feel that taking an over-priced prep course will boast your self-assurance, feel free to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential for LSAT prep, Dec 7 2003
By A Customer
I began studying for the LSAT in July. On my first practice tests, I was scoring around 160. When I finally took the test in December, I got a 174. This is how I did it.
In preparing for the LSAT, I have used a wide variety of study guides--10 Actual, Official LSAT PrepTests, 10 More Actual Official PrepTests, Kaplan's LSAT 2004, Kaplan's LSAT 180, Princeton Review's Cracking the LSAT 2004, and REA's Best Test Prep. The only bad one among them was REA's; the rest were quite helpful. This book was the conerstone of my preparation. If you want to do well on the LSAT, this is the way to study:
Your first two purchases should be Kaplan's (or Princeton's, if you prefer) most current LSAT guide and 10 More Actual, Official LSAT PrepTests. Kaplan's book will give you a good intro to the test, along with 3 full tests with a detailed analysis for each question. The PrepTest book will give you plenty of real, recently-administered LSATs to take, though without question analysis. Just getting used to taking the test is the most important part of the preparation process, and between the two books, 13 full tests should be plenty.
If, after 4 or 5 tests, you're noticing your scores plateau around 165, and you want to bump them up, get Kaplan's LSAT 180. It is full of the toughest questions that Kaplan's crew could come up with (along with a few nasty ones you might see adapted from real questions on LSAC's PrepTests), and strategies on how to approach them. The regular, yearly guides are a great way to start studying, but they will only take you so far. LSAT 180 can take you the rest of the way, as its name implies. You should be warned beforehand though--these are THE TOUGHEST questions you will find anywhere. If you can handle these, most of the actual test will seem like cake.
If you burn through all of Kaplan's Tests--including the free online one--and all 10 Actual tests (Like I did), you can always get the older 10 Actual, Official LSAT PrepTests. It's still good prep; the only difference is that the tests are older--December '92 is the oldest; September '95 is the most recent. Some minor things have changed: the older tests are a little harder, which means a lower raw score here translates into a higher scaled score; the wording of questions is different; and some of the types of logic games that are on the newer tests aren't on these. However, if you've taken all the tests in the more recent book, and you know what to expect to see on the actual test, taking the PrepTests in this book is a good way to keep your practice going.
Also, both LSAC.org and Amazon have individual PrepTests available for $8 apiece. You can get all the most recent tests--sometimes right up to the one most recently administered. These aren't as good a deal as the books of 10, but seeing the most recent material--even if it's just 1 or 2 tests--is worth it. Though I haven't taken it, I've heard that PrepTest 31 (June 2000) has the most difficult Logic Game ever on it... that might be worth checking out. *****UPDATE***** I took PrepTest 31. The CD game was thoroughly underwhelming--I didn't even think it was the hardest game on the test. Maybe that's just me.
Anyway, that's about it. If you want to prepare for the LSAT as thoroughly and effectively as possible, this is the way to do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Essential, If Not Complete, Dec 19 2003
By 
April (Louisville, KY) - See all my reviews
"10 More Actual, Official LSAT Preptests" is absolutely essential to studying for the big exam. I've been working with Arco and Kaplan's books, which both feature sample tests and some exercises. However, they're inadequate in preparing you for the nature of the real test questions. "10 More...Preptests," being actual LSATs, actually do give you a feel for the test's real questions.
The only complaint I have is that there is no explanation key but it's a minor complaint, since I have had to look over my answers and figure out for myself why my answers were wrong. Of course, this helps, as it forces you to examine the questions more thoroughly than you normally would.
My recommendation is to use this book in conjunction with a study guide (Kaplan has a good one). Study the test-taking techniques and do the exercises in the study guide, THEN test your skills with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as the first one, Jan. 11 2003
By 
Reid Seino (Salem, OR USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This second collection of 10 exams was, like the first Official LSAT Preptest collection, a good exam backup. The only real difference, besides the physical one of being slightly thinner and different page printing, was that this book seemingly didn't feel like it was any different. The additional tests were good practice, though, and for LSAT students, especially those that are either taking it for the first time or reviewing to get a better score, all the help you can get is better than nothing at all. This is a good idea and helpful in combining multiple exams together for a rather decent price. One knock on the books themselves is that the Exam comprises 5 sections while the preptests have only the 4 sections that were scored. Since the 3 main areas are covered for you, though, you're not losing anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book But Next Edition Out in Summer, Dec 23 2003
As no shortage of other reviewers have noted, this book is a must-have for LSAT study. The only negatives are: 1- No explanations. 2 - The tests are getting to be a bit dated.
The tests included in this volume are PrepTests 19-28. But, you can also get your hands on the more recent PrepTests 29-40, but must pay a higher cost per test, as you must purchase each individually. I contacted the folks at lsac.org and asked when the next edition of 10 real LSATs would come out. They informed me that it would be next summer (2004). As such, if you're not taking the LSAT for some time, you may want to wait and pick up the more recent tests instead (or, get all three volumes and do 30 former LSATs -- the more, the better).
Test-Preparation.net
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 10 More chances to practice, July 8 2003
By 
C. Price "cprice1908" (Laurel, MD) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I purchased this book and the original 10 Real LSATS. Honestly, I only finished the original 10 Real LSATS. I became swamped with too many LSAT questions. If you feel as if you need a lot of practice by all means purchase both books or you can purchase just one. They are both Real LSAT exams that were previously administered. They contain actual grid sheets and everything except for the 5th experimental section. If you want to practice by using the 5th e. section having both books might come in handy because you could do one complete exam in one book (4 sections) and then add one section from the other book to make 5 sections. At least purchase one of the books so you can get a real feel for the exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Question explanations please!!!, June 26 2003
Just in case you didn't know, I thought I should write a review to say that there are no explanations of the questions. All of the answers are, of course, given, but they aren't explained. So, even if you are convinced that it's (A), and the back of the book says (C), it doesn't tell you why you're wrong. Nevertheless, taking loads of tests is absolutely the best way to prep out there. Basically, those thousand dollar courses are for people who don't have the motivation to buy these books and do it themselves. So, if you want to save money and know you can force yourself to take these practice tests, I highly suggest that you do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Far and away, the best way to prepare for the LSAT, June 10 2003
By 
Paul P. Arnold (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There is no substitute for taking real, timed, practice LSATs. It is simply the best way to prepare for the real thing. My study plan was two part: First, I paid the big bucks for an LSAT class. Second, I studied real tests every day out of this and its companion book. While the class was great, I found that simply studing all of the material on the real test was by far the most useful thing I did (not to mention that it cost a lot less). These books are simply a must have to prepare well and I recomend them to everyone. In my case, they helped me score in the mid 170s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars getting ready for the LSAT, March 1 2004
By A Customer
This book was the single most helpful tool in preparing for the LSAT. I began with Kaplan's LSAT prep book, which was a good introduction to how to approach the test. However, the Kaplan sample tests were not good representations of the actual tests, since they contained some mistakes and poorly formulated questions, they were in some ways more difficult. I used the 10 More Actual LSAT tests along with the most recently released tests (which you can buy individually).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good preparation for taking the exam, Jan. 29 2003
The reading comprehension sections in this book were easier than those of the Oct. & Dec. 2002 exams, but the other sections were comparable. I personally feel there's nothing like being exposed to actual test questions to help one feel confident going into the test. By utilizing this book alone, I was able to score in the upper 160's. I would definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Official Lsat:10 More Actual Tests
Official Lsat:10 More Actual Tests by Wendy Margolis (Paperback - Feb. 2010)
CDN$ 32.20 CDN$ 19.75
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews