march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage snsflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars10
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$22.09+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 27, 2006
This is an excellent book on meat smoking and building smokers. This is not a cookbook loaded with recipes, but rather a tutorial on the art of traditional smoking. Well presented explanation about the differences between smoking, barbecuing and grilling. Anyone considering building his own smoker should read this book first--not only does it explain various concepts such as draft, smoke delivery, pipe length, baffles, etc., it also contains plans for concrete block smokers, barrel smokers, masonry smokers, and many others (there are about 100 drawings and 50 photos in it that beautifully illustrate the concepts and plans presented).
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2014
Nothing fancy.. just a good old fashioned style book with black and white photographs and real stories with basic designs. Have a look in your yard, or a garage/yard sale and then consult the book, and probably you would be able to create your own smoke-house from an afternoons work, or several weekends depending on how much you want to put into it. There is a good chapter on meat safety and recipes which I have not tried yet, but am confident that by using this book , I will be smoking this winter...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2012
Complementary book to home sausage making from Mariansky brothers. Even if some things are repeated from home sausage making there is also much more information on smoking process and smoker building (even a sketh and info to build one with gas piping).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2014
very good book clear and easy to understand ,, it covers the fundamentals and much more ,, perhaps a little dry in some areas but overall very good with lots of information ,,,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2013
This is a well-written resource, full of useful information for someone interested in smoking meat and building a smokehouse. Enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2016
It was exactly what I was expecting, and more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2014
We purchased this book for our son who began hunting , tanning hides etc. it was a waste of money .It was partly my fault had I read the reviews more I would have known this is not the book for backwoods bush people . If you want to spend oodles of money on equipment & tech stuff then yes buy the book .If You want to set up an old time smoker & salt cure etc. there are other books he learned so much from we found via the library but also carried here at Amazon which I am ordering for him now . personally unless we were going to set up a business / shop I would stay away from this book .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2014
Lots of good info and recipes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2015
A good reference for smoking!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2015
Very happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse