Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for @home
As the owner of the original Modernist Cuisine set this is a very interesting look at cooking for the at home chef. The original is designed for people that have access to professional kitchens or at least want a comprehensive knowledge about everything relating to food. This book is not that. @home provides a wonderful tutorial about the tools, equipment, ingredients,...
Published 21 months ago by TRF81

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The description on the back cover and in amazon says ...
The description on the back cover and in amazon says that the book describes many culinary techniques when in reality the entire book uses only two techniques: sous vide and pressure cooking.
Published 1 month ago by Jon Bailey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for @home, Jan. 8 2013
By 
TRF81 (Guelph, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Modernist Cuisine at Home (Hardcover)
As the owner of the original Modernist Cuisine set this is a very interesting look at cooking for the at home chef. The original is designed for people that have access to professional kitchens or at least want a comprehensive knowledge about everything relating to food. This book is not that. @home provides a wonderful tutorial about the tools, equipment, ingredients, and some basic techniques that will allow you to create some amazingly delicious food at home.

As in the original the focus on different techniques including cooking with pressure cooker and sous vide (I highly recommend getting this set up, it is truly incredible) play a major role in the recipes offered. The wonderful aspect of this book is that the equipment is not always required and if you read the early sections you can create almost all of the recipes with equipment currently in your kitchen.

On to the good stuff, the food and recipes! they are fantastic. With Modernist Cuisine @home you can hit the kitchen immediately and start making some delicious food to impress you taste buds and blow your friends away. Unlike most cook book books MC @home provides detailed weight (and explanations on how to scale up or down according to your needs)and time measurements along with step by step tutorials. Many of the recipes also have full photo spreads in the book.

This book stays true to the Modernist Cuisine philosophy of science before food, however it makes everything easy to do. And the kitchen manual is awesome - pages that can not be ripped or stained by food - they are even waterproof so you can simply wipe them down with a damp cloth when done and they will not be damaged.

This book will make you a better @home cook if you follow the simple instructions. and as i said earlier a small investment in some new technology and the belief that the food is that much better will take you a long way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wow..., Oct. 10 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modernist Cuisine at Home (Hardcover)
This book is incredible. I'm probably the worst person to be getting this book as I suck at cooking but trying out some of the recipes I have found that they give you a really easy way to follow the recipe and it turns out I can cook, with a little help from a good book.

This book is actually a case, hardcover book full of photographs, and a small kitchen ringed book that's washable and tear-resistant.

For just over a hundred bucks you can't go wrong with this purchase.

The only reason this did not get 5 stars is because it was shipped not in a cardboard box, but just the book surrounded by a thin layer of plastic that was mangled by the time I got it.. so I've got a great book that looks like someone threw it off a building.

Anyways. Phenomenal book. This is the only cooking book I'll probably ever look at other than a BBQ book.

Highly recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding, Jan. 2 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modernist Cuisine at Home (Hardcover)
A book written for real amateur cooks. No painted fingernails here. Some intelligence required as well as an understanding of basic science as used to be taught in elementary schools. The best written recipes. Fabulous photographs. This is a book to raise one's standard of living in the most fundamental way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much more practical, Oct. 13 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modernist Cuisine at Home (Hardcover)
Having purchased the original Modernist Cuisine set, I was very impressed by the range and scope of that original book. However I found the original books a little bit out of my reach, actually WAY out of my reach. So I was excited when I heard that Modernist Cuisine was creating a book that was more practical for the home cook like myself. I still love the original set of books because the depth of scientific background information is unparalleled and a VERY interesting read. This new book however, gives a wealth of information but allows recipes to be created at home.

I only received the book yesterday but I am EXTREMELY happy with everything I have seen so far.

My book also arrived with VERY SLIGHT damaging to the protective box which encloses the book and kitchen manual. Does not take away from the books or case in any way in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very well written,excellent photography!!!, April 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modernist Cuisine at Home (Hardcover)
Having already bought and appreciated Modernist cuisine,this represents a fitting complement. It can be used alone and will be a very useful addition to anyone wanting a better understanding of how cooking processes really work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great technical cook book, March 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modernist Cuisine at Home (Hardcover)
This is not a book for everyone. But for the person with a curious technical analytical thinking they will enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brillant!, July 21 2014
By 
wade "Occasional binge listener!" (St. Albert, AB, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modernist Cuisine at Home (Hardcover)
An inspired masterpiece! This is a book of cuisine every cooking enthusiast should own. I am not finished exploring all of the new ideas I have read. I am using this edition to warm up for the 5 volume set which I purchased at the same time. I am sure I need to be properly prepared in order to avoid being overwhelmed. I am looking forward to that challenge once I have finished the first book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not the usual cookbook, June 13 2014
By 
brett collins (Waitakere, Auckland New Zealand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modernist Cuisine at Home (Hardcover)
A cheaper extract of Modernist Cuisine, very technical and very detailed, like an algorithm without a heart. I wanted to own it anyway but will need to make time to use it. Not the earthy cooking manual some might hope for. Cooking has an emotional dimension that needs to be enjoyed. I am keen to delve into the book more deeply. The size and weight is against it being easily cradled for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive, June 6 2014
This review is from: Modernist Cuisine at Home (Hardcover)
An impressive technical cookbook. Beautifully laid out with stunning photography. Comes with accompanying volume with a wipe clean cover to use in the heat of the kitchen.
I particularly like the tables that outline how long to cook various meats and fish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The defining textbook on cooking, May 22 2014
By 
Mike Macdonald "Mike Mac" (Calgary, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modernist Cuisine at Home (Hardcover)
Modernist Cuisine answers all those questions on cooking you always had but had no one to ask. Only draw back very hard to search
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Modernist Cuisine at Home
Modernist Cuisine at Home by Maxime Bilet (Hardcover - Oct. 8 2012)
CDN$ 156.30 CDN$ 92.17
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews