Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent work, really helped in landing a tech job at one of the company listed, Aug. 16 2012
This review is from: Cracking the Coding Interview: 150 Programming Questions and Solutions (Paperback)
I actually got asked several questions in real life interviews that were covered in the book. While I don't suggest really studying the answers (you should know how to get to the solutions yourself) it was definitely helpful in refreshing topics of the data & algorithms courses I took long ago (as you know these are the favorites questions asked by big tech companies).

Well now thanks in part to the book I landed that big job I wanted, I highly suggest it to anyone attempting to get a job at amazon/microsoft/google/facebook to go get the book right now, what's this book price compared to your first paycheck?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accurate representation of the interviewing process & perfect prep tool, Jan. 23 2012
This book covers very accurately the type of questions you will be getting at Interviews from Microsoft, Amazon or Google.
I highly recommend it to anyone trying to get a job at a big tech company in software development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Collection of Problems, Sept. 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cracking the Coding Interview: 150 Programming Questions and Solutions (Paperback)
This book provides a very good collection of programming problems. It also presents practical strategies to prepare for an interview. The introduction to concepts are not deep though, which is understandable as the book is really more focused on providing a complete set of questions and answers. I recommend it to anyone trying to find a software development position given that 1) you should first study your material and know them very well 2) you need to verify the answers by yourself and understand them before trusting them as in some cases the solutions are not completely correct or clearly described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great add-on that lives up to its reputation, Aug. 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cracking the Coding Interview: 150 Programming Questions and Solutions (Paperback)
This book provides a great insider's perspective into the psychology of hiring developers and themes covered during programming interviews. However, I don't think this can serve as a replacement for the more formal reads on Algorithms, Data Structures, programming language features/behaviors, etc. Best used as a supplementary aid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, June 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cracking the Coding Interview: 150 Programming Questions and Solutions (Paperback)
I loved this book, the only issue is that you really have to put your thoughts into each and every single exercise because they're not explained in details.
Other than that, the book covers a wide range of questions that are asked in interviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read this book did the exercises two weeks later I had 6 job offers, June 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cracking the Coding Interview: 150 Programming Questions and Solutions (Paperback)
The problems in this book are fantastic training for interviews at the big tech companies. Google, Twitter and Facebook and the likes will grill you on algorithms and data structures and the run times of your code at least once for phone screen and 4-5 times in a single day at an onsite. You need to be fast and thorough. This book provides you with the practice and solutions that do a really good job of explaining the answers to questions similar to though encountered in a real interview process. I suggest having another book to teach you the fundamentals and theories and then hone your skills by doing the problems in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great practice!, May 30 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cracking the Coding Interview: 150 Programming Questions and Solutions (Paperback)
Lots of great practice and tips in here. The hardest part is finding good jobs in your city that are close to the Google/Microsoft/Amazon/Apple/Facebook experience!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It actually helps you to prepare., May 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cracking the Coding Interview: 150 Programming Questions and Solutions (Paperback)
As far as preparation goes, this is the best thing.
It really provides you with essential experience to do the coding interview.

You only need this if you are going for big fishes: Google, Facebook, Microsoft, Apple, Amazon, etc.
For smaller companies, and especially start-ups, this book is too much and a waste of time;
for those, your hands-on experience is more important.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really great book, May 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cracking the Coding Interview: 150 Programming Questions and Solutions (Paperback)
Awesome book - really shows you what kind of questions appear on interviews. My recommendation is to follow what Gayle says and struggle to solve the problems yourself using pen and paper before moving to look at the solution/programming it on your PC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource, Feb. 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cracking the Coding Interview: 150 Programming Questions and Solutions (Paperback)
This book was very useful for preparing for the technical interviews, and I also found it great for explaining what was going on behind the scenes after the interview and how to handle the offer. I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cracking the Coding Interview: 150 Programming Questions and Solutions
Cracking the Coding Interview: 150 Programming Questions and Solutions by Gayle Laakmann McDowell (Paperback - May 20 2011)
CDN$ 38.87 CDN$ 26.30
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews