summer boutiques-francophones Learn more snsflyout Home All-New Kindle sports Tools


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 16, 2012
I actually got asked several questions in real life interviews that were covered in the book. While I don't suggest really studying the answers (you should know how to get to the solutions yourself) it was definitely helpful in refreshing topics of the data & algorithms courses I took long ago (as you know these are the favorites questions asked by big tech companies).

Well now thanks in part to the book I landed that big job I wanted, I highly suggest it to anyone attempting to get a job at amazon/microsoft/google/facebook to go get the book right now, what's this book price compared to your first paycheck?
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2014
The problems in this book are fantastic training for interviews at the big tech companies. Google, Twitter and Facebook and the likes will grill you on algorithms and data structures and the run times of your code at least once for phone screen and 4-5 times in a single day at an onsite. You need to be fast and thorough. This book provides you with the practice and solutions that do a really good job of explaining the answers to questions similar to though encountered in a real interview process. I suggest having another book to teach you the fundamentals and theories and then hone your skills by doing the problems in this book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2013
This book provides a very good collection of programming problems. It also presents practical strategies to prepare for an interview. The introduction to concepts are not deep though, which is understandable as the book is really more focused on providing a complete set of questions and answers. I recommend it to anyone trying to find a software development position given that 1) you should first study your material and know them very well 2) you need to verify the answers by yourself and understand them before trusting them as in some cases the solutions are not completely correct or clearly described.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2012
This book covers very accurately the type of questions you will be getting at Interviews from Microsoft, Amazon or Google.
I highly recommend it to anyone trying to get a job at a big tech company in software development.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2014
As far as preparation goes, this is the best thing.
It really provides you with essential experience to do the coding interview.

You only need this if you are going for big fishes: Google, Facebook, Microsoft, Apple, Amazon, etc.
For smaller companies, and especially start-ups, this book is too much and a waste of time;
for those, your hands-on experience is more important.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2015
If I had to pick one book to prepare for coding interviews with it would be this one.

I'm largely self-taught and I this book was as great at both providing patterns to approach different problems and explaining the recommended solutions. I purchased this book along with "Elements of Programming Interviews" and while I strongly suggest purchasing both books, I feel this one is better for people without a formal computer science background.

I was a bit discouraging when I first started practising with these books but as I worked through them I started to enjoy the process. You eventually start seeing common patterns, become familiar with common algorithms/data structures, and get comfortable 'running' code in your head. These are more than just useful interview skills. Estimating how code scales lets you judge when it's worth increasing code complexity to optimize or when a simple brute force is 'good enough' and once you are in the habit of 'running' code in you head potential errors will start to jump out at you while reading code. I'd recommend both these books for anyone interested in becoming a better software engineer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2015
I used this as preparation for a coding interview with a marketing software company. It's a good interview preparation book, but it's helping you fight an otherwise bad system - sometimes the hoops and requirements are annoying. This book is a solid preparation tool for a technical interview. It might try to cover too much in its space. You definitely can't learn something anew from the book, but it's a good refresher for certain skills you do know. The author is very active online, which is great, as she seems to be keeping up on latest trends and topics. It was overall a good resource for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2013
Thorough, accurate, easy to read and follow and a great variety of algorithms. You're presented with a few solutions including the optimized one, which helps your learning process. Gone are the days when you just needed to present A solution in a job interview. It's all about scalability these days and optimization is key to that. This book highlights this concept fantastically well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2013
This book is god send if you have an upcoming interview from Google/Apple/Microsoft. it goes through all concepts of programming including understanding how interviews are conducted in these big tech firms.

My advice is to listen to the author i.e. properly sit down and solve each question on paper or board without looking at the answers. Good luck.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2013
This book is very helpful for preparing for an interview. The questions are very relevant and come with complete solutions that explain the reasoning and different approaches for each problem. The Cracking the Coding interview website is also a good resource for asking questions on some different problems if you require additional clarification.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse