Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive RESP Guide, Nov. 2 2010
This review is from: The RESP Book: The Simple Guide to Registered Education Savings Plans for Canadians (Paperback)
Mike Holman has done us all a favour by offering us The RESP Book: The Complete Guide to Registered Education Savings Plans for Canadians. The book offers detailed information on how to go about setting up an RESP account, from choosing a financial institution to whether or not to use a professional investment advisor. He goes over what to watch out for in terms of fees, as well as basic investing tips like how to set an asset allocation.

There are a lot of rules to be aware of when you're setting up, managing and getting ready to withdraw your money from an RESP, and Mike has answered just about every question you might have. At 118 pages, this book won't take you long to read, but it's absolutely full of detailed information that's pretty hard to remember from year to year. It's greatest value may lie in its usefulness as a reference manual. You can turn to it a couple of times a year to quickly refresh your memory on the ins and outs of saving for your child's education.

I could have found this information on the government's website, but frankly, it's not always written in an easy-to-understand way. The RESP Book is. There are lots of different examples and specific case studies so that you can really get a grip on how the RESP rules work. If you have an RESP or plan on setting one up, this book is required reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I was looking for!, Oct. 19 2010
This review is from: The RESP Book: The Simple Guide to Registered Education Savings Plans for Canadians (Paperback)
As a new mom of a 6-month-old, I knew that it was important to start a RESP for my baby, but was unsure about where to begin. This book was exactly what I was looking for as it is written specifically for Canadians. In short, the book provides a concise, comprehensive look at RESPs with specific and detailed examples of help to a novice or sophisticated investor.

I had dreaded flipping through a thick, complicated, textbook-style manual on financial investing and was very happy to find a book written in such a concise, easy-to-read style. I also really appreciated that Mike Holman is not afraid to give his opinion about such things as group plans or situations when a RESP is not advisable.

I would highly recommend this book to anyone, most especially first-time parents!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great reference guide, June 2 2014
Good overview of all the resp rules. I have referred back to this book many times to check on different rules.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Digestible in a four hour plane ride, Feb. 19 2014
This review is from: The RESP Book: The Simple Guide to Registered Education Savings Plans for Canadians (Paperback)
This is about 137 pages, with close to 37 of those pages being blank pages or just chapter headings, and a lot of space wasting throughout. Considering the length of the book, it seems fairly costly.

That said, this book offers tips that could save you thousands of dollars in the long run. Besides covering the basics of why you should (or shouldn't) start an RESP and how to go about opening the account, Holman explains the ins and outs of contributions and grants, and briefly introduces concepts such as the investment time horizon and investor comfort levels. Possibly the best section, Holman also explains how to get the most out of the RESP if the beneficiary does not go to post-secondary.

The book also includes a chapter each for additional programs available to Alberta, Quebec, and low-income families.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Guide for everything RESP, Jan. 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The RESP Book: The Simple Guide to Registered Education Savings Plans for Canadians (Paperback)
If you have RESPs for your family, this book is a must have. It covers everything you need to know. Great section on withdrawing from an RESP that was very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An essential read if you have or intend tohave RESP's, Sept. 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The RESP Book: The Simple Guide to Registered Education Savings Plans for Canadians (Paperback)
This was a very well laid out book and a very easy read.to make it even more useful the author supplied a summary of each chapter.There were very important issues raised that all of us who have these financial instruments need to know and even tho' I had researched the subject I still got valuable info .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, Sept. 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The RESP Book: The Simple Guide to Registered Education Savings Plans for Canadians (Paperback)
Very informative and simple to understand. The author does a great job of make the recommendations easy to follow and understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy it!!, July 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The RESP Book: The Simple Guide to Registered Education Savings Plans for Canadians (Paperback)
I just finished reading The RESP Book. It takes a complicated matter and simplifies it in a very user-friendly way. I had spent days Googling RESPs and still felt lost. This book clarified everything in 2 hours!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read for every parent, March 24 2013
This review is from: The RESP Book: The Simple Guide to Registered Education Savings Plans for Canadians (Paperback)
This book is an excellent resource for any parent (or any Canadian) opening a RESP for a child or family. Mike does a superb job summarizing the ins & outs of opening, contributing and withdrawing from RESPs, including the tax implications and investment options. I highly recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you ever wanted to know about RESP, Jan. 3 2013
By 
Remi Parent (New-Brunswick, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The RESP Book: The Simple Guide to Registered Education Savings Plans for Canadians (Paperback)
If you have kids or plan on having some in the near future I highly recommend you read this book. You will understand exactly how the RESP works and be able to fully take advantage of it. The book is easy to read and understand. The price of the book is worth it for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The RESP Book: The Simple Guide to Registered Education Savings Plans for Canadians
CDN$ 16.82
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews