march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage snsflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars11
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$18.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 10, 2013
The transition from high school to university comes with many new personal and financial challenges. More Money for Beer and Textbooks is a thorough, easy to read guide that will help you successfully navigate the way through your post-secondary experience!
I would highly recommend this book to all Canadian students looking to start university on the right track and gain confidence in their ability to create future financial success!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2013
I'm nowhere near the most financially literate person, but I was able to easily follow and understand everything quite well.

A truly excellent book for the (soon the be) university student who is looking for some tips on how to save, find, and make money. Lots of simple financial tips and explanations presented in an easy-to-understand format.

I really liked the easy to follow heading/sub-heading structure, and the chapter summaries, which I felt were an excellent nod to some of the better text books I came across in my studies!

Appreciated the simple definitions (with examples) for the financial terms. Not all of us are well-versed in such, and it was welcome.

This will be among one of my go-to grad gifts for all the younger family members. Could have used some of this myself!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2013
I wish I would have read something like before I started post secondary. Reading this made me realize how financially illiterate I was going into university. Why wasn't I this taught this in high school? Why didn't my parents tell me these things? Mistakes were made, money was squandered, but I'm educating myself now. More Money For Beer and Textbooks has lots of information that I am able to use moving forward, and I am sending copies to my older brother and two younger sisters who are currently taking courses and undoubtedly making the same errors I did.
This book is well written, easy to follow, and good for a few laughs. If you know someone graduating high school this June, do them a big favour and get them a copy of this book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2013
This is a really good resource for students about to enter post-secondary education or currently enrolled. It's also a very good read for parents of those same students.

Here's a link to my full review - highly recommended:

[...]
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2013
I work at a University and I see firsthand how poorly students manage their finances. There isn’t another book out there that talks directly to students about the realities of University life.

This book walks you through everything from how much your degree will cost, to the student loan application process, student housing options, and responsible credit card use. The authors also give some useful tips on how to budget and, yes, how to party on the cheap (including how to brew your own beer at home!)

So whether you’re a parent about to send your kid off to school, or you’re a student looking for a guide to navigate you through the financial challenges of University living, you should pick up a copy of this book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2014
This is a great, easy read for both parents & students heading off to post secondary education in Canada! Finally a book written by Canadians for Canadians! I picked it up after reading a recommendation from another author that I enjoy & am glad i did. It hasn't been easy trying to convince my daughter to read it, but I read it & can use a lot of the info provided. It truly is chocked full of great money saving ideas & it gives a realistic perspective on the costs & benefits (or not) of post secondary education.
I'd recommend this to all those in the post secondary phase of life; parents & teens should read!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2013
I am going to university next year and I found this be to be very insightful.

I am a pretty financial savvy kid for my age already but I still found lots of practical advise throughout the book.

The authors are good at relating youth and put all the financial concepts into an easy to understand context.

I would recommend this book to students and anyone who is helping them on their post-secondary endeavours.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2013
Excellent book! Kyle and Justin did a great job of making this book easy to read, easy to digest, and easy to implement. I would highly recommend it as a gift for any high school grad. Getting off onto the right foot financially is one of the best gifts any 17 to 20 year old could ever receive.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2013
I had read a review and thought it might be great for my grand daughter who is in secondary school - but read it first to be certain. It certainly provides the stats to open discussions between students and parents as to what to plan for and consider in Ontario post secondary education.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2015
Insightful read with a lot of great tips for those on a shoe string budget.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse