Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book!
This is the best retirement planning resource I have ever read -- and I have ready many! From the initial discussion of the emotional 'drivers' of retirement planning, to identifying the different stages of retirement and the varying income needs, to the technical -- but very understandable -- descriptions of the different components of structuring a retirement income...
Published on Aug. 20 2011 by Ready for Retirement

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars too complex for the average retiree to implement
There are two parts to retirement: the accumulation years where you build up financial assets through contributions and the later, income years where you receive income from the various government, pension and personal sources. From the title, this book obviously focuses on the less frequently discussed income years vs. the accumulation years (which tend to be driven by...
Published 21 months ago by A.Reader1


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book!, Aug. 20 2011
This review is from: Your Retirement Income Blueprint: A Six-Step Plan to Design and Build a Secure Retirement (Paperback)
This is the best retirement planning resource I have ever read -- and I have ready many! From the initial discussion of the emotional 'drivers' of retirement planning, to identifying the different stages of retirement and the varying income needs, to the technical -- but very understandable -- descriptions of the different components of structuring a retirement income plan, Mr. Diamond's experience as someone who has worked with clients on a daily basis is a valuable perspective on how things should be set up. In my experience, there are very few financial advisors out there who know what they are doing in this space but Mr. Diamond obviously knows his stuff. His approach is exactly what I have been looking for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best retirement book ever!, May 12 2012
This review is from: Your Retirement Income Blueprint: A Six-Step Plan to Design and Build a Secure Retirement (Paperback)
This is such a good book on retirement planning. Easy to read, and since it is based on actual working relationships with the writers' clients (it seems) there are many points that really hit home. Nobody else seems to be writing about what to do with your money when you hit retirement -- as in how to set up all the different incomes you have into a retirement plan that works well. I've also seen this book reviewed in the media and seen the author on several shows -- BNN, Lang & O'Leary, Moneytalk, etc. -- and everyone gives it top marks. David Chilton has mentioned it too, on his own interviews. I can highly recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RETIREMENT INCOME BLUEPIRNT, April 28 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Your Retirement Income Blueprint: A Six-Step Plan to Design and Build a Secure Retirement (Paperback)
This is the best book that I have found for withdrawal of funds form an RRSP or RIF with tax implications taken into consideration. It is easy to read and understand. It will save people money by showing the best taxes rates for RRSP and RIF withdrawals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear, accurate, helpful, April 6 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Your Retirement Income Blueprint: A Six-Step Plan to Design and Build a Secure Retirement (Paperback)
This is a clear, accurate and helpful guide to planning for Canadian retirement income. If you use a professional investment advisor (like me) or a financial planner, reading this book will help you understand the advice you are getting. If you are doing your own retirement planning, this book will help you identify, understand and avoid the many possible mistakes you can make. To put it more positively, it will help you maximize your after-tax income in retirement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars too complex for the average retiree to implement, Jan. 15 2013
This review is from: Your Retirement Income Blueprint: A Six-Step Plan to Design and Build a Secure Retirement (Paperback)
There are two parts to retirement: the accumulation years where you build up financial assets through contributions and the later, income years where you receive income from the various government, pension and personal sources. From the title, this book obviously focuses on the less frequently discussed income years vs. the accumulation years (which tend to be driven by the selling of investment "products" such as mutual funds, GICs, RRSPs etc.). This book is written for Canadians and uses all the familiar Canadian acronyms and taxation terminology.

This book is very heavy going particularly in the various tax implications. That's because it's written by a financial expert who advises clients on how to structure their various retirement income sources most efficiently from a tax and estate planning perspective. It's just too technical for the average reader to absorb but it does give potential retirees some idea of what they need to consider and what to discuss with their advisers. This book could have used more baby steps in explaining the various tax terms and concepts to laymen.

To me, the subtitle (A Six-Step Plan to Design and Build a Secure Retirement) would indicate this book is a participatory workbook or planner where it actually leads you step-by-step through a process to come up with a plan. Beware: it does NOT do this even though there is a PDF form on the associated website that could theoretically help.

After reading this book I have come to one conclusion: The withdrawal of income from the many available retirement assets, in the most tax efficient manner possible, is far too complex to be done by the average person. This is unlike the accumulation years where things like asset allocation within a RRSP are much easier to grasp and could be done by anyone who's interested.

Just find yourself a good adviser in these matters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your Retirement Income Blueprint, Dec 17 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Your Retirement Income Blueprint: A Six-Step Plan to Design and Build a Secure Retirement (Paperback)
Excellent book...pertinent information for Canadian retiree! Wish I would have had this book in hand when I first retired 5 years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No-one approaching, planning or IN retirement should be without this book, Dec 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Your Retirement Income Blueprint: A Six-Step Plan to Design and Build a Secure Retirement (Paperback)
its exactly what I needed for this point in my life. Very sound strategy and allows me to understand fully the plan my advisor and I are developing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Retirement INCOME Planning - not just Retirement Planning, Nov. 1 2013
This review is from: Your Retirement Income Blueprint: A Six-Step Plan to Design and Build a Secure Retirement (Paperback)
The title says it all. The book is a complete overview of the complex issues everyone will face in the WITHDRAWAL years as opposed to the ACCUMULATION years of personal finance. The critical concept for me was the notion of LAYERING retirement income in the most tax efficient and flexible way possible. A MUST READ for all Canadians. Don't wait until you're ready to retire - use this book to do some planning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just What I needed at Age 55, Aug. 5 2013
By 
Dale B. Serink "dale" (Edmonton, AB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Your Retirement Income Blueprint: A Six-Step Plan to Design and Build a Secure Retirement (Paperback)
I recently turned 55 and was debating whether to initiate a small pension I earned while with the Gov't early in my career. I asked my financial advisor about this and other retirement income questions and he advised me to read this book. It not only answered my Q but many more Q's that I sort of had but didn't know what or when to ask. Q's like "what exactly is a RISP" and "why would people by insurance AFTER they retire." This book put all of those options into perspective. Like other readers, I concluded that I need a professional to create a plan for me. The title and introduction to the book implies that it helps you create your own plan but does nothing of the sort. the title is misleading in that regard. But after reading the book I can see that it would be impractical to create a plan for myself. It would be like doing a triple by-pass to myself. I'm to close to the subject to make the right cuts/decisions and I don't possess the required skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, June 17 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Your Retirement Income Blueprint: A Six-Step Plan to Design and Build a Secure Retirement (Paperback)
A must have personal finance and investing book for every Canadian. Easy to read and contains tons of guidance. I've got this on my bookshelf and refer to it often.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Your Retirement Income Blueprint: A Six-Step Plan to Design and Build a Secure Retirement
Used & New from: CDN$ 100.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews