Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valuable Retirement Guidance!
As someone anticipating retirement within 5-7years, I felt that the author's perspective was presented in a very objective, practical and balanced manner. The data was extremely interesting and validated the writer's viewpoint, and was written in laypersons terms. I would reccommend this as a very worthwhile book for anyone planning retirement, and as important food for...
Published on Feb. 16 2013 by thrd

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars I couldnt get past this frustration to even determine if the information was good. Bad judgement
It is very frustrating to think that a book written about retirement is published in very small print (smaller than typical books). Even with reading glasses, it is not a pleasure to squint at the small print. Who in the world made a decision to print the tiniest font for people close to retirement!! I couldnt get past this frustration to even determine if the...
Published 1 month ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valuable Retirement Guidance!, Feb. 16 2013
This review is from: The Real Retirement: Why You Could Be Better Off Than You Think, and How to Make That Happen (Paperback)
As someone anticipating retirement within 5-7years, I felt that the author's perspective was presented in a very objective, practical and balanced manner. The data was extremely interesting and validated the writer's viewpoint, and was written in laypersons terms. I would reccommend this as a very worthwhile book for anyone planning retirement, and as important food for thought for those over 30 who have not started to consider retirement planning. (Also a good read for many of the Financial Planners that I have encountered over the years)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very pragmatic review !, Jan. 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Real Retirement: Why You Could Be Better Off Than You Think, and How to Make That Happen (Paperback)
The first realistic thoughts on retirement I have read. He deals with both the emotional and financial issues. A very balanced evaluation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you are Canadian and can only buy one book on retirement, this is it!, Jan. 31 2015
By 
W. Bradley (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Real Retirement: Why You Could Be Better Off Than You Think, and How to Make That Happen (Paperback)
This is 'the' book to buy! If you are Canadian and are looking for the best book on the market to help you understand retirement in Canada and what it actually takes to retire then you cannot pass up on this book. I had originally thought of retiring around the 60 - 62 year time frame but quickly realized after reading this book that I could, and I actually did, retire at 58. Yes 58 and still maintain the lifestyle that my wife and I enjoy as well as incorporate some travelling.

The book clearly and in a very straightforward manner describes all the aspects of retirement from contributions by the government (CPP and OAS) to what most corporate plans (Defined Benefit, Defined Contribution, etc.) provide and finally what you really need to save to supplement this so that you can cover your actual consumption requirements in retirement.

I still reference the book from time to time as I continue to enjoy retirement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I couldnt get past this frustration to even determine if the information was good. Bad judgement, Feb. 1 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Real Retirement: Why You Could Be Better Off Than You Think, and How to Make That Happen (Paperback)
It is very frustrating to think that a book written about retirement is published in very small print (smaller than typical books). Even with reading glasses, it is not a pleasure to squint at the small print. Who in the world made a decision to print the tiniest font for people close to retirement!! I couldnt get past this frustration to even determine if the information was good. Bad judgement. I returned it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reassuring overview, Jan. 23 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Of course nothing in life is certain but the information in this book can give Canadian pre-retirees some assurances that their retirement, at the very least, will not consist of living in a banana box and eating dog food.
The four pillar analogy is helpful in understanding the revenue streams that will fund the Canadian retirement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh Concepts Treated Thoroughly, June 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Real Retirement: Why You Could Be Better Off Than You Think, and How to Make That Happen (Paperback)
This book does not simply regurgitate the cliches and formulas that are the filler of other retirement financial books. It utilizes hard data to guide the reader through the financial realities of "real retirement", and develops useful approaches to help the reader plan their own retirement finances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good review of reality, Oct. 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Having recently retired (at an early age of mid 50's) I had planned extensively over the last few years. I bought this book as a check to see if I was missing anything. Overall it was a great review for me, and I found it insightful. I'd recommend it for others in the planning stages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A solid understanding of retirement fundamentals, Aug. 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Put away the anecdotal myths, and the clichés investment adviser use to see you more investments. This book lays out the facts, as only an actuarial
Could. It most areas, realty is much better than the myth, but there are some bthisbtom watchn outb for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reality based retirement info, July 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Lots of good information here. Wish they would have discussed options for people who won't have their mortgage paid off before they retire, which is the reality for a lot of us. Of course we will just likely work longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Retirement, Dec 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a awesome read. Simple but effective viewpoint on retirement. Would highly recommend this book to all those wishing to retire now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Real Retirement: Why You Could Be Better Off Than You Think, and How to Make That Happen
CDN$ 24.95 CDN$ 15.64
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews