Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Lost for words
Finally a dictionary one can enjoy from cover to cover.
I loved that no names were used in the book, allowing it to become an universal relationship that anyone can connect to. You will recognize bits and pieces of yourself -- those annoying things we see in relationships -- but mostly awe at the creativity of the whole idea.
Published 8 months ago by Book Cupid

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unique
The Lover's Dictionary, narrates a couple's romantic relationship, through the male's perspective. The strength of the book comes from its unique form of writing, in which its composed into dictionary entries. While it deals with relationship dilemmas that are universal, the story is not absorbingly unique. Also the ruptured time line of the plot is puzzling and even a...
Published on Aug. 6 2011 by Bluebell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unique, Aug. 6 2011
This review is from: Lovers Dictionary (Hardcover)
The Lover's Dictionary, narrates a couple's romantic relationship, through the male's perspective. The strength of the book comes from its unique form of writing, in which its composed into dictionary entries. While it deals with relationship dilemmas that are universal, the story is not absorbingly unique. Also the ruptured time line of the plot is puzzling and even a bit infuriating. nonetheless, Levithan, delivers an original piece, filled with empathy and warmth.

"love, n? I'm not even going to try."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Levithan bringing the unique storytelling, April 8 2014
Find the original review here: http://thisisthestoryofmyreadinglife.blogspot.ca/2014/03/miniviews-4-obsidian-lovers-dictionary.html

This is a pretty unique book. Told in dictionary format where every page is a different word that follows a couples relationship. There's no names used, and told from the males POV I thought it might be hard to become invested in the relationship or the couple. But that wasn't the case. I flew through this. Totally invested. This is an adult book, so of course the relationship was very mature. And I came to feel really sorry for the guy. He was in love, but I'm so sure his girlfriend was as in love with him. Great, interesting and quick read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lost for words, Nov. 11 2013
This review is from: Lovers Dictionary (Hardcover)
Finally a dictionary one can enjoy from cover to cover.
I loved that no names were used in the book, allowing it to become an universal relationship that anyone can connect to. You will recognize bits and pieces of yourself -- those annoying things we see in relationships -- but mostly awe at the creativity of the whole idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfectly unique, disheartening, and bold-faced truth., July 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I would recommend this book to every single person, male or female, emotional or stoic. I would especially recommend it for introverts dating extroverts, and vice versa.

Thank you for the tears. They were much needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars most interestingly formatted book ever!, Jan. 13 2012
By 
Maggie Kennedy - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lovers Dictionary (Hardcover)
Tells a story out of sequence, in dictionary form. Such an interesting idea, it all comes together in the end. Very easy read - many laughs and 'hmm' moments. Great for anyone from tweens to adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the 'Have to be read in your lifetime' book, May 28 2011
By 
S. Gatien "Sooph1e" (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lovers Dictionary (Hardcover)
An instant classic, Levithan's way of letting you build your own story with bits and pieces of his own troubled but wonderful relationship, is breathtaking. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lover's Dictionary: A Novel
The Lover's Dictionary: A Novel by David Levithan (Paperback - Jan. 17 2012)
Used & New from: CDN$ 5.21
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews