Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning book depicting all things Downton Abbey!, Dec 14 2011
By 
V. Buttino (Toronto) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The World of Downton Abbey (Hardcover)
This is an absolutely BEAUTIFUL book based on iTV's Downton Abbey! The publisher certainly didn't skimp when it came to quality and detail!

I wasn't expecting the book to be as long as it is (it's 300+ pages) but I'm delighted that the author took so much time and effort in writing it. The end result is highly satisfactory! It covers both the first and second seasons of the program and delves into every storyline, every character and every social event (be it a tea party or WWI). Estate life is also examined and fictional characters are compared to real-life people who lived in 19th century England. There is an additional chapter at the end of the book detailing all of the Behind-the-Scenes work that goes into filming the series. This book is crammed full of pictures and interesting tidbits concerning both the cast and crew - you'll absolutely love it if you're a fan of Downton Abbey!

I wonder if there will be another book release when the third series airs?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Abbey, June 9 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The World of Downton Abbey (Hardcover)
A very beautiful edition. Pictures were excellent as was the written text. it was nice to get some background on the actors we have come to love. The background info was useful. An excellent book to leave on the coffee table for others to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The world of Downton Abbey illuminated, March 8 2013
By 
Sverre Svendsen "Uni" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The World of Downton Abbey (Hardcover)
This book was issued after the second season. It provides vast amounts of historical background information on the nineteen ten’s period in Great Britain, especially as far as political and social changes are concerned, and WW2, as they impacted the aristocracy and their servants. Many of the actors give the reader their impressions of what it was like to contribute to the success of this period drama series. We are given virtual reality witness to how it would have been like to be Mary, Matthew, Robert, Cora, Carson, Thomas, etc at that time in the personae and circumstances that Julian Fellowes provided them.

The photographs are plentiful and gorgeous and the text by Jessica Fellowes, the nice of Julian, is vividly informative. Costumes have a prominent place in the contents of the book. The reader will realize what an artistic and logistic triumph the writers, actors, directors, producers, cinematographers, advisors, trades people and grunts accomplished. Several hundred people had to be in their right places at the right times, doing their best and for the most part they did. A must have for all avid Donwton'ers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this..., June 22 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The World of Downton Abbey (Hardcover)
This companion book to the tv series is wonderful. Full of great history and information on the time period. Beautiful pictures as well. I am absolutely addicted to Downton Abbey and can't wait for season 3. This book is great to tie me over until then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Companion for the Series, Aug. 12 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The World of Downton Abbey (Hardcover)
Gorgeous photography & lots of historical information make this the perfect companion book for the series. Deepened my understanding of the goings on & left me better prepared for the much anticipated coming season. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Deeply Human Experience, March 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The World of Downton Abbey (Hardcover)
This takes me into a world gone by, its structure, its beauty, and its pain. While it is a time long gone, the human struggles of good versus evil, the desire to connect, to make a lasting impact, the quest for love, and the pain of loss remain the same. The World of Downton Abbey touches me at the deepest human part of me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth it., Nov. 9 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The World of Downton Abbey (Hardcover)
I originally saw this book on a recent trip to the UK from Vancouver and fell in love with it. Upon my return I purchased it for a dear friend's birthday - as she is also a Downton Abbey fan, she was over the moon. From the beautiful photos to the well written prose, this book is a MUST for any fan of this wonderful series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book for fans!, Oct. 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The World of Downton Abbey (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a gift for a close relative and she absolutely loved it. She is a fan of the TV show and now enjoys reading about the show and looking at the pictures. She also commented that the writing is excellent.
Thanks Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Downton Abbey book, May 12 2012
By 
M. Scott "Adamfan" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The World of Downton Abbey (Hardcover)
This book is fantastic.It contains the story of the series,loads of history from the era and gorgeous photos.
I read it from cover to cover and recommend it for any Downton fan.Well worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book worth reading, Aug. 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The World of Downton Abbey (Hardcover)
well written and interesting. Makes an ideal gift for someone interested in that time period Great photographs and great explanations of the filming of Downton Abbey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The World of Downton Abbey
The World of Downton Abbey by Jessica Fellowes (Hardcover - Dec 6 2011)
CDN$ 34.50 CDN$ 21.63
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews