Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars What's a Killer App?
In "Love is the Killer App" Tim Sanders, high tech new economist, marketer, and author, evangelizes his big thought (term from the book for a one sentence summary; see also "elevator speech") that nice guys and gals can finish first if they effectively and enthusiastically use their intangibles: Knowledge, Network, and Compassion. His key points...
Published on Dec 28 2002 by Gordon Gregory

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic message with a lot of filler
Sanders is one of those Dale Carnegie-type of guys that we all need, but probably have a hard time emulating. His core message, or what he'd call, his "big thought" boils down simply: nice guys don't finish last in business anymore. He lays out three components of being nice or a 'lovecat': knowledge, network and compassion. To distil further - and rudimentary - read...
Published 17 months ago by SBuckle


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Basic message with a lot of filler, Nov. 3 2012
By 
This review is from: Love Is the Killer App: How to Win Business and Influence Friends (Paperback)
Sanders is one of those Dale Carnegie-type of guys that we all need, but probably have a hard time emulating. His core message, or what he'd call, his "big thought" boils down simply: nice guys don't finish last in business anymore. He lays out three components of being nice or a 'lovecat': knowledge, network and compassion. To distil further - and rudimentary - read books and talk about them, build networks and selflessly share them and use compassion to conduct yourself. He writes that the new economy businesses are changing from the stern, impersonal workplaces of yesteryear to one of engagement and diverse culture and to be at the forefront you need to become a 'lovecat'. It's not a radical view, but there is variance in how far we go - Woodstock in the '60s or Canada are the two bookends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What's a Killer App?, Dec 28 2002
In "Love is the Killer App" Tim Sanders, high tech new economist, marketer, and author, evangelizes his big thought (term from the book for a one sentence summary; see also "elevator speech") that nice guys and gals can finish first if they effectively and enthusiastically use their intangibles: Knowledge, Network, and Compassion. His key points include: studying books vs. just reading them, and making notes so that a book's insights are readily available later (Notes on the front inside cover; Quotes on the back). Sanders' also explains that every person we meet is a potential node in our network, and successful folks seek beneficial connections for the people within their network just for the sake of helping as opposed to personal gain. Sanders also explains that compassion can and should be extended to business relationships. Encouraging others, listening and demonstrating you care for those you come in contact with is an end in itself, and you will soon find the encouragement and caring coming back to you.
I rated this book 4 instead of 5 stars because being super-nice in a business context taken to an extreme can get you creamed. What could possibly be nicer than giving your goods and services away? Sound ridiculous? It does, but just check out the feedback from your customer contact folks when you announce a necessary price increase. Sander's addresses the doormat syndrome by saying that Lovecats (the title Sander's confers on those who maximize their intangibles) are not Dumbcats. He encourages us to be nice and smart, but I found his explanation in this area vague. Where does nice stop and smart start? I suppose somewhere near the dividing line between cost and profit. I wish the author had given us a little more here.
Also, Sanders stresses touch in expressing our compassion. While among techie's, like Sanders, there seems to enough room to hug your customers and coworkers, there remains a few pockets of the old school here and there (I'm a Commercial Banker and we still wear ties most days) where I remain doubtful that physical affection is right tool for the job.
This book caries a positive message and got me thinking and doing. In fact, I decided to write this review based on Sanders' recommendation in the knowledge section of the book. I am now writing notes in books I read, rethinking my network and it's possibilities, and I feel encouraged in my belief that respect for others and good business are not mutually exclusive.
I left this book with the notion that Sanders' is an excellent marketer, and that his excellence in this area may slightly exceed his ability to generate content. But I intend to test his ideas anyway, and I already have. Just the other day, and even before I got to the "evangelize new ideas you gain from books" section, I was at lunch with 4 coworkers, one of whom was quite senior. This fella was describing his desire to see more mutual concern and respect (Sanders' Bizlove) in our extended work group. The ideas sounded so familiar that I assumed he had read Sanders' book or one similar, and I just had to blurt out "Love is the Killer App". My ill-timed insertion stopped the, till then lively, lunch conversation cold, and I found 3 strange looks staring back at me. None of the 3 had ever heard the slang term "Killer App" much less about the book. Needless to say this book has an audience but it is not all encompassing, and applying Sanders' insights requires that you know your audience.
GG
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Must read for tech guys who seeking expand our network, Dec 6 2002
When first time I saw the title, I was like " gee, what's that mean?". But because it came up from my search term "business network", plus it is thin, I decided to go ahead read it.
I've been a technical guy for more than 10 years and like other tech guys, "deep in technology and shalow in networking". I have been reading business books to expande my business acemen in recent years. Many good books. Most of them have good theories.
But this one, P-R-A-C-T-I-C-A-L. You can use his many tips at the next morning at work. Good theory too, but I wished he could ahve digged deeper on the theory part.
I have wrtitten down all the books the author mentioned in his book and will read them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother, Aug. 26 2006
This review is from: Love Is the Killer App: How to Win Business and Influence Friends (Paperback)
I know Tim Sanders means well, and I really don't want to rain on this "feel good" parade, but this book really only has a few good tips (hence 2 stars), and won't show the path to becoming successful.

Being kind and generous to others is nice, and will give you a more fulfilling and positive life than being pessimistic, cold and cruel. This is obvious, and in a nutshell, this is the basis for the book. But this is child's play. Anyone who watched Cinderella knows that being nice is good, and being mean is bad, and furthermore that people like hanging around those who are nice and don't like hanging around those who are mean. (If you want to reinforce this concept, then this is the book for you).

But the book is limited in describing HOW to actually become successful. Simply being nice in the workplace, while always a good policy, will not get you where you want to be. Successful people (nice or not) are successful because they followed the following process:

First they realized that their life right now is is a result of all the decisions they've made in the past, that they are solely responsible for their current situation, and that they have full power and control to decide their life in the future.

Then they decided on an exact vision of where they want to be (job/running a company/retired, house, car, boat, dedicating life to charity), so that they could start to figure out how to get there. With the realization that anything is possible, they would inevitably become unstoppable.

And finally, they actually did something about it. Life doesn't reward thinking, it rewards action.

This process is reinforced in these highly recommended books:

Lead the Field - Earl Nightingale

The Success Principles - Jack Canfield

Secrets of the Millionaire Mind - T. Harv Eker

The One Thing You Need to Know - Marcus Buckingham

Tim Sanders achieved great success during the dot.com boom of the late 90's. This was a time when companies that didn't even generate a profit or have a business model were given millions. It was a time of complete irrational exuberance.

So I get a little skeptical when people think they understand the business world based on that surreal experience, since it has been proven that those "New Economy" business models don't work.

Don't get me wrong, I love to see a positive work environment, and I strongly encourage people to be amicable, sincere, and generous to each other. I even wish Mr. Sanders well on his crusade to make the current "bizworld" a better place.

But I also feel that if people are empowered to become successful, if people are encouraged not only dream big dreams but make those big dreams reality, if people want to be remembered for their massive positive and charitable contribution to the world, then the world will more effectively, become a much, much better place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars All you need is Love!, Dec 8 2007
This review is from: Love Is the Killer App: How to Win Business and Influence Friends (Paperback)
Just a little simplistic, however, nothing wrong with making simple concepts useful, on the contrary, that requires great intellect and creativity. Success is a 3 ways avenue according to Tim sanders... your knowledge and how you use it, your network and your compassion are their names. To use them wisely is what makes a difference in life and in order to do just that, you must bring the to conciouss levels all the time... read, read, read says Tim, that is if you want to be a good player. I enjoyed every aspect of his writing. If you're intending to bring yourself to the next level, don't let this book pass you on... and "Always give" might be the bottom line here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not just a sales/marketing book, May 24 2004
By 
Dennis S. Yu "Facebook data geek, BlitzMetric... (Boulder, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love Is the Killer App: How to Win Business and Influence Friends (Paperback)
Tim's a cross between Tom Peters, Dale Carnegie, and Harvey MacKay-- but more practical. Perhaps the title is an intentional allusion to Carnegie's "How to Win Friends and Influence People". Nowadays, people can see through phony, glad-handling techniques (give them a firm handshake, repeat the customer's name, ask them about items in their office, feign interest in their hobbies). So the way to develop stronger "weak" ties is to help other through your network and knowledge. Tim gives practical advice on how to do both. I enjoyed the reading system he detailed, which allows you to retain and recall more from what you read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love SHOULD be in the busines world!, May 18 2004
By 
Dave Stachowiak (Orange County, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love Is the Killer App: How to Win Business and Influence Friends (Paperback)
I've always been a strong believer of love-like qualities in the business world. However, it's so easy to get drawn into the habits of command and conquer in many of today's businesses. Worse, it's hard to know how to even start to profess love in the workplace...
This book is strong because it doesn't just profess the importance of "bizlove"...it also gives the reader a number of easy action steps to turn these ideas into reality. I especially enjoyed the sections on how to improve reading comprehension and how to network with love. Also, wonderful references to other seminal business books throughout the text and in the appendix (worth picking up just for those!)
Business love IS the next big thing. Kudos to Tim Sanders for the courage to bring these ideas into mainstream business thought!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, refreshing and warming, May 15 2004
This review is from: Love Is the Killer App: How to Win Business and Influence Friends (Paperback)
I liked this book for its unusual approach to business. In this period of sharks, tough people, cutting throath competition etc, the book brings a much needed wind of human touch to the entire business world.
The author is brilliant in keeping the reader engaged with a simple structure that delivers true value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Online networking is hot read thsi to get it right!, Jan. 28 2004
This review is from: Love Is the Killer App: How to Win Business and Influence Friends (Paperback)
Killer App - A new application, system, program or device that completely destroys an old paradigm or way of doing things.
Love - Using your human qualities with compassion to assist others to thrive in their business.
Tim Sandler - Chief Solutions Officer at Yahoo!
Tim has written what amounts to a bible of person to person networking and for a member of openBC, this book is what openBC is all about assisting you to do, it is the very reason you are here!!!
The Book is breathtakingly original and provides real practical advice from someone who obviously succeeds at life using the tools he describes.
Some thoughts paraphrased from the book;
Ask yourself whenever you are about to enter into something - Is the value with you inside a situation is greater than the value without you there?
Further thoughts on being a Love Cat rather than a Mad Dog - The love business is the act of intelligently and sensibly sharing your intangibles with you bizpartners.
Compassion is the personal quality that machines can never possess - the human ability to reach out with warmth, whether through eye contact, physical touch or words.
If you just take on these insights from the first pages you will be ahead in you professional life and I recommend the whole book as it is also a complete justification for the power of knowing people. It is also a how too manual for getting the most from openBC.
Do not be scared by the quirky title just read it and prosper! This is the book you hope and pray your competition is not reading first.
This and all the other business books I recommend are available on the Open Business club.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The Writing is Just Terrible, Jan. 20 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Love Is the Killer App: How to Win Business and Influence Friends (Paperback)
I dont know what the publisher was thinking, but I have seen better writing in a high school class. It is really sad that people want to sell books like this, but they dont want to write good ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb31558f4)

This product

Love Is the Killer App: How to Win Business and Influence Friends
CDN$ 20.00 CDN$ 14.44
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews