Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive scholarly compilation on zombology
Finally, a man who understands the all-too-real threat of the living dead and who posesses the eloquence to present it convincingly! Max Brooks has produced a small wonder of a book in the Zombie Survival Guide, a book which provides the average American reader (through hands-on experience, published scientific research and historical accounts) with a comprehensive guide...
Published on April 23 2004 by Jeffrey Hsieh

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars For people expecting something funny, BUY SOMETHING ELSE
For people expecting something funny, BUY SOMETHING ELSE !!!!

It takes itself WAY too seriously, it's extremely tedious and boring. I know that the title implies that it's a survival guide, but at least make it funny because let's face it, zombies aren't real and will never be. I'm a big fan of zombies but I'm not dumb enough to believe in them in order to...
Published 3 months ago by Keven Vachon


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive scholarly compilation on zombology, April 23 2004
By 
Jeffrey Hsieh (Indiana) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Zombie Survival Guide: Complete Protection from the Living Dead (Paperback)
Finally, a man who understands the all-too-real threat of the living dead and who posesses the eloquence to present it convincingly! Max Brooks has produced a small wonder of a book in the Zombie Survival Guide, a book which provides the average American reader (through hands-on experience, published scientific research and historical accounts) with a comprehensive guide to surviving multiple levels of zombie infestation. Stripping away popular zombie myths, Brooks cuts through the morass of media misinformation with a book based firmly in the terrible reality of the undead. Easy-to-follow chapters on recommended weaponry, small-unit tactics and defensive fortification provide an easy entrance into the frightening world of the undead for the novice zombologist, while seasoned veterans will appreciate the elaborate instructions on how to survive the dreaded "Class 4" infestation. With a balanced mix of the practical, the historical and the scientific, this book has something for everyone. If you buy only one book on zombology, make it this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive scholarly compilation on zombology, April 23 2004
By 
Jeffrey Hsieh (Indiana) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Zombie Survival Guide: Complete Protection from the Living Dead (Paperback)
Finally, a man who understands the all-too-real threat of the living dead and who posesses the eloquence to present it convincingly! Max Brooks has produced a small wonder of a book in the Zombie Survival Guide, a book which provides the average American reader (through hands-on experience, published scientific research and historical accounts) with a comprehensive guide to surviving multiple levels of zombie infestation. Stripping away popular zombie myths, Brooks cuts through the morass of media misinformation with a book based firmly in the terrible reality of the undead. Easy-to-follow chapters on recommended weaponry, small-unit tactics and defensive fortification provide an easy entrance into the frightening world of the undead for the novice zombologist, while seasoned veterans will appreciate the elaborate instructions on how to survive the dreaded "Class 4" infestation. With a balanced mix of the practical, the historical and the scientific, this book has something for everyone. If you buy only one book on zombology, make it this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Be ready to survive !!, April 5 2004
By 
J. Cordero (México City, MX.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Zombie Survival Guide: Complete Protection from the Living Dead (Paperback)
Wow, I finished the book last friday, then I went to watch Dawn of the Dead(Remake) on Saturday. Having read this book makes you feel like a true "zombie outbreak expert"! I liked this a lot, really really entertaining stuff. I didn't give it 5 stars just because some notions about zombies that I personally like some other way(things that deal with memory, physiology, etc). And yes, most of the chronicles at the end are by themselves very good micro-stories that could really scare you when in the appropriate circumstances.
With this book you'll learn all the "do's" and "do not's", you'll learn to "feel" if something is happening, what to do if you're catch unprepared,how to defend yourself and your loved-ones, how to fight, how to hunt them, how to destroy them, what they are capable of, what they really are, and most important, how to remain alive.
So, if you are ready, pack your stuff(don't forget your zombie survival guide!), get your shaolin sword sharpened and the sniper rifle tunned, and by all means escape... FAST, QUIETLY, FAR AWAY !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best zombie defense manual there is, March 22 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Zombie Survival Guide: Complete Protection from the Living Dead (Paperback)
You're sitting at home, casually watching The Simpsons. You've just gotten a call from your friends, saying that they were going to come by soon and pick you up for a game of bowling. Suddenly, the power goes out. You glance around. You don't really see anything that could have caused this, or that would be of any help. Unworried, you just sit back, and wait for your friends. When the moaning outside starts, you're getting annoyed at them pulling this prank. Then they break down the front door. You angrily storm in, and you see only a group of shambling, clumsy, disease-ridden ZOMBIES!
The Zombie Survival Guide by Max Brooks is a humorous, tongue-in-cheek book about the true zombie (not created through magic, evil spirits, or anything like that, but through a virus called Solanum) and methods to combat, escape from, and defend against them. It sounds very serious, except for the topic, and may make some people reading this start to worry and take precautions. Overall, it's a pretty good read, with plenty of helpful zombie combat strategy and laughs. Just make sure that this information becomes common knowledge when the dead do attack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for zombie genre fans, and for survivialist mockers, March 22 2004
By 
Kathryn Taylor (Brooklyn, New York, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Zombie Survival Guide: Complete Protection from the Living Dead (Paperback)
When the dead rise and walk the earth to feast upon the flesh of the living, all those gun-control advocates are going to feel pretty silly.
This highly amusing volume is, primarily, a spoof of survivialist manuals, and simultaneously is one of the best and most thorough summaries of zombie-fiction conventions I've ever read. There is a lot going on in this book all at once, and it is surprisingly fun to try to disentangle the threads of just what Max Brooks is spoofing at any given moment. Sure, the book is a goof on survivalist literature, and on the zombie genre, but the completely deadpan presentation (and the fact that the author has clearly thought about both subjects WAY too much) belies a certain respect for both. Is he sending up those of us who stocked up on toilet paper and bottled water prior to Y2K (or bought sheets of plastic and duct tape, all the better to suffocate ourselves to death in hermetically sealed interior rooms in the event of an anthrax attack after 9/11)? Is he laughing at zombie-film fanatics who can categorize monsters by their film antecedents like the CDC tracking the progress of a mutating influenza strain? Or laughing with them? Is he laughing at you, for having bought his book (for whatever your motives)?
I highly recommend this book for horror or zombie film fans. And if you've got a crazy uncle who has been stockpiling ammo out at his ranch (complete with independent water source) against the day when "they" come, get a copy for him, too - even if he doesn't appreciate the humor, he might get some useful ideas for defending the homestead come the revolution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Zombie fact and fiction, March 22 2004
By 
This review is from: The Zombie Survival Guide: Complete Protection from the Living Dead (Paperback)
This book is insanely funny. I use the word insane because tell a person you are reading a zombie survival guide and look at the reaction you get. Most of the time I got these strangely fearful looks when people asked me what I was reading and I told them. This book was well worth all the looks I got while reading it. First and foremost, the book is extremely well written, the survival guide portion and the zombie attack sections of the book were both written as if they were cold hard facts, not made up from the author's imagination. You really could use this book in case of a zombie outbreak. Check the website for the new movie "Dawn of the Dead". There is a link to this site from the movie site. That in itself cracked me up again at remembering how funny the book was. I didn't know that the autor was the sunof Mel Brooks and a staff writer for SNL, but it doesn't surprise me. This book is well worth the cost, and anyone who reads it, either as a serious novel of just for laughs, will have a great time all the way though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Zombie Birthday Surprise, March 3 2004
By 
Momo (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Zombie Survival Guide: Complete Protection from the Living Dead (Paperback)
I received a birthday package from a friend of 20 years that contained, 2 movies and a book. The movies didn't surprise me at all, but the book... lol. It truely made me laugh. I couldn't believe it.
A long time fan of Zombie movies, I had never really thought to read up on them. This book had pretty much everything you need to know summed up so nicely. I think now, after reading the book,I just might survive a Class 1 or 2 zombie attack if it ever were to happen. If its a class 3, I think I might be in trouble.
The book is very detailed on the pros and cons of weapons, best survival enviroments and supplies. It even lists what one needs for her own protection on her own or in a group setting.
The book also answered some questions about zombies that always nagged me in movies. Case in point, in the movie Dawn of the dead: Why weren't these zombies rotting? They were in that mall for months! Well.. I got my answer!
The book also eliminated the idea that a flame thrower would in fact take care of all your zombie problems. I know better now!
Its a good read, surprisingly funny and really is what the book is what it claims to be. A survival guide.
Even though my friend sent The Zombie Survival Guide to me as a joke, I feel more empowered. Lets put it this way, I have made plans on what kind of Zombie Fortess I want to build and made sure the certain people I need to help... they all know where to go when the sirens die down.
Thank you Max Brooks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Humor? No, a necessity, Feb. 12 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Zombie Survival Guide: Complete Protection from the Living Dead (Paperback)
This book is essential for the zombie hunter. It is passed off as humor but I believe it is dead serious...when the dead rise there will be three categories of people: food, people who read this book as a parody and hence become food, or people like me who read this book and studied it as a vital survival tool who will turn the tide against the zombie horror. I already have a Katana sword and a machete ready for immediate usage should flight to an undisclosed location become necessary, and my group of anti-zombie fighters is just as prepared should a Class 4 outbreak ever occur.
This book warrants multiple readings and absolutely should be counted as a vital survival guide...the stuff in here is just as useful as the Worst Case Scenario Survival Handbooks, and remember, people label them humor too (the first two are not, but they have gotten worse and worse as the series has progressed), and the attention to detail is outstanding. My only question is the belief on the author's part that zombies can walk on the ocean floor...even granting they do not need to breathe or eat the pressure would crush them completely. Thus, my flight location is an island; I won't reveal the location for fear of hordes of people descending and ruining it for my group. All I know is that if and when the dead rise those who took this book for what it is, a dead serious (no pun intended) survival guide, will be completely equipped for fighting for the sake of saving humanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I better watch out., Jan. 27 2004
By 
"herrzombie" (São Paulo, SP Brazil) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Zombie Survival Guide: Complete Protection from the Living Dead (Paperback)
This book is a good source for anti-zombie warfare. I was interested on it both because of its topic and its author; Max Brooks is Mel Brook's son. I was expecting a book with open jokes and perhaps a parody, but was impressed when I saw how seriously the author dealt with the topic; it was almost convincing, actually. Aside from the smooth writing and interesting detailed information about defeating the undead, I was also quite pleased at how Mr. Brooks would every now and then, while explaining some feature about zombies, pinch us humans with sharp comments, as, for example, in the statement "Americans have a special relationship with handguns" (page 47). People wishing to create good zombie stories should consult this book; also, the "Recorded Attacks" add a touch of realism and perhaps some ideas for good plots. This book may not cause severe laughter, but its refined humor added to very properly divided chapters and good writing are sure worth the money and time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Being safe means being prepared!, Jan. 19 2004
By 
Amazon Customer (Barrington, RI USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Zombie Survival Guide: Complete Protection from the Living Dead (Paperback)
Let's face it: at one time or another we've all faced a zombie scare we aren't prepared for. And yes, the local constabulary usually cleans things up with a minimum of fuss, but what happens when things go wrong and the cavalry doesn't arrive? That, my friends, is the day that Max Brooks' "The Zombie Survival Guide" saves your life. With several millennia worth of field experience distilled into a manageable 254 pages, everything you need to know to survive the coming war with the undead can be found in these pages. Your life and the lives of those you love are at stake, act now and be prepared!
OK, so that paragraph was obviously tongue in cheek, but hopefully in conveys some sense of what Brooks' remarkable "The Zombie Survival Guide" is like. While obviously a parody of both the horror genre and civil defense/survivalist manuals, it maintains an "all-business" demeanor, never once cracking the façade to reveal the underlying humoristic intent. The result is a book that is, when taken as a whole, a funny, incredibly thorough work of satire. However, at the same time, page-by-page, it is a rather accomplished addition to zombie horror.
Starting with zombie physiology and then moving on to weapons, tactics, long-term strategy and history Brooks has produced a manual which has a thoroughness that belies the absurdity of its subject. Point by point he discusses the pros and cons of rifles, machetes and flamethrowers, then considers the optimal defensive positions for various types of outbreaks. After an extensive discussion of survival in a zombie doomsday scenario, he lays out zombie outbreaks through history, and what their implications are. Throughout, entries are extensively cross-referenced and alternative courses of action are always weighed for potential risks and benefits.
The remarkable thing about all this is that Brooks has managed to infuse a tension, and urgency into his manual that makes for great reading. Part post-apocalyptic fiction, part "Night of the Living Dead" and part "Saturday Night Live" sketch, this is a book that should hold appeal across a broad range of genres. Thorough without being dry, creepy without being clichéd, and funny without relying on cheap laughs, "The Zombie Survival Guide" is undoubtedly one of the most original books I have ever read, and one that I enjoyed reading immensely. If you appreciate any or all of these genres, or if you just enjoy a well executed, original idea, this is definitely a book you'll want to check out.
And remember...Tomorrow may be too late, read this book today!
Jake Mohlman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Zombie Survival Guide: Complete Protection from the Living Dead
CDN$ 17.99 CDN$ 12.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews