Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars never look at HeLa cells the same way again
I'm a scientist and have used HeLa cells for many years, with only a vague idea of where they had come from. This terrific book brings a human side to the early days of cell culture and also a fascinating insight into some more modern problems (cell-line contamination) as well as to historical ones (racism and institutionalization), both of which we hope are going away...
Published on Nov. 16 2010 by BottinesOrange

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Less a science book, more focused on cultural studies
I picked up this book expecting an interesting story about the origin of the HeLa cell line. This the book delivered. However, be aware that the scientific side of the HeLa cells are only very generally explained. This book is not for someone looking to read about cell biology, but rather someone who is interested in:

a) The evolution of ethics in medical...
Published on May 22 2010 by Columbus


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars never look at HeLa cells the same way again, Nov. 16 2010
By 
BottinesOrange (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
I'm a scientist and have used HeLa cells for many years, with only a vague idea of where they had come from. This terrific book brings a human side to the early days of cell culture and also a fascinating insight into some more modern problems (cell-line contamination) as well as to historical ones (racism and institutionalization), both of which we hope are going away... The book is well-written and obviously a labor of love for both its author and Ms. Lacks's relatives. Thank you for writing this! I'll recommend it to everyone I know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Less a science book, more focused on cultural studies, May 22 2010
I picked up this book expecting an interesting story about the origin of the HeLa cell line. This the book delivered. However, be aware that the scientific side of the HeLa cells are only very generally explained. This book is not for someone looking to read about cell biology, but rather someone who is interested in:

a) The evolution of ethics in medical research
b) The human faces behind the HeLa cells, Henrietta Lacks and her progeny

If you find yourself interested in any of the above, then this book is for you.

This is definitely a pop-science book, rather than a scientific treatise and so you should approach it as such.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, a wonderful blend of science, mystery & human interest!, Jan. 22 2012
By 
This review is from: The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks (Paperback)
I had a difficult time putting this book down; it is fascinating, thrilling, intellectually stimulating yet deeply moving as well. Thank goodness Ms. Skloot investigated and recorded the story of Henrietta Lacks; had more time passed, the information and people that assisted in this wonderful investigation into Ms. Lacks' life would have been gone, the story behind this amazing medical phenomenon, lost. It makes one wonder what other stories about interesting, important yet unsung heroes can no longer be written because of the passage of time and the death of people who knew them. I am thankful that Ms. Skloot had the interest and drive to see this investigation through, along with the Lacks family.

The book was a combination of science thriller, mystery novel, and wonderful human-interest story. There are not many times after reading a book that I've felt I've learned about something truly significant, yet I felt this way after reading The Immortal Life of Henrieta Lacks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Long overdue biography, Dec 31 2011
By 
M. P. L. WOULFE (Edmonton, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks (Paperback)
This is a long overdue biography of a woman who unwittingly made a tremendous contribution to medical research. In the days when ethics approval was not required for obtaining patient samples for research purposes, cervical cancer cells from Henrietta Lacks (so-called HeLa cells) were carefully excised and placed into culture media in an attempt to grow these ex vivo. The researchers of the day could not anticipate that her cells would grow vigorously, and continue to grow to this day in numerous labs around the world. At that time, the successful culturing of cells was considered a fantasy because so many cells failed to thrive in culture media, whether obtained from normal or cancerous tissues. The rapidly growing immortalized cells from Henrietta Lacks pre-empted ethical considerations for the patient and her family, since it was not expected that they would actually succeed in cell culture. Moreover, it was not possible to anticipate the enormous wealth of knowledge regarding protein and DNA structure and function that these cells provided. The events that unfolded following the exceptional ability to culture HeLa cells led to unforeseen consequences for the Lacks family as well as numerous researchers and clinicians whose careers were staked on these cells. Rebecca Skloot provides a compassionate and meticulous insight into the Lacks family and their reaction to the generation of HeLa cells. This is a must-read for anyone wishing to understand processes underlying medical ethics and how research has relied on human samples in the past century. It is also essential reading for researchers who have handled HeLa cells (including this reviewer).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes you think, Oct. 8 2011
By 
Kadi Kaljuste (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks (Paperback)
As an artsy, non-science person, I'd never heard of HeLa cells or Henrietta Lacks. And, early into this book, it became clear to me that even the scientists who have been using HeLa cells for research for decades knew little about the woman from whom the cells came. Rebecca Skloot tells the Lacks family story with sensitivity and honesty while at the same time explaining cell science in understandable, lay terms. No small feat. But the most powerful and important questions this story raises are ethical. And they're questions for which we still don't have answers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, Sept. 3 2011
This review is from: The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks (Paperback)
This is a great read, especially if you are keen on biological sciences. I have a science degree and learned all about cells, DNA, cancer and never learned about how we got the cells to study to find out this information. I have never even considered the people behind the cells I studied in university. This book was an eye opener and it is well written and well paced that it keeps your attention. Definitely a learning experience and a book that makes you think about science and also about the field of medicine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What does this book not have?, Nov. 14 2013
This review is from: The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks (Paperback)
Wow! This is the best book I've read this year. It has something for everyone. Ms. Skloot writes so well that the reader lives in her story. The themes range from bio-medical ethics, to racism and poverty, to questions about the responsibility of the medical community toward patients who lack the education necessary to understand their condition and finally to what claims we ought to have toward our own tissues and who can profit from them. This is a book rich in thought-provoking questions. At another level it is also the story of an authour's relationship with a family devastated by the untimely death of their mother and the family's quest to understand who she was and who she continues to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The incredible progress of objective science gets lost when its impact on the individual is forgotten., Nov. 9 2013
By 
Len (Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Henrietta died of cervical cancer probably a result of contracting the HPV virus that causes genital warts. Prior to her death, George Gey, the head of tissue culture research at John Hopkins Hospital removed a sample of cancerous cells from her body. With the help of his assistant, Mary Kubicek, he was able to grow the tissue in a culture and keep it growing and growing so that they'd weigh more than 50 million metric tons and circumnavigate the globe at least three times. Her cells used for all kinds of cancer and disease related research done around the world and while scientists and biotech companies and much of the public benefited directly from Henrietta’s cells, the Lacks family has not. Poor and without healthcare, they lived in squalor, many dying at a prematurely young age. Henrietta’s husband was also her first cousin so many of her children suffered from genetically related problems. Her daughter Elsie suffered from epilepsy and mental retardation and at least two of her other children were partially deaf. While the scientists at John Hopkins were willing to recognize the tremendous contribution Henrietta’s cells had made to science, no was willing to provide them with any financial remuneration. As one of the scientists described their predicament, it’s like taking oil from the ground and returning none of the profits back to the owner. This book chronicles two dominant movements of the present era, the tremendous progress being made by science to improve and lengthen our lives and the voracious appetite of greed that pervades our individual lives and the actions of our companies while others suffer a poor and desperate existence. While I was tempted to give up on the narrative at times, I found the result very rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buying it for friends, Nov. 23 2011
This review is from: The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks (Paperback)
Just adding to everyone else's accolades. Rebecca Skloot writes with sensitivity and humour. Distressing, fascinating, and sometimes hilarious. I've already bought copies to give as gifts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I highly recommend this book, Sept. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks (Paperback)
I first heard about this book on CBC radio. I immediately got the book from the library and could not put it down. How did I go through my whole life and not know about HeLa cells. I had to own this book and share it with others. The author is donating proceeds to her book to the grandchildren of Mrs, Lacks to help them become educated. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot (Paperback - March 8 2011)
CDN$ 18.00 CDN$ 13.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews