biss boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Own the 2016 GRAMMY Nominee Album featuring the Biggest Hits from Music's Biggest Night Tools Exercice ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars33
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 16, 2003
Achingly beautiful language in a story with political, philosophical, and psychological drama and realism. At times I wanted to look away at the pain, but the excitement and depth kept me transfixed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2014
Great read. Beautifully written. Chimamamanda Ngozi Adichie really takes you into her world. The plot and character development is great. Highly recommend this book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2003
Purple Hibiscus is a must read for anyone who is interested in family dynamics, the nature of faith and freedom, or modern-day Nigeria. An excellent debut.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2013
Wonderful insight into life in Nigeria. Honest and beautifully written. You will see Africa in a new light as your horizons will certainly be expanded.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2004
"Purple Hibiscus" is the debut novel from Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. It is the story of Kambili and her family. Kambili's father is a powerful force both at home and in the family. He holds fast to his Catholicism he views anyone who does not follow Christ as firmly as he does as a sinner and doomed to a fiery eternity. He is not simply the father, but the ruler of the household. Kambili's father sets a daily schedule for Kambili and her brother, Jaja, that they must follow to the minute and they are commanded to be the best students in their school. While Jaja has a strength to his character, Kambili is meek and has the sense of being emotionally beaten down, though she has a strong narration throughout the novel.
The novel is set in Nigeria and it begins on Palm Sunday with a fight within the family. Jaja is disobedient to his father and this seems like the beginning where cracks start appearing in the family, but Kambili tells us that the true beginning of this story happens earlier than this. The second section of the novel is "before Palm Sunday" and is set an uncertain amount of time before Palm Sunday (at least, I didn't figure out exactly what the timeframe was). This section traces Kambili's family and extended family as it leads up the Palm Sunday event, and we learn that the fight was not really a beginning, but an ending, that the fight was the result of all of the time before and the changes that were made in Kambili and Jaja, and by extension - to the family. Section Three is "After Palm Sunday" and we see the ramifications of that fight and at this point it feels inevitable what happens next.
This is a strong, powerful novel, and even though it is set in a location that I have no knowledge of, it is really a novel about a family and a 15 year old girl. Some things are universal, despite cultural differences. This story of Kambili and her family is one such thing. If you put the characters in a different setting (rural America, perhaps), the same story could play out with only a few differences. This is the power of the story, that knowing nothing of Nigeria, we can understand the story Adichie is spinning.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2015
Beautiful. Great characters. A wonderful insight to a culture that I have not been exposed to.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2015
Another great read! Characters you have to care about!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2006
If you're one for great writing, and reading about family dysfunction, then PURPLE HIBISCUS is the book for you. I was reminded at times of either the book GLASS CASTLE or THE BARK OF THE DOGWOOD in that the story deals with a youth who has little or no control over his/her environment. While you might expect this to be a complete downer, it is not. I highly recommend it.

Also recommended: [...]
0Comment3 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2004
Adichie's "Purple Hibiscus" will join other notable first novels like "Things Fall Apart" in the canon of great African literature. It is a very good story of the stuggles within one Nigerian family, with a domineering father, a sad, submissive mother, a defiant brother, and a daughter who is torn between following her aunt or her father. I did like the aunt's perspective, but on the other hand, I don't like the insinoution that pagans are spiritually purer than Christians. I also thought that the book excused the mother a little too much for how she finally dealt the family problem.
0Comment2 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon June 1, 2015
This was a beautiful tale of a girl growing up in Nigeria who comes into her own despite an intense Catholic father. It was great to watch the protagonist start to develop her own thoughts and attitudes towards the world as she grew like a flower. The character development was excellent; it truly felt like each one of the characters was a complex, unique individual. I cannot wait to read more of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's work.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$18.90
$15.99
$7.15
$18.90