Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Tool to Help Solidify Strengths
The DVD / Book / Notepad combination of this "Truth About You" toolkit is excellent. I was impressed that it all comes togther, and the reader isn't compelled to purchase all items separately. The book is a quick read, but one that demands thought and processing.

Most strengths, life-coaching, business books aren't written at the level that a recent...
Published on July 17 2008 by Ellen Graf-Martin

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Coles Notes Version of the Strengths Philosophy
The Truth About You is Marcus Buckingham's recent book. Widely known for "Now, Discover Your Strengths" and "The One Thing You Need to Know", Buckingham continues his mission to help people discover their strengths, develop them, and get them to work in their careers and lives.

TTAY is a different kind of book. Short, very easy to read, interactive, gives you...
Published on Feb. 4 2009 by D. Manafo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Tool to Help Solidify Strengths, July 17 2008
By 
This review is from: The Truth About You: Your Secret to Success (Hardcover)
The DVD / Book / Notepad combination of this "Truth About You" toolkit is excellent. I was impressed that it all comes togther, and the reader isn't compelled to purchase all items separately. The book is a quick read, but one that demands thought and processing.

Most strengths, life-coaching, business books aren't written at the level that a recent high-school or college-graduate could take away application, but this one is. I think it will be an excellent tool for older teens, young adults and adults not in a corporate business setting to determine their strengths and weaknesses and learn how to maximize their own potential accordingly.

The video itself is excellent and warrants a few viewings. The notepad is helpful, and allows the reader to work through the book exercises, finding their own strengths / weaknesses rather than having someone else prescribe a to-do list. I'll highly recommed this kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Coles Notes Version of the Strengths Philosophy, Feb. 4 2009
By 
D. Manafo (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Truth About You: Your Secret to Success (Hardcover)
The Truth About You is Marcus Buckingham's recent book. Widely known for "Now, Discover Your Strengths" and "The One Thing You Need to Know", Buckingham continues his mission to help people discover their strengths, develop them, and get them to work in their careers and lives.

TTAY is a different kind of book. Short, very easy to read, interactive, gives you some homework (which I haven't done yet), includes a 22 min. DVD film (mostly speaking by him with a storyline in the background), and last of all, a ReMemo note pad to help you log the activities you love or hate ' yes it's a thick book

I believe this book is what's needed if Buckingham's dream of building a strengths revolution will catch on in the main stream of our culture. His other books mainly hit a corporate crowd. This book seems to be aimed at anyone, but particularly a young adult starting his/her career, or even a college student just thinking about where to focus their lives vocationally.

Unlike his other books, this doesn't require long reading or online assessments. It's engaging ' i.e. you encouraged to discover your strengths by thinking about what you love or loath in any activity you're doing (that's what the ReMemo Pad is for). He then challenges you to take that information and figure out who you are ' or what your strengths are ' so every week for the rest of your life you can grow in areas of where you're strong rather than keep trying to fix your weaknesses.

Although it seems like I've heard lots his same phrases before, I like this book for one main reason - it brought the whole strengths philosophy into a short and easy to remember format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great concept, terrible execution, Feb. 28 2009
By 
Jason P. Clarke (Vancouver, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Truth About You: Your Secret to Success (Hardcover)
This book has been touted as a fantastic self-help book that helps you to figure out what your strengths are, and how to leverage those strengths rather than waste your time trying to lift up your weaknesses. While I'm certainly intrigued by the concept, I found the book itself almost entirely unreadable. From what I can tell, it's actually directed towards an adolescent readership, but it reads like it was intended for a pre-teen reading audience. The concepts in the book are fine, but as I'm reading it the entire time I feel as if I'm being spoken down to, and that the author is afraid of using any big words.

The idea of leveraging your strengths is one that surely would benefit students that are graduating high-school and are off to college or the job market, but I can't honestly imagine a graduating high-school student reading this book without being put off by the tone.

I have to admit at this point that I couldn't bring myself to finish the book. In fact, I didn't even get half way through it. So it's entirely possible that the tone shifts and the book becomes more palatable, but I didn't have the patience to find out. Instead, I can only say that this book certainly was not for me.

I'm interested to find out whether the fact that this book was aimed at adolescents caused it to be written in such an unpleasant tone, or if it's simply Buckingham's style that doesn't work for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Self Impovement, May 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Truth About You: Your Secret to Success (Hardcover)
Any book that can improve you and help you better yourself and find happiness is an A++++++ We can always improve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent content, fabulous packaging, July 7 2008
By 
T. Underwood (Waterloo, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Truth About You: Your Secret to Success (Hardcover)
Content:
I have read business and self-help books widely and have not see some of the thoughts on life direction and career planning like this that is all-together profound, thoughtful, yet simple at the same time.
Packaging:
As a toolkit combination of DVD, book, and notebook wrapped up so neatly - makes it very compelling with the shiny silver wrap.

I am very impressed with my first read. I will re-read and work through the concepts now and plan on giving this a gift to many of my friends this Fall and as Christmas gifts. This is good for executives, university students, high school students, and anyone thinking about their strengths and gifts. What I like is that this does not involve pages of surveys/questions but it is more organic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Truth About You: Your Secret to Success
The Truth About You: Your Secret to Success by Marcus Buckingham (Hardcover - Sept. 30 2008)
CDN$ 32.99 CDN$ 20.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews