march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage snsflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools Family

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars9
3.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 31, 2008
... you have to look at this story in context. This story is part of the Morrison's run and there is always a larger arc with him. This book doesn't end so much as it goes right into Batman: The Resurrection of Ra's Al Ghul of course which goes into Batman: The Black Glove and the reason none of these books never quite end perfectly is it all ends with the finale, Batman: R.I.P. Deluxe HC. On it's own, Batman and son is not a bad story. Damian is a brat of incredible proportions but it's a great illustration of how the others (tim, dick, even bruce) could have been if a nurturing source like alfred wasn't involved. Great read, but make sure you get it with Batman: The Resurrection of Ra's Al Ghul to get more of an ending.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2013
I really liked the idea of Batman finding out he had a son - especially with Ra's Al'Ghul's daughter! It was nice to see Batman exude some paternal instincts and take responsibility for his 'actions' when he is usually a one-man island (aside from Alfred helping him out). It provided a different perspective on Batman that I found thoroughly refreshing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2013
Morrison writes the son of the Batman just as we would think he'd be written. He's a complete pain in the butt but as the story goes on you begin to take interest in the character that eventually becomes Robin. I'd recommend this to anyone who reads Batman and is a fan of the Robin character.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2009
When reading this one must remember it is just the first chapter in an epic run. Already Morrison is dropping subtle clues and foreshadowing in these pages that will be realized down the line in Batman RIP. I think the whole run is sheer genius, mad genius, but genius. MOrrison is an aquired taste and I hate to sound cliched but you either get it or you don't. He is drawing on 50 years of Batman lore and some obscure stuff at that, like zur en arh..one of batmans outerspace adventures from the 50's or 60's.
I love Damien (Batmans bratty Bastard child) and the art is amazing........anyways Morrisons runs on Batman, New X-men, and JLA are all brilliant I would highly recommend reading the whole arc and hope they release an omnibus...
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2014
A must have for Batman fans, "Batman and Son" delivers a unique story that is up there with some of the best Batman angles of the 2000s. Grant Morrison nails it and the art is excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2013
This book is a Great product..I found it to be fully entertaining and enjoyable!!! wonderful read from cover to cover
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2010
A must read for anyone who is a fan of the dark night and would like to catch up on the back story lines for the 2010 story arcs Return of Bruce Wayne and Batman and Robin Reborn.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2008
OMG, this was a terrible book!
I've been reading batman for more than a decade now, and I love Ras Al Gul stories. He's one of those special characters that are used sparingly and so the stories are always meaningful and important. He's one of those character who really reflects what batman could become given time.

Batman & Son on the other hand didn't feel special at all. First of all, I hate retconning. I liked the issue where he marries Talia, then fights Ras and runs away. In this story they claim that batman only sleeps with Talia 'cause he was drugged. Worse yet, his son is a one-sided brat, who makes no sense in the batman continuity.

Worst part is, the story doesn't really end. The last chapter doesn't fit, and feels too disjointed to be the end of a story not to mention that it has little or no resolution.

I thought that this book was bad. If I could, I would have asked for my money back!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2012
This book is very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very bad and you shouldn't buy it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse