Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars No qualms just buy it!
It took just over 7 years for this comic to be PAINTED! It has a long, winding yet interesting story line that will keep you turning pages but not wanting to at the same time. All around great comic. The story is there, the art comes by the eye-full, and it's a good size with action and more characters you could ask for. If you haven't read this do yourself a favor will...
Published 4 days ago by DANA

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An Iron Age Classic - BUT DO NOT READ THE INTRODUCTION!!!
Kingdom Come is a tough book to rate. On the one hand, it does possess level of depth that sets it far above most "comic books" on the newsstand. On the other, such depths as you will find are, to be brutally honest, entirely - yes, entirely - derivative of what Alan Moore had already given us in Watchmen more than a decade earlier.

Fundamentally, this...
Published 17 months ago by Theo


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars No qualms just buy it!, July 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kingdom Come {New Edition} (Paperback)
It took just over 7 years for this comic to be PAINTED! It has a long, winding yet interesting story line that will keep you turning pages but not wanting to at the same time. All around great comic. The story is there, the art comes by the eye-full, and it's a good size with action and more characters you could ask for. If you haven't read this do yourself a favor will ya?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Lost interest, March 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The artwork is beautiful but the I lost interest in the story. I wouldn't recommend this unless you plan on showing it off for the artwork. In that case you should get the real book (for your coffee table or bookcase).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The art says it all, Jan. 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kingdom Come {New Edition} (Paperback)
OK story, but EPIC paintings by the great Ross. If you want to be carried away into a DC classic through art, get this novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars kingdom come review, June 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kingdom Come {New Edition} (Paperback)
This addition of kingdom come is simply amazing. The story was very exciting n had a great pace. Also alex ross' s art is so detailed and realistic. I would recommend this book to anyone with eyes n ears
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An Iron Age Classic - BUT DO NOT READ THE INTRODUCTION!!!, Feb. 16 2013
By 
Theo (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kingdom Come {New Edition} (Paperback)
Kingdom Come is a tough book to rate. On the one hand, it does possess level of depth that sets it far above most "comic books" on the newsstand. On the other, such depths as you will find are, to be brutally honest, entirely - yes, entirely - derivative of what Alan Moore had already given us in Watchmen more than a decade earlier.

Fundamentally, this is Watchmen revisited.

Or at least, it's one layer of Watchmen revisited. By the time Kingdom Come came along, the iron age of comic books was well and truly in full swing. Titles that took a long, hard look at the ideal of the superhero were positively in vogue. That's what we get here. But the deeper, less genre-specific layer of Watchmen? The layer that took an even longer, and even harder look into the absolute void of a truly meaningless and amoral universe?

That is not within the scope of this work.

But although Kingdom Come is most certainly a retelling, it is a good retelling. Like so many comic book writers, Mark Waid is presenting afresh a tale not his own; a tale with a course and an ending as pre-ordained as that of any tragic or comic opera.

Taken on such terms, what matters is not so much where we end up, but how we get there. The writing, although lacking Moore's originality, is good: I'd give it a solid "B+". But the real star of the show is undoubtedly the art. Throughout this tale, the art maintains a level of quality and sheer detail that we normally only get to see on covers, if at all. Even more than that, the artist, Alex Ross, makes a real artistic statement by depicting many of the characters and much of the action with a kind of hyper-realism that very clearly alludes to the work of Norman Rockwell. Superman in particular is especially subject to this kind of rendering.

I am of course very far from being the first to observe the Rockwell influence. Nevertheless, it is worth considering how this choice of style is used to draw us in to think about what our Earth could become if beings more than human really did walk among us. In the harsher light of this iron age vision, the prospect is perhaps less appealing than it might have seemed in the bygone ages of silver and gold.

But the Rockwell-esque style is a two edged sword. On the one hand, the extreme realism grounds us in, well, reality, with all that this entails. On the other, there is also a bitterly ironic counterpoint being made here. The almost eerily wholesome and idealized depictions of American life we so strongly associate with Rockwell's work are surely the spiritual first-cousins of the idealized vision of the comic books of ages gone: The very vision that Kingdom Come itself now confronts through older, wiser, and yet also sadder eyes.

One final point...

This book begins with an introduction that literally spells out exactly, and I do mean EXACTLY, what Kingdom Come, as a work, is supposed to be all about.

DO NOT READ IT.

At least, not until after you've read the book itself.

Not realizing what I was in for (thinking perhaps I was going to find something similar to the printed material so skillfully integrated into Watchmen and The Dark Knight Returns) I did read this introduction before reading the book itself. And it's not overstating it to say that it really did ruin Kingdom Come for me.

For heaven's sake. Spelling out to the readers EXACTLY what the book is supposed to be all about before they even get the chance to embark upon that journey of discovery for themselves?

What an unbelievably stupid and self indulgent thing to do. I took off an extra star just for that.

Theo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Among the best Superman stories, April 6 2011
By 
Q. T. Vo (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kingdom Come {New Edition} (Paperback)
In a world that is evolving and embracing new values, can Superman continue his fight for Justice the same way he always did? New gods and "heroes" are now willing to act more violently to meet their goals, making them not that different than villains. Superman, now retired for several years in isolation after the last of his link to humanity has died (Lois), feels more than ever useless and unappreciated by society. We see the story from a normal man's point of view and how the DC universe has aged for the worst. Old age has caught up with most of the heroes and those that don't age, have also followed Superman's self-imposed exile. The story is masterfully written and will pull on our most basic fears in aging, the change in the society and the new values that aren't that reassuring compared to what we were told as young kids. A clever way to make an invincible man, vulnerable. The art is outstanding and painted by none other than Alex Ross! Ross' unique ability to portray our beloved heroes in the most realistic fashion really add great gravity and quality to the story! Heroes will seems real in their looks and expressions. A great read for anyone, not just comic fans! I'd be very happy if this book was made into a movie! DC/WB, if you're reading this and don't know which Superman story to cash in, then this is the one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The All Time Greatest Graphic Novels, July 1 1999
By A Customer
This is one of the best, ranking just behing Dark Knight and Watchmen. Mr Ross' artwork is phenomenal with great attention to detail. Try to catch all of the inside jokes in the backgrounds... it'll take you weeks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Waid and Ross are masters of their craft, Dec 26 2007
This review is from: Kingdom Come (Paperback)
Author: Mark Waid & Painter: Alex Ross, together have crafted a magnificent story filled with every emotion possible. The adventure begins 10 years into the future. At a time when Superman has retired and most of the other heroes of his generation have followed suite, leaving a world full of mindless, vessels of destruction to protect the world. These new heroes destroy everything in their way as they attack each other for no reason.

Finally, Wonder Woman, who has had enough, approaches Superman and asks him to come back to put a stop to this. He does, and in doing so, sets in motion a series of events that could lead to Armageddon. The story is narrated by pastor McKay, who is led around through the key events by the Spectre. The reader follows McKay in his travels through the DC Universe and watches (with him) as the events unfold. This story has its grand scenes and as well as intimate moments--it doesn't lowball one for the other.

The story also takes you all over the DC Universe, from Metropolis (Supermans home town)to Themiscrya(Isle of the Amazons) and from Apkolips (Home world of Darkseid) to Atlantis (where Aquaman hangs out) and everywhere in between. Not only that, but practically every DC super hero and villain makes a cameo appearance in the course of the story. It's an incredible and breathtaking journey. Couple that with Alex Ross' illustrations and, well, his people look real. They have a real sense of weight and dimension to the way that they look. It's amazing! Mark Waid's story is truly epic in scope and scale and Ross captures all of it in his illustrations. It's an amazing and deeply touching story.

Help raise awareness; support cancer research!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Hero Book, July 16 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Kingdom Come (Paperback)
I am helping my son Billy (7) write this comment. I am torn between feeding him reading material that drives his desire to read and interesting stuff that is too old for him .... But here is his review -- "Kingdom Come is different than the other books. It is good because you get to see future versions of heroes. The star is Norman McCay and Superman at once."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars incredible story and artwork, July 13 2004
By 
"angelkefka327" (Tacoma, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kingdom Come (Paperback)
I love Alex Ross' artwork. It is the reason I decided to read this book. The story is incredible, with the grand battle of ideals as well as heroes. A lot of reviews of this book say you need to be real familiar with the DC universe, but I disagree. While I had seen a few tv shows and cartoons, I never read any comics. I knew only a basic idea of the major characters and their powers, and the story was perfectly clear to me. I think what the people who say you need to know the characters well to understand this book see is that there seems to be a lot of inside details that you will appreciate if you know the DC world well, but they are mostly not crucial to appreciating the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kingdom Come {New Edition}
Kingdom Come {New Edition} by Alex Ross (Paperback - Sept. 30 2008)
CDN$ 23.99 CDN$ 17.32
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews