Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Sick is an understatement.
Amazing story + Amazing art. Mr Lee does a fantastic job depicting the words of Mr Loeb. This duo is infernal when it comes to graphic novel story telling. Highly recommended by me.
Published 5 months ago by RMG

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars It's just not that good
Loeb gives us a grand-tour of the Batmanverse with a series of very short stories of Batman working his way through the rogue's gallery, interspersed with a ham-fisted romantic sub-plot and a series of flashbacks about a new character.

It's not good. It's a desperate attempt to breathe life into the Batman franchise with a new villain, and to bring in new...
Published 6 months ago by Pxtl


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Sick is an understatement., Jan. 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Batman: Hush (Paperback)
Amazing story + Amazing art. Mr Lee does a fantastic job depicting the words of Mr Loeb. This duo is infernal when it comes to graphic novel story telling. Highly recommended by me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must read for the die hard Batman fan, Jan. 6 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
From beginning to end, Hush is a thrill.
A great series that brought together many of the Batman's historic story lines!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars It's just not that good, Jan. 5 2014
This review is from: Batman: Hush (Paperback)
Loeb gives us a grand-tour of the Batmanverse with a series of very short stories of Batman working his way through the rogue's gallery, interspersed with a ham-fisted romantic sub-plot and a series of flashbacks about a new character.

It's not good. It's a desperate attempt to breathe life into the Batman franchise with a new villain, and to bring in new readers by re-introducing the various Batman characters.

In many ways it's similar to Kevin Smith's much-maligned "Widening Gyre" - the romance is clumsy, Batman's voice feels wrong (it's *hard* to write a romance for a hyper-stoic character like Batman, I know) and the whirlwind tour of the Batverse feels even more rushed and messy than Smith's. But the art is good, so there's that.

The flashback stuff seems like Loeb is doing a pantomime of better-written comics. It just doesn't work. It's beautifully drawn and coloured, but it feels very forced, trying to make us care about Bruce Wayne's childhood relationship with a heretofore never-mentioned character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What happens with Jeph Loeb works with artist Jim Lee......, March 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Batman: Hush (Paperback)
One of the best and famous bat stories ever is what happens. Who is Hush, what does he want with Batman? Well my friends if u dont know, then u must read this book. Jeph Loeb shines, and Jim Lee breaths life into his words. The paperback itself is well made with high quality gloss paper and makes Jim Lees eye candy pop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed it, Aug. 19 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Batman: Hush (Paperback)
while this one wasn't as specatular as other batman graphic novels i've read, i enjoyed it. very good suspense. a lot of emotion, and as you read further into the story you get some good surprises. and the most important part of the review you wanna hear - it is well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing...just amazing., May 13 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Batman: Hush (Paperback)
Wow this book blew my mind. It was so much better than i expected. It has some epic action, great variety of characters (Killer Croc, Catwoman, Scarecrow, Nightwing, etc) and they all fit in here perfectly. This is a mystery book and when you find out who the big villian is, you will be shocked cause its the least person youd expected. One of my favorote Batman stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great art, boring story, April 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Batman: Hush (Paperback)
The story was predictable and somewhat boring. The art is what we expect of jim lee -- awesome. I still enjoyed my experience with Batman Hush but felt suckered by the hype.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beginning of more to Come..., March 19 2012
By 
j-maAN - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Batman: Hush (Paperback)
The first time I read 'Batman: HUSH' a little over a year ago, I naively and ignorantly stated in a review that this was "interesting but not amazing", in addition I stated that "'Batman:HUSH' is not important to the entire mythos or story line of the Batman". I just re-read it tonight after reading "A death in the Family". 'Batman:HUSH' is truly a piece of art in the form of both illustration as well as story-telling. It focuses on a new nemesis: HUSH. Ultimately, the regular criminals of Gotham City: Killer Croc, Poison Ivy, Catwoman, even 'reaching as high as Superman and as low as the Joker', these characters and criminals are not acting in their usual M.O and Batman notices this. However, who is behind these villains apparent change? I am currently now reading "Under the Hood" which should complete the entire Jason Todd mystery-- woops!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AmaZING!, Dec 29 2011
This review is from: Batman: Hush (Paperback)
One of the biggest titles as far as Batman graphic novels are concerned. The story builds up well, but ends with a vague ending. A must have for the graphics and the whole story around Catwoman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Batman stories around., Oct. 24 2011
This review is from: Batman: Hush (Paperback)
Jeph Loeb and Jim Lee are at their best here in a year long story arc that brings a fresh feel to this iconic character.
It is a blockbuster of a comic which stands along side other greats such as Batman: the Long Halloween, and Batman: Arkham Asylum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman: Hush
Batman: Hush by Jeph Loeb (Paperback - Aug. 18 2009)
CDN$ 28.99 CDN$ 18.17
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews