Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational
Mindfulness should be an exercise all beings participate in practicing, not simply exclusive to our Buddhist traditions; a point Kabat-Zinn makes in this wonderful book. What it truly encompasses is a kind of awakening (yes, cliché) where we begin living in accord with not just all people but, also with ourselves.
Jon Kabat-Zinn is the director of the Stress...
Published on March 21 2004 by Swing King

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Obvious?
This book has ridiculously short chapters. The book itself isn't short, but the chapters are. Each chapter quickly jumps from one topic to another. Because of that it does not even take time to go into details before quickly jumping into something else. It is as if this was written by someone who has ADD.
Published 14 months ago by Quill


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, March 21 2004
By 
Swing King (Cincinnati, OH USA) - See all my reviews
Mindfulness should be an exercise all beings participate in practicing, not simply exclusive to our Buddhist traditions; a point Kabat-Zinn makes in this wonderful book. What it truly encompasses is a kind of awakening (yes, cliché) where we begin living in accord with not just all people but, also with ourselves.
Jon Kabat-Zinn is the director of the Stress Reduction Clinic at the University of Massachusetts Medical Center, a clinic which likely has helped innumerable beings. Mindful meditation is a letting go practice, a practice of non contriving and ultimately - endurance. It is an acknowledgement of who we already are, beneath the layers of attachments and aversion; that is of course that we are loving and generous people.
This book offers a plethora of meditative exercises and mindfulness applications to employ in our daily routines. Zinn suggests utilizing sitting, walking, and even "on your feet" meditation. Metaphors of mindful actions are here using topics like parenting or even washing the dishes. This work will hopefully motivate all who read it. Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concentrated Wisdom - A Definite Keeper, Jan. 24 2002
By 
Peter Fennessy (Bloomfield Hills, MI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This has long been a best seller and justifiably so. Kabat-Zinn works clinically with people who are stressed and his earlier book, Full Catastrophe Living, was written for people who are almost pathologically stressed, to bring them the beneficial effects of meditation. The present book is written for average people on the street, who may not need so urgently the therapeutic effects of meditation, but in the belief that we can all of us use a healthy dose of it. It is written with no religious strings attached, and even avoiding the word "spiritual," and yet it has the ability to open up the spiritual realm for us, no matter what we wish to call it. It is an introduction for the beginner and a source of good advice for the practitioner of meditation. It's written in bite-sized chapters, in clear, easy and very readable prose. It is a delight to read. The book's three parts explore the why and how of meditation and its many applications in daily life. Many chapters conclude with suggestions for reflection or meditation. It is concentrated wisdom that deserves much rereading and a permanent place on your library shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, Aug. 14 2004
By 
"devildoe" (British Columbia, Canada) - See all my reviews
The messages in this book, the significancy of mindfulness, resonated so strongly in me it is as if the author wrote it specifically to me. Kabat-Zinn's writing style, knowledge and common sense attitude were refreshing in a world that often to me seems full of New Age mysticism. His advice that it is "best to meditate without advertising it" made me holler, "Hallelujah!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nonreligious Introduction to Meditation, March 17 2002
By 
Jimalls (Hometown, IL United States) - See all my reviews
In today's world the everday person experiences incredible amounts of stress. Since 9/11 we have had to deal with watching innocent people jump out of burning buildings, airplanes explode midair, and now the recurrent fears of bio/chemical attacks. These are stress factors that we can only add to the previous ones we already had to deal with such as family, work, home, and school. Basically, we are a VERY stressed nation.
Fortunately, we do have several anti-stress options at hand and this book features several including seated meditation, walking meditation, and mindful yoga. Even if none of these methods work for you personally, this book features some very simple, very effective advice: everday take some time to just lie silently on the floor and breathe. It's that simple.
However, if meditation is of interest to you, you have come to the right book. Jon Kabat-Zinn has taken the study of meditation seriously with the Western practioner in mind. He has done studies and research on the awesome powers of meditation to help patients with both psychological and physical ailments. The results are astounding and encouraging. Best yet, Kabat-Zinn's work with patients has helped him establish specific suggestions that will help you gain the tremenous benefits of meditation.
I highly recommend this book to anyone who is in need of stress relief, but may not be ready for an spiritual journey inward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, yet profound., Nov. 29 2003
Dr. Kabat-Zin's work is deceptively simple. In order to learn about how to be mindful, this book must be read in a mindful way.
Each page, each thought, each phrase is to be read and savored. Don't think about it too hard, or you will squeeze the magic out of his words. Read, but let the words talk to you; don't use mental faculties to reason, ponder over, intellectualize.
A masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the book to start with!, Dec 12 2005
This review is from: Wherever You Go, There You Are: Mindfulness Meditation in Everyday Life (Paperback)
While some people have difficulty understanding what meditation is and why one might do it, just as many meditators hold on to misconceptions about meditation. Jon Kabat-Zinn leads us gently into insight meditation with a clarity and conciseness of language that anyone can understand. This book leaves one feeling: "How could I not meditate?" This book makes a wonderful addition to any meditator's library or gift for someone new to meditation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book!, May 20 2012
By 
Laura (Swift Current, Saskatchewan Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wherever You Go, There You Are: Mindfulness Meditation in Everyday Life (Paperback)
I haven't read this entire book yet....what I do like is that it has short little chapters that deliver a very strong message!! What I have read is bang on and usually really hits home!! What a wonderful book that makes you stop and think!! That's all I can say for now....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly approachable classic, Feb. 19 2010
By 
J. Lovas (NS, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wherever You Go, There You Are: Mindfulness Meditation in Everyday Life (Paperback)
This brief guide to mindfulness meditation was first published in 1994, but remains irreplaceable. It is much more beginner-friendly than Kabat-Zinn's excellent "Full Catastrophe Living" (1990) and much more concise than his more recent, lengthy "Coming to our senses. Healing ourselves and the world through mindfulness" (2005). "Wherever You Go There You Are" seems to be the perfect first book for those starting mindfulness training, be it on their own, or preferably with guidance from someone with MBSR-teacher training. The book covers, in a fluid, easy writing style, all the highlights concisely. Ageless instruction: read less, meditate more - this concise classic is perfectly suited to help the reader do just that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Book on Mindfulness!, May 29 2007
By 
M. Le - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Jon Kabat-Zinn is an excellent and highly trained scientist and it shows in this book. He definitely has a very wide variety of knowledge not just on meditation itself. I just love how he relates to quotes from buddhism, taoism and other famous classics throughout the book. It impresses me a lot because these quotes are deep but very suitable and are there to help your understanding but NOT to show off his knowledge. It takes very high level of expertise and effort to make things precise and accessible like this. Definitely a 5 star work!

PS. A quote from Lao Tzu he chose in this book has impressed me so much that I choose to live a very "taoist" life myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful invitation to live your life more fully, Nov. 13 2002
By A Customer
This book is full of 2-3 page invitations to live your life more fully! I frequently share passages with my yoga classes. It is inspiring and practical. Take it to heart!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf053aa4)

This product

Wherever You Go, There You Are: Mindfulness Meditation in Everyday Life
CDN$ 18.00 CDN$ 12.64
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews