Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational
Mindfulness should be an exercise all beings participate in practicing, not simply exclusive to our Buddhist traditions; a point Kabat-Zinn makes in this wonderful book. What it truly encompasses is a kind of awakening (yes, cliché) where we begin living in accord with not just all people but, also with ourselves.
Jon Kabat-Zinn is the director of the Stress...
Published on March 21 2004 by Swing King

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Obvious?
This book has ridiculously short chapters. The book itself isn't short, but the chapters are. Each chapter quickly jumps from one topic to another. Because of that it does not even take time to go into details before quickly jumping into something else. It is as if this was written by someone who has ADD.
Published 18 months ago by Quill


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A guide for those seeking peace in their lives, April 6 2002
Jon Kabbat-Zinn is a man of remarkable insight and integrity. His previous book "Full Catastrophe Living" was a gem of clinical wisdom. This book is briefer and gives a sound overview of the value and practice of mindfulness meditation. Let us all be where we are, and the world will be a better place for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Just for Buddhists, March 14 2004
By 
Paul (New Jersey) - See all my reviews
This is a masterfully done book on Buddhist mindfulness meditation, presented for anyone - Buddhist or other - wishing to learn this wonderful technique. Wherever You Go, There You Are manages to be both simply written and profound at the same time. It's the type of book that can be read more than once, and each time you'll take away a little more from it. If you would like to learn something about meditation as a way to enhance your life - and mindfulness meditation is a great choice for that - this book is a fine way to get started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a little "light" reading, Dec 31 2013
By 
J. Wainwright (Vancouver BC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wherever You Go, There You Are: Mindfulness Meditation in Everyday Life (Paperback)
I recommend this book as a companion to Kabit-Zinn's Full Catastrophe Living. This is like snacking material, and you need the full meal deal as a base to operate from. Written in a series of small chapters, it is ideal for leaving around just to pick up when you have a few minutes to spare. perhaps leave a copy in your car for when you are stuck in traffic, or waiting for someone. It's tiny morsels of wisdom and thought provoking suggestions may help you when you need it most. or perhaps when you don't think you need it but can use a boost to get you back on the reality track in your day. Just a little "light" reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short and sweet!, Dec 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wherever You Go, There You Are: Mindfulness Meditation in Everyday Life (Paperback)
As Jon Kabat-Zinn rightly pointed out that meditation is simple but not easy. Every passage in this book brings smiles and sometimes "aha" moments. Very enjoyable and practical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learn to live fully, May 15 2011
This review is from: Wherever You Go, There You Are: Mindfulness Meditation in Everyday Life (Paperback)
This is an amazing book. Very easy to read but also very profound. It really gave me some good insights andade me think about things in life differently. Highly recommended as the best way to start living mindfully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, March 13 2007
By 
W. Byers (Edmonton, AB, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wherever You Go, There You Are: Mindfulness Meditation in Everyday Life (Paperback)
This book just plain calms me down when I read it. It's great to pick up and just read a few pages, or you can pile through the whole thing. It stays in my gym bag and gets read more than any other book I own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible book!, Oct. 21 2003
By A Customer
I have read it several times and continue to come back to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inner peace, wisdom and harmony, June 17 2002
Jon Kabat-Zinn¢s ability to describe and explain living in being-mode and mindfulness is brilliant. Although these things are thought to be some "eastern things", he successfully presents them as the life things, which directly have effects on our stability, development, relationships and quality of life. The chapters of the book are interesting, meaningful and inspiring, and not forcing a reader to see the world through any religion or spiritualism; they are not written in such a style.
If you want to learn what the mindfulness is, or just to be more inspired on seeking the right path and attitudes in your life, then read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional down-to-earth introduction to meditation, Aug. 21 2000
By 
Jesse D Matthews (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
I started this book and could not put it down. Dr. Kabat-Zinn captured many truths that so many of us mindlessly ignore. I have read several books on meditation and this is by far the best. I have read this book a couple times now, and each time I see more truth in it. This book offers a wonderful and wise perspective on the journey of life. I highly recomend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Practical help, Nov. 23 2009
By 
T. Gregory (Manitoba, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This CD offers practical suggestions for the relaxation and meditation, while addressing very common beginners' questions and teaching basic skills in meditation and self-awareness. The author's voice is calming and reassuring, well paced, which helps the process of focusing on exercise. The exercises themselves offer sufficient time to try them while the CD is playing, but one can (and should) practice them on their own as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wherever You Go, There You Are: Mindfulness Meditation in Everyday Life
CDN$ 18.00 CDN$ 13.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews